Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


357 of 368 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon couldn't be bothered, so here's a list of the films included
Chance of a Lifetime (1950): The workers in a small plough factory take over the firm, but when a large order falls through, the old management come back to help out.

Genevieve (1953): Two friends race their vintage cars on the annual London to Brighton rally. But once they place a 'friendly' wager on who will win the race the competitive juices start flowing...
Published on 28 Feb. 2008 by Mrs. E. A. Molloy

versus
70 of 80 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ITV should be embarrassed
As usual with "Collection" packages, a few significant titles accompanied by a couple of fillers which in itself isn't why I've degraded my appraisal of it into the abyss of two star mediocrity.

I've watched three of the five films included in this collection so far. But as I try very, very hard to watch "A Night to Rememeber", instead of a superb restored...
Published on 17 Oct. 2010 by veritas


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

357 of 368 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazon couldn't be bothered, so here's a list of the films included, 28 Feb. 2008
By 
Mrs. E. A. Molloy (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kenneth More Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Chance of a Lifetime (1950): The workers in a small plough factory take over the firm, but when a large order falls through, the old management come back to help out.

Genevieve (1953): Two friends race their vintage cars on the annual London to Brighton rally. But once they place a 'friendly' wager on who will win the race the competitive juices start flowing! Genevieve is the name of one of the cars, which, like her competitor, runs into one problem after another.

A Night to Remember (1958): Based on the best selling book by Walter Lord, this is the true story of the R.M.S. Titanic which struck an iceberg on its maiden voyage from Europe to New York in 1912.

The Galloping Major (1951): An elderly pet shop owner who sets up a scheme to buy "Montana Mist," a race horse who promises to finish in the money. When the animals are switched at an auction, his lifelong dream comes crashing down - unless the old glue horse he has purchased turns out to be more than meets the eye.

North West Frontier (1959): Captain Scott (More) is sent by the British Governor in India to rescue a five year old Hindu prince and his American governess (Bacall) when a rebellion breaks out among the tribesmen. Pursued by the abductors, the trio commandeer a derelict steam train to take them 300 miles through the mountains to safety...

Reach for the Sky (1956): A story of one man's indomitable courage and endurance. As a young sports-loving Pilot Officer, Douglas Bader loses both legs in a flying accident. Not only does he overcome his devastating disability; he goes on to become a Battle of Britain ace. Eventually Bader is shot down and imprisoned in Germany.
In 1945 when three hundred aircraft fly in triumph over London led by a solitary Spitfire, the honour of leading the fly-past goes to Douglas Bader. This is the story of one of the few to whom so many owed so much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kenneth More - Icon Box Set, 26 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenneth More Collection [DVD] (DVD)
A superb collection of nostalgic films. Although black and white, A Night to Remember in my opinion is the best that has ever been produced on the story of the Titanic.

For those who have an interest in railways, North West Frontier is a must because it is based around a dangerous journey across India at the height of the Empire. Filmed in the 1950's, the colour is superb!

Chance of a Lifetime is of particular interest because I trained as an Agricultural Engineer and can identify with the struggles faced by the group of workers attempting to turn a struggling plough manufacturing company into profit.

Genevieve and Reach for the Sky are also classic's.

I thoroughly recommend this set.

Mike Hawkins
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Too good to miss, 1 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenneth More Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Any Kenneth More fan MUST buy this, worth every penny just for "Chance of a Lifetime". Lucky this is DVD, I would have worn out a VHS tape by now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 80 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ITV should be embarrassed, 17 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenneth More Collection [DVD] (DVD)
As usual with "Collection" packages, a few significant titles accompanied by a couple of fillers which in itself isn't why I've degraded my appraisal of it into the abyss of two star mediocrity.

I've watched three of the five films included in this collection so far. But as I try very, very hard to watch "A Night to Rememeber", instead of a superb restored transfer of the same standard as "Reach for the Sky" or "Genevieve" in original aspect ratios, "A Night to Remember" is presented in an utterly dreadful non-anamorphic letterbox. Viewed on a 50" plasma, to suggest this disappointing would be kind understatement, especially when a restored anamorphic transfer of this film is available. ITV should be embarrassed. If "A Night to Remember" is one of the films you are buying this 'Collection' for, best avoid and purchase the titles you actually wanted individually. In hindsight, I wish I had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where is "Raising A Riot"???, 18 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Kenneth More Collection [DVD] (DVD)
This sure is a very nice collection of Kenneth More movies, BUT where is his wonderful comedy "Raising a Riot" in which More's character lives with his family in a windmill?
That was always my favorite when I was a child, however, it still is not available on DVD :(.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, 3 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenneth More Collection [DVD] (DVD)
For any old style film buffs out there, this is the box set for you, cheaper than buying each film in turn, and a real joy to own. Speedy and fast service that hit the mark as promised..well worth the money....well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quality old Kenneth More films, 12 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenneth More Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Kenneth More as also John Millls was a true Great of the British film industry in the Fifties and beyond. Reach for the Sky being for me the top performance. An example of true British Grit. Having seen it as a child with my father. This Compilation is a good one but I beleive the content changes without notice so be careful (if you only want the Epics)?? Amazon, please make sure you list exactly what is in the collection and update. A good value package undoubtedly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars geordie 7, 1 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenneth More Collection [DVD] (DVD)
A good copy brought back pleasant memories of the 60's.Received quickly and in good condition. Would recommend the sellers web site Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kenneth ......................... More Please, 14 Feb. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenneth More Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful DVD set, the visual and sound quality was higher than I expected, great performance by Kenneth More in the 5 DVD's and certainly films for chill out, the atmosphere and storylines were the perfect way to spent a quiet afternoon. More please .................. ! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kenneth More - Delightful stories of the 1950's, 17 Oct. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kenneth More Collection [DVD] (DVD)
These films are a nice expression of society and the trauma of the period. The quality of acting and production is very good. These are a tribute to Kenneth More and are well worth acquiring.
Aldous
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kenneth More Collection [DVD]
Kenneth More Collection [DVD] by Kenneth More (DVD - 2007)
£12.91
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews