Customer Reviews


168 Reviews
5 star:
 (135)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who said "Lawks-a-lawdy my bottom's on fire!!!" ?
Oh yes, this still raises a laugh 28 years on.

Anarchic students sharing a poxy, cold, depressing flat in London while virtually never attending to their studies. The setting for many mishaps and surreal adventures punctuated by guest appearences from bands of the day (which at the time was annoying and only included at the insistence of BBC to get a higher...
Published on 5 Mar 2011 by Richard Mann

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars If it's your sense of humour - you'll love it! DVD quality is ok but a re-mastered ...
If it's your sense of humour - you'll love it! DVD quality is ok but a re-mastered edition would be welcome.
Published 4 months ago by Modo


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who said "Lawks-a-lawdy my bottom's on fire!!!" ?, 5 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Young Ones - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Oh yes, this still raises a laugh 28 years on.

Anarchic students sharing a poxy, cold, depressing flat in London while virtually never attending to their studies. The setting for many mishaps and surreal adventures punctuated by guest appearences from bands of the day (which at the time was annoying and only included at the insistence of BBC to get a higher budget, but now...well, where else can you see the rare 4-piece line up of Motorhead performing Ace of Spades, The Damned singing Video Nasty or Madness twice?)

Even now I can still quote lines from this virtually verbatim and we used to have Young Ones parties in the 80s where someone with rich parents (i.e. who owned a VCR) would show all 12 episodes over a Saturday afternoon.

The weird humour, subliminal flashes (the one from a Western is the end of Carry on Cowboy) and talent of the 5 main players makes this a show that ranks alongside Monty Python's Flying Circus for longevity of quality.

Some touches were quite subtle (the Narnia piss take was years ahead of its time or the reference to Lord Scarman from the racist copper) while others were so OTT it defied belief (Vivyan's pregnancy, the flood episode, Neil covered in snot).

This presentation has the full versions of the songs that were cut from previous entries (including Subterranean Homesick Blues as Neil goes to join the police) and has the full "Bigoted Bobby" sketch which was hilarious then and should never have been edited (he's talking to a white guy and he's wearing sunglasses...OK!!!)

The University Challenge sketch is still funny, if only for having Vivyan kick Dr House in the head.

Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


78 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fully uncut at last - yipee, 11 Dec 2007
This review is from: The Young Ones - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Like most other Young Ones fans who grew up in the early 80's, this has been one of my most eagerly awaited DVD's ever.
Presented over 3 discs, we have series 1 and 2 on the first two disc's whilst the third disc contains a couple documentaries which are interesting but could have been so much better had all the cast and Ben Elton taken part.Still its not a great problem as its the programs that we are interested in more than the extras.Also Demolition' and 'Summer Holiday' contain a full audio commentary by Paul Jackson.
They are presented FULLY UNCUT and that includes the episode Boring which has several what we would now call racist terms spoken by a policeman (abit to a white person) which almost never gets shown on TV.
All the music interludes are included too which again were missing from previous releases.
All in all this is a superb box set which should not be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past, 16 May 2010
By 
J. Burns "Jimmy Lee" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Young Ones - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
It's good to go back to an original type of comedy. The character's are big and the jokes slid in throughout each episode. Love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 80's Greatest Comedy, 12 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Young Ones - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Nothing like this before The Young Ones and nothing since except Bottom. Just, absolutely brilliant really.
Rest in Peace Rik Mayall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Punk, the People's Poet Anarchist, the Hippy and the Cool Guy, 3 Feb 2013
By 
TheEnthusiastCollector "Ben" (Llangefni, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Young Ones - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
All 12 episodes uncut, brilliant and agreeing to rebel against Thatcher's Britain in a cartoon way! All fanatics get it!,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fast delivery, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Young Ones - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
Would recommend this DVD Box set to any fan of great 80's slapstick comedy and complete randomness
fast delivery and great product
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant !, 27 Nov 2013
This review is from: The Young Ones - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
This series is absolutely fantastic, I watched all 12 episodes the day it arrived. And, it arrived pretty quickly considering I live in New Zealand!! The extras are quite good as well, I really enjoyed them - I was pleasantly surprised because BBC DVDs are often missing extras altogether. I wish they still made TV like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars back to my youth!, 29 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Young Ones - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
It's the young ones...so you get what it says, slightly dated but not really an issue as still great! all the episodes I remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, Uncut!, 11 April 2009
By 
T. C. Blake (Burbank, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Young Ones - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
I'm in the US and purchased a multi-region DVD player just to see the restored music performances and censored lines. The original flash-frames are restored as well, which is interesting as they weren't actually transmitted when the series was broadcast.

We haven't seen these restorations in the US/Region 1 set AFAICT. Not to mention the UK/Region 2 set is only about half the price of the US offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long Live the People's Poet., 8 Aug 2014
By 
Some Guy (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Young Ones - Series 1-2 [DVD] (DVD)
What's not to love about this comedy classic? Rik Mayall at some of his finest and it's quintessential purchase for those who loved (P)Rik's work and with added bonus features.

Very well worth buying for those who were around in the era that it was made and set and for those wanting to look back at his work before the People's Poet passed away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Young Ones - Series 1-2 [DVD]
The Young Ones - Series 1-2 [DVD] by Rik Mayall (DVD - 2007)
£9.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews