Customer Reviews


402 Reviews
5 star:
 (365)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


302 of 304 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic collection
This is the ultimate collection of the 'Dad's Army' TV series and it is all you could ask for.Featuring every single available episode and also several extras I really don't know how it could be improved upon.

Of course some episodes are better than others but when you realise just how many episodes were written the quality and consistancy of the writing is...
Published on 17 Nov 2008 by Mr. A. Whiteside

versus
0 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Yes very good top salesman
Published 3 months ago by david linton


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

302 of 304 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic collection, 17 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. A. Whiteside "tonyjackie3" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dad's Army - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
This is the ultimate collection of the 'Dad's Army' TV series and it is all you could ask for.Featuring every single available episode and also several extras I really don't know how it could be improved upon.

Of course some episodes are better than others but when you realise just how many episodes were written the quality and consistancy of the writing is amazing.This box set also includes the three Christmas specials.Quite simply this is classic comedy at it's best and it just has to be awarded maximum marks.Fabulous and well worth spending your cash on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


153 of 154 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Box Set Treasure, 4 April 2009
By 
Jervis - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dad's Army - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
Dad's Army has to be amongst the best conceived comedy series' ever. This pretty much relates to every aspect of the show's concept, be it the authenticity of the flavour of the times it represents, whether that's to do with the visual aspect (clothing, set designs etc.) or the way many of the stories directly relate to the themes of the day (whether to do with the fear of enemy invasion or just the day to day running of the home guard platoon). However, perhaps the biggest stroke of genius has to do with the characters, to which the show's writers developed so well, in addition to the inspired choices to which actors were used to play the roles. It's no exaggeration to say that each of the roles fitted the individual actors as tightly as a glove almost to a point of not knowing the dividing line between character and actor, and given the size of a regular cast as large as that in Dad's Army is no mean feat. Even though the roles at a first glance seem maybe a touch stereotypical at times, they provide a sense of believeability which isn't always to be taken for granted with sitcoms in general. It is perhaps Arthur Lowe's Captain Mainwaring and John Mesurier's Sergeant Wilson that creates the strongest impression in that regard, especially in the episodes where the class differences between them feature most prominantly.

As for the episodes themselves over the series as a whole (which spans nine years), they are consistently strong throughout, whether that's relating to stories relying on more of the characterisation (involving more dialoque) aspects of the show, or more of the farcical side, which tends to happen most when the platoon are given some assignment to perform. Often at these times Clive Dunn comes into his own. I think though perhaps the series reached its peak in the early seventies, and especially throughout series five and six where every episode appeared pretty much a classic. However, following the death of James Beck (Private Walker), the platoon did lose a little of its finely tuned chemistry, partly because Walker's spiv character was a very different personality to the rest of them. Despite this the show's storylines and sense of fun remained immaculately effective till the end.

The extras on this DVD set are also marvellously enjoyable, including a history of the series and profiles of the regular cast members (and writers).There is also a short documentary on some recently found lost episodes which is equally engaging.

Everything about this box set proves a real treasure.

Dad's Army is likely to remain forever timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


190 of 192 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All inclusive!, 6 April 2008
By 
J. Theobald (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dad's Army - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
To answer a previous reviewers question, this box set contains all the episodes available previously and the program 'Missing Believed Wiped' as well as audio versions of the remainder of series 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD NEWS!!!, 19 Jan 2009
By 
Twittykins (Hucknall, Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dad's Army - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
The soundtrack of "A Stripe for Frazer" was found in November 2008 (See Wikipedia). The BBC has got it for restoration and hopefully we might get to hear it this year on BBC7 .

As for the DVD's, it is nice to have all the episodes of this outstanding comedy available as a boxset. It certainly works out cheaper than buying the individual series of Dad's Army. There are many extras on the Christmas Specials disc e.g. photo gallery, cine film of the cast on tour, public information films etc. Worth buying if you appreciate comedy that all the family can watch.

P.S.
The maddening thing is that "Room at the Bottom" (which is in B&W on this set), got restored and was shown in full colour on BBC 2 in December 2008.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


344 of 352 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Panic! Don't Panic!, 21 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Dad's Army - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
I've been very pleasantly surprised by this box set. Having read other reviews, which suggested the set was short on extras, I took the plunge as I did not previously have any Dad's Army DVDs and had probably not seen all the shows. Whilst it is true that there are not extras on every disc, there is more than enough to justify the release.

So far I've found 7 individual short features on the main stars, entitled 'We Are The Boys'. They are spread across the first 13 discs, as are several picture galleries. These shorts feature interviews with surviving cast members as well as Jimmy Croft and David Perry.

The real magic is to be found on the final disc, which is only advertised as 'The Christmas Specials', but which contains around ten shorts, including long forgotten Blue Peter appearances, Road Safety films, sketches, a Noel Coward Review and more. There's also another photo gallery and an article from the Radio Times.

I have no idea if all this content was previously available on the individual releases and best of compilations, but it provides a very welcome bonus to round off one of the finest situation comedies ever.

Ok so there's no commentaries, but does anyone really need to have the minutiae of this great show explained to them? Buy the box set, take a week off work and enjoy! Finally I'd like to say I never doubted the content of this box set, I knew it would be great right from the off and I said so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now pay attention, 20 Dec 2010
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Dad's Army - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
And I shall tell you everything that is in this fourteen disc dvd collection.

Every surviving episode of Dad's army. That's seventy four regular episodes and three one off christmas specials. The three episodes from the second season that no longer survive in the BBC archives are represented here instead by the versions of them done for the radio version of the show.

As to why these three episodes no longer exist, see an excellent half hour documentary on disc two that covers the history of the show, the reason why the BBC once wiped a lot of old shows from existence, and how some have since been recovered. Such as two episodes from the second season which are present here.

The third season episode 'room at the bottom' was also wiped but a black and white copy survived. That's the version of it presented here. A recent colourised version having come out after the dvd.

Every season bar the first two has a photo gallery of the episodes and their making.

And throughout the discs are seven ten minute long features: 'we are the boys'. Each about a different member of the main cast. With fascinating profiles and interviews and rare archive footage these are well worth a look.

The final disc holds the three christmas specials plus a wealth of superb extras.

Firstly, three short ten minute long sketches from an old bbc christmas programme called christmas night with the stars. Two of these survive in their entirety but one doesn't, and is represented here by it's soundtrack only. One of them was repeated on tv a while back but the other two are new to me, so it's like seeing a new episode for the first time.

There are also two short pieces from blue peter with Arthur Lowe appearing on the show in character as Capt Mainwaring, inspecting a painting along with Sgt. Wilson and describing Jones' van.

A four minute long piece from an old bbc tribute to Noel Coward with Arthur Lowe Clive Dunn and John Le Mesurier performing one of his songs.

'The passing years' another thirty minute long documentary with writers and cast reminiscing about the programme.

A radio times article about the show is accessible as a PDF File.

There's a five minute long preview from the mid seventies of the stage version of Dad's army. Showing several of the sketches.

And fifteen minutes worth of Frank Williams [who played the vicar] home movie footage of the cast of the show on tour. This comes with an excellent commentary from Frank Williams himself.

Plus two short road safety adverts from the 70's with the cast explaining how pelican crossings work.

And a photo gallery of the specials themselves.

All discs have english subtitles.

And every episode has direct scene access.

Classic comedy and a great batch of extras to go with it. All in one collection. Yours to treasure forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard to fault - an all-time comedy classic at a bargain price, 21 Dec 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dad's Army - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
The complete works - all the remaining episodes of Dad's Army (the BBC lost/deleted a few episodes from series 2) - plus some interesting extras in a bargain package at around £35. This is one of the all time great British TV comedy shows, aired from 1968/9 to 1977, scripted by Jimmy Perry and David Croft and with the marvellous cast of Arthur Lowe, John Le Mesurier, Clive Dunn, John Laurie, Arnold Ridley, James Beck and Ian Lavender this wonderful series combined nostalgia with character comedy to create a timeless jewel.
Everyone has their favourite moment, of course, but for many it was in "The Deadly Attachment" where, when Pike (Lavender)is asked for his name by the captured U-Boat commander, to add to Hitler's "blacklist", Captain Mainwaring (Lowe) utters the immortal line "Don't tell him Pike!"
They don't make them like this any more - but we all wish they would. It's time for an end to political correctness in comedy, that's for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dad's Army, 27 May 2014
By 
Mr. Beaumont - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dad's Army - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
Before I bought this box set I had never seen Dad's Army before in my life. Not even any clips or anything at all. I grew up in the 90's & over the last few months really been getting into all the classic British TV from before I as born.

But after watching the first few episodes I knew I would like it. My favourite Characters are Sergeant Arthur Wilson & Lance-Corporal Jack Jones. While I liked pretty much all the characters those two I just found very very funny. I also love the fact the BBC has filled this box set with extras. 2 episodes have been lost, but they have even put the radio version of the missing episodes. I have posted a full list below of everything that is in this box set. Hope this helps!

Disk 1: (All episodes on this disk are black & white)
Series 1 – Episode 1 – The Man and the Hour, 31 July 1968
Series 1 – Episode 2 – Museum Piece, 7 August 1968
Series 1 – Episode 3 – Command Decision, 14 August 1968
Series 1 – Episode 4 – The Enemy Within the Gates, 28 August 1968
Series 1 – Episode 5 – The Showing Up of Corporal Jones, 4 September 1968
Series 1 – Episode 6 – Shooting Pains, 11 September 1968

Disk 2: (All episodes on this disk are black & white. Also 3 episodes from series 2 are lost)
Series 2 – Episode 1 – Operation Kilt, 1 March 1969
Series 2 – Episode 2 – The Battle of Godfrey's Cottage, 8 March 1969
Series 2 – Episode 4 – Sgt. Wilson's Little Secret, 22 March 1969
Special – Dad's Army Missing Presumed Wiped (30mins documentary on the missing episodes)
BBC Radio Dad's Army – The Loneliness of the Long Distance Walker
BBC Radio Dad's Army – Under Fire
BBC Radio Dad's Army – A Stripe for Frazer

Disk 3: (All episodes on this disk are colour)
Series 3 – Episode 1 – The Armoured Might of Lance Corporal Jones, 11 September 1969
Series 3 – Episode 2 – Battle School, 18 September 1969
Series 3 – Episode 3 – The Lion Has Phones, 25 September 1969
Series 3 – Episode 4 – The Bullet is Not for Firing, 2 October 1969
Series 3 – Episode 5 – Something Nasty in the Vault, 9 October 1969
Series 3 – Episode 6 – Room at the Bottom, 16 October 1969
Series 3 – Episode 7 – Big Guns, 23 October 1969
Special – We Are The Boys – Small 10mins documentary type show about Arnold Ridley

Disk 4: (All episodes on this disk are colour)
Series 3 – Episode 8 – The Day the Balloon Went Up, 30 October 1969
Series 3 – Episode 9 – War Dance, 6 November 1969
Series 3 – Episode 10 – Menace from the Deep, 13 November 1969
Series 3 – Episode 11 – Branded, 20 November 1969
Series 3 – Episode 12 – Man Hunt, 27 November 1969
Series 3 – Episode 13 – No Spring for Frazer, 4 December 1969
Series 3 – Episode 14 – Sons of the Sea, 11 December 1969
Special – Photo Gallery

Disk 5:(All episodes on this disk are colour)
Series 4 – Episode 1 – The Big Parade, 25 September 1970
Series 4 – Episode 2 – Don't Forget the Diver, 2 October 1970
Series 4 – Episode 3 – Boots, Boots, Boots, 9 October 1970
Series 4 – Episode 4 – Sgt – Save My Boy!, 16 October 1970
Series 4 – Episode 5 – Don't Fence Me In, 23 October 1970
Series 4 – Episode 6 – Absent Friends, 30 October 1970
Series 4 – Episode 7 – Put That Light Out!, 6 November 1970

Disk 6:(All episodes on this disk are colour)
Series 4 – Episode 8 – The Two and a Half Feathers, 13 November 1970
Series 4 – Episode 9 – Mum's Army, 20 November 1970
Series 4 – Episode 10 – The Test, 27 November 1970
Series 4 – Episode 11 – A. Wilson (Manager)?, 4 December 1970
Series 4 – Episode 12 – Uninvited Guests, 11 December 1970
Series 4 – Episode 13 – Fallen Idol, 18 December 1970
Special – We Are The Boys – Small 10mins documentary type show about James Beck
Special – Photo Gallery

Disk 7: (All episodes on this disk are colour)
Series 5 – Episode 1 – Asleep in the Deep, 6 October 1972
Series 5 – Episode 2 – Keep Young and Beautiful, 13 October 1972
Series 5 – Episode 3 – A Soldier's Farewell, 20 October 1972
Series 5 – Episode 4 – Getting the Bird, 27 October 1972
Series 5 – Episode 5 – The Desperate Drive of Corporal Jones, 3 November 1972
Series 5 – Episode 6 – If the Cap Fits..., 10 November 1972
Series 5 – Episode 7 – The King was in his Counting House, 17 November 1972

Disk 8: (All episodes on this disk are colour)
Series 5 – Episode 8 – All is Safely Gathered In, 24 November 1972
Series 5 – Episode 9 – When Did You Last See Your Money?, 1 December 1972
Series 5 – Episode 10 – Brain Versus Brawn, 8 December 1972
Series 5 – Episode 11 – A Brush with the Law, 15 December 1972
Series 5 – Episode 12 – Round and Round Went the Great Big Wheel, 22 December 1972
Series 5 – Episode 13 – Time on My Hands, 29 December 1972
Special – We Are The Boys – Small 10mins documentary type show about John Laurie
Special – Photo Gallery

Disk 9: (All episodes on this disk are colour)
Series 6 – Episode 1 – The Deadly Attachment, 31 October 1973
Series 6 – Episode 2 – My British Buddy, 7 November 1973
Series 6 – Episode 3 – The Royal Train, 14 November 1973
Series 6 – Episode 4 – We Know Our Onions, 21 November 1973
Series 6 – Episode 5 – The Honourable Man, 28 November 1973

Disk 10: (All episodes on this disk are colour)
Series 6 – Episode 6 – Things That Go Bump in the Night, 5 December 1973
Series 6 – Episode 7 – The Recruit, 12 December 1973
Special – We Are The Boys – Small 10mins documentary type show about John Le Mesurier
Special – Photo Gallery

Disk 11: (All episodes on this disk are colour)
Series 7 – Episode 1 – Everybody's Trucking, 15 November 1974
Series 7 – Episode 2 – A Man of Action, 22 November 1974
Series 7 – Episode 3 – Gorilla Warfare, 29 November 1974
Series 7 – Episode 4 – The Godiva Affair, 6 December 1974
Series 7 – Episode 5 – The Captain's Car, 13 December 1974
Series 7 – Episode 6 – Turkey Dinner, 23 December 1974
Special – We Are The Boys – Small 10mins documentary type show about Arthur Lowe
Special – Photo Gallery

Disk 12: (All episodes on this disk are colour)
Series 8 – Episode 1 – Ring Dem Bells, 5 September 1975
Series 8 – Episode 2 – When You've Got to Go, 12 September 1975
Series 8 – Episode 3 – Is There Honey Still for Tea?, 19 September 1975
Series 8 – Episode 4 – Come In, Your Time Is Up, 26 September 1975
Series 8 – Episode 5 – High Finance, 3 October 1975
Series 8 – Episode 6 – The Face on the Poster, 10 October 1975
Special – We Are The Boys – Small 10mins documentary type show about Clive Dunn
Special – Photo Gallery

Disk 13: (All episodes on this disk are colour)
Series 9 – Episode 1 – Wake Up Walmington, 2 October 1977
Series 9 – Episode 2 – The Making of Private Pike, 9 October 1977
Series 9 – Episode 3 – Knights of Madness, 16 October 1977
Series 9 – Episode 4 – The Miser's Hoard, 23 October 1977
Series 9 – Episode 5 – Number Engaged, 6 November 1977
Series 9 – Episode 6 – Never Too Old, 13 November 1977
Special – We Are The Boys – Small 10mins documentary type show about Ian Lavedner
Special – Photo Gallery

Disk 14: (All episodes on this disk are colour)
Christmas Special – Battle of the Giants!, 27 December 1971
Christmas Special – My Brother and I, 26 December 1975
Christmas Special – The Love of Three Oranges, 26 December 1976
Christmas Night with the Stars – Resisting the Aggressor, 25 December 1969
Christmas Night with the Stars – The Cornish Floral Dance, 25 December 1970 (Only audio, film missing)
Christmas Night with the Stars – Broadcast to the Empire, 25 December 1972
Captain Mainwaring & Sergeant Wilson on Blue Peter , 22nd February 1973
Captain Mainwaring with Jack Jones Van on Blue Peter, 29th April 1974
Dad's Army The Stage Show Clip
On Tour With The Cast Of The Dad's Army Stage Show, 15mins long
Another Photo Gallery
Road Safety Film
Radio Times Article
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great vintage TV, 3 Jun 2008
By 
Bridget O (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dad's Army - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
What a way to bring back memories of watching this as I was growing up with my Gran. A great tv show to watch with all the ages - I still love it. This is a great boxset holding all the episodes which is taking quite a bit of watching! A brilliant gift or one to put on the shelf and watch when the mood takes you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb, 20 July 2008
By 
S. Tantum (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dad's Army - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
The fact that this has all the surviving episodes of Dads army is worth the 5 stars. Its a shame only 3 episodes of series 2 are there but that is because the other episdoes were lost by the BBC. There are small special features the compliment the episodes. Overall, its brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dad's Army - The Complete Collection [DVD] [1968]
£20.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews