Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last! The Entire Series Of Steptoe And Son Now Available With The Release Of These Two Festive Gems.
How nice that the BBC has seen reason and decided to release these two episodes as a standalone rather than just a huge boxset as was originally intended, the above situation caused a lot of anger amongst Steptoe fans as they were furious at having to buy the entire series for a second time just for two episodes, it mirrors the situation of The Likely Lads boxset where...
Published on 15 Sept. 2007 by Scott Fraser

versus
51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't Throw Away Your Old VHS Version!
One of the reasons I never review a DVD before it's release is because you never know what you are going to get. This is certainly true to the final installment in the Steptoe series. In their infinite wisdom, the BBC have decided to edit the shows. The really frustrating part is that they haven't even done a good job of it. I am baffled as to why they have done this, it...
Published on 2 Nov. 2007 by Paul Jones


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't Throw Away Your Old VHS Version!, 2 Nov. 2007
By 
Paul Jones (Sturbridge, MA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steptoe & Son - The Christmas Specials [DVD] (DVD)
One of the reasons I never review a DVD before it's release is because you never know what you are going to get. This is certainly true to the final installment in the Steptoe series. In their infinite wisdom, the BBC have decided to edit the shows. The really frustrating part is that they haven't even done a good job of it. I am baffled as to why they have done this, it just doesn't make any sense except to just to annoy the loyal fans and to save some money by producing a single-layer disc instead of a dual-layer. Shame on the BBC for treating classic comedy this way. I only hope the upcoming Dad's Army Christmas specials have not been treated so poorly. The 3 stars awarded is purely for the great shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The "Edits", 5 Dec. 2009
By 
Mrs. L. J. Harold "Mandalas" (Peterborough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Steptoe & Son - The Christmas Specials [DVD] (DVD)
As mentioned previous , one of the two shows is the 30 or so minuet version edited from the 40 minuet version that appears in the "best of compilation" which was 1st released in video in the mid 1980's.
There are 3 sequences missing from this 1973 episode , the 1st being Harold singing with jubilation when receiving his tickets for his booked holiday before being stopped by his horse "neighing" loudly has him shouting "all right , all right ..keep ya bleed'in hair on" ...the next is the closing shot of Harold agreeing to stay home after opening his Christmas gift , he holds up his gift of Y-fronts and says "if my world shrinks any smaller , I'll disappear up the back of these !!.."
yet another scene has been omitted from this show , where Harold is writing a message on his Christmas gift to his father , in which he writes several times in pencil before rubbing out each message for being too "endearing"...
It is not clear "why" the BBC removed these from what is called a "Special" ,that meaning longer the the standard 27 minuets that all sit-coms were written to back in the 1960s & 70's , I am assuming at some point in the running of rare repeats of the show a 27 minuet version was put together to fit in a time slot , and when it came to releasing this for a final DVD master , the BBC felt the quality of the shorter version made later was of higher picture quality than the original 1974 master.
That saying , there is no excuse for not making it available , and when you are buying the "Complete Steptoe" box set as I did , you are not actually getting everything ever filmed.
Whats more laughable is that it was not edited for "non P.C." reasons, as most of the now coincided racial and political incorrectness dialogue has been totally untouched in all other episodes, so to call this 1974 Christmas special "special" is a breach of trades description as its not the version that was broadcast in 1974 !
I hope this has helped any fans that might be curious to "what" is missing from this episode , and if you wish to see the full version of the classic it can be found of the Best Of Steptoe released on video some 20 years ago.
I doubt this will ever be available complete on DVD , but now anyone reading this will know what has been lost until a re-release is available..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Steptoe & Son - Mistreated Specials, 2 Nov. 2008
By 
The Reviewer (West Midlands, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Steptoe & Son - The Christmas Specials [DVD] (DVD)
I am a huge fan of Steptoe & Son and I have all the individual releases of the eight series and also the two films. Like with Dad's Army I really wanted to complete my collection

The stumbling block... the edited release of these Christmas specials. I know the BBC dvds have a habit for this, you just need to see the Only Fools and Horses, Ideal, the original The Young Ones releases, Citizen Smith and Bottom DVDs. They may only be minor edits on some of those, but is disappointing that they do this. Even Yes, Prime Minister Series 1 was treated badly by being on a double sided disc, when other ones of these were on two discs. There have also been sloppy occasions with The Likely Lads and Hancock DVD releases where an episode has been missed off only to be included in the boxset as a special feature. For the Likely Lads one, they couldn't even be bothered to put it in the right order, and just shoved it at the end. I am putting off Hancock purely for the reason I don't like what they have done with the packaging, mainly the really poor episode listing inside

Anyway, back to my main issue with these, and the edited footage. I know of no reason for this apart from some reason about the quality of the picture they gave to someone else who asked them, but nowadays this doesn't hold much water as they could easily do a quick clean up or release it as is. I have bought this though, for the two reasons of I was lucky enough to pick it up new for £2.99 and also that it may be a while, if ever, for it to be re-released in it's full glory

The hardest part is for me to give this a rating. Sure, I could easily give it five stars, because of the quality of the program, or one star for the poor DVD release of it. I will give it 3 stars, as this is the only way you can watch them on DVD legally and complete your collection. Just don't think about the edit when watching them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last! The Entire Series Of Steptoe And Son Now Available With The Release Of These Two Festive Gems., 15 Sept. 2007
By 
Scott Fraser "A Likely Lad" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Steptoe & Son - The Christmas Specials [DVD] (DVD)
How nice that the BBC has seen reason and decided to release these two episodes as a standalone rather than just a huge boxset as was originally intended, the above situation caused a lot of anger amongst Steptoe fans as they were furious at having to buy the entire series for a second time just for two episodes, it mirrors the situation of The Likely Lads boxset where one episode was 'accidently' left out in order to justify a re-release and we must be grateful that the BBC has, on this occasion, listened.

The episodes themselves are brilliant of course but they do follow an often repeated theme in the series, namely Harold deciding that he wants to go on holiday abroad and the old man doing everything that he can to stop him.
The Christmas episode 1972 follows series 7 of the show and the following year's festive outing has the distinction of being the final ever episode of Steptoe and Son and it is probably with this in mind that the writers allowed Harold to achieve a major victory over the old man, something that had never happened before.

The relationship between the two actors was at rock bottom by the time the last episode was filmed and in some ways it shows on screen but the two used this in their performances to perfection, if they didn't like each other in real life then it must have been very easy to despise each other on screen and the feelings and emotions come over as completely real and believable.

Steptoe and Son came to an end at just about the right time as it was obvious that it was perhaps running out of steam but these two little gems are a welcome addition to the now complete set of Steptoe and Son episodes on DVD, this is something that I have waited years for. An essential purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy! It has been butchered by the BBC!, 4 Nov. 2007
By 
This review is from: Steptoe & Son - The Christmas Specials [DVD] (DVD)
A wonderful comedy which has been cruelly edited by the BBC. Please release the uncut versions of the Christmas specials as seen on the VHS releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Steptoe And Son The Christmas Specials, 18 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Steptoe & Son - The Christmas Specials [DVD] (DVD)
It is a disgrace that these episodes have been cut and are incomplete, come on BBC get it right for a change !! Stars given are for the classic comedy not the quality of the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and very relaxing!, 18 Nov. 2013
By 
Yana (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steptoe & Son - The Christmas Specials [DVD] (DVD)
I was born way after the serial was on the screen and there are not many my peers understand Steptoe's humour but I found it funny, relaxing and simply hilarious. When I feel down, tired etc I put the serials like Steptoe&Son, Auf Wiedersehen Pet and I am sorted :)
I love British humour! ......cheaper than antidepressants, therapies etc......:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Steptoe & Son will always get my very best mark as a comedy but the BBC have chopped ..., 24 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Steptoe & Son - The Christmas Specials [DVD] (DVD)
BBC - SHAME ON YOU, AGAIN!!

Steptoe & Son will always get my very best mark as a comedy but the BBC have chopped it to pieces!!

If you intend to buy it is still a great watch but remember that the stupid BBC have stolen from you some great scenes.

comedyclassic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Steptoe's Last Stand, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steptoe & Son - The Christmas Specials [DVD] (DVD)
The Christmas Special episodes of Steptoe and Son bid a farewell to TV's most famous Rag and Bone Men and insures they go out with a bang. While the tension was starting to brew between the actors off screen by this point, it doesn't effect the quality of the episodes, and let's the show end nicely.

In 'The Party' Harold plans to go on holiday away from his father only to reluctantly bow out thanks to Albert and prepare a party back home, while in 'The Perfect Christmas' Harold decides to go on holiday with his father but finds it difficult to persuade his father whose only ideal holiday destination is in Bognor, no matter how bad the weather is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Execllent 70's Christmas TV, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Steptoe & Son - The Christmas Specials [DVD] (DVD)
I got this for my boyfriend at Christmas as we are bot big Steptoon & Son's fans - It beats any Christmas specials we get these days for Christmas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Steptoe & Son - The Christmas Specials [DVD]
Steptoe & Son - The Christmas Specials [DVD] by Wilfrid Brambell (DVD - 2007)
£5.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews