Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


100 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Admire Dame Judi? Then buy this!
This DVD collection contains some of Dame Judi Dench's most lauded work from between the 1960's and the 1990's. The collection is a must if you are a keen DJD fan. A lot of people only really woke up to her talent when 'Mrs Brown' was first released in 1997. This is a fantastic collection, therefore, if you would like to see her in works dating back to before she...
Published on 29 Nov 2007 by Digger77

versus
57 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Judi Dench Collection
I bought this package since it contained Chekhov's 'The Cherry Orchard' and Ibsen's 'Ghosts' and would have done so whichever artist or artists were involved. Judi Dench gives excellent performances in a wide variety of roles so confirming what a fine actress she is.

This is not easy viewing. There is only one comedy, Feydeau's farce 'Keep an eye on Amelie'...
Published on 25 May 2009 by Pruss


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

100 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Admire Dame Judi? Then buy this!, 29 Nov 2007
This review is from: Judi Dench BBC Collection (1966-1990, incl. 8 BBC plays + interview) [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD collection contains some of Dame Judi Dench's most lauded work from between the 1960's and the 1990's. The collection is a must if you are a keen DJD fan. A lot of people only really woke up to her talent when 'Mrs Brown' was first released in 1997. This is a fantastic collection, therefore, if you would like to see her in works dating back to before she became a screen 'star'. I have been trying to get hold of copies of 'Talking to a Stranger' and 'Absolute Hell' for ages, and have at last had the chance to see why her performances in each were so highly praised (and awarded) at the time.

The productions contained within the collection are hugely variable in both style and content, and some have dated less well than others. However, watching Dame Judi's performance in each is a sharp reminder of why she is now regarded as one of the greatest actors of our time, both on screen and on stage. Considering the time span that this DVD collection covers, it is amazing that she has only become recognised on an international scale in the last decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 64 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Judi Dench Collection, 25 May 2009
By 
Pruss (Birkenhead UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Judi Dench BBC Collection (1966-1990, incl. 8 BBC plays + interview) [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this package since it contained Chekhov's 'The Cherry Orchard' and Ibsen's 'Ghosts' and would have done so whichever artist or artists were involved. Judi Dench gives excellent performances in a wide variety of roles so confirming what a fine actress she is.

This is not easy viewing. There is only one comedy, Feydeau's farce 'Keep an eye on Amelie' (perhaps Judi Dench's weakest role): the others are serious stuff. If you are looking for comfortable viewing each evening you will be disappointed. However if you are prepared to be challenged and made to think you will get a great deal of interest, I can't say pleasure, from this package. If you used to buy season tickets for your local repertory company (those were the days)then this might appeal. I consider it value for money if only because of the two classic plays for which I bought it.

How I wish we got more plays, rather than adaptations of novels on the television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely essential!, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judi Dench BBC Collection (1966-1990, incl. 8 BBC plays + interview) [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this collection because it has within it a reminder of a wonderful night sat at the National Theatre, spellbound after watching Rodney Ackland's play Absolute Hell This is a fantastic piece of theatre - an epic theatrical tour de force by many actors not only by Judy Dench but by a stellar cast including the very fashionable Bill Nighy in this rare outing for the stage of a play that was roundly condemned and censured in the early 50's for seeming to glorify London's low-life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judi Dench BBC Collection (1966-1990, incl. 8 BBC plays + interview) [DVD] (DVD)
I would recommend this DVD set to any Judi Dench fan especially those who might have missed her earlier work. So far I have only watched the first 3 parts of the first offering and am delighted with the quality and am looking forward to many hours of pleasure from this set. What can I say, buy it and enjoy it as I am doing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judi Dench BBC Collection (1966-1990, incl. 8 BBC plays + interview) [DVD] (DVD)
Stunning just couldn't switch off and have had to have it ripped out of my hands such was the compulsion to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent box set, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judi Dench BBC Collection (1966-1990, incl. 8 BBC plays + interview) [DVD] (DVD)
As with the Helen Mirren BBC set,I really wanted this.And again,I was not disappointed.
Each box set comes with a quick introductary booklet which gives you a quick bio & synopsis of each play/film.
10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judi Dench BBC Collection (1966-1990, incl. 8 BBC plays + interview) [DVD] (DVD)
Judi Dench is, obviously, fabulous in all of these. Good value and nice to have work from such a wide period range, including the very early stuff. However, I found the French farce pretty tedious and apart from that all the work included is quite heavyweight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Judi Dench BBCcollection, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judi Dench BBC Collection (1966-1990, incl. 8 BBC plays + interview) [DVD] (DVD)
I really bought this only for Going Gently with Fulton McKaye and Norman Wisdom as I had never seen it before. I was very impressed with this even though it's 30 years old, it was still a powerful drama..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dame Judi Dench, 23 April 2014
By 
A. L. Hill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judi Dench BBC Collection (1966-1990, incl. 8 BBC plays + interview) [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent resume if the great Lady's work. I especially liked Ghosts and Absolute Hell - the packaging is stylish and easy to handle .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Judi Dench, 30 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Judi Dench BBC Collection (1966-1990, incl. 8 BBC plays + interview) [DVD] (DVD)
One of the finest actresses that Britain has ever produced. Wonderful performances. Judi is so versatile and a pleasure to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews