Customer Reviews


151 Reviews
5 star:
 (128)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wannabe comedy writers take note
Steptoe and Son - 3 words that define what great situation comedy is all about. And here's 3 more words that define great situation comedy - Galton and Simpson. The combination of brilliant writing and acting sets this series apart, and here it all is now - complete in one neat box set. No gimmicks, no extras, just great, timeless comedy.

Steptoe and Son...
Published on 18 Jun 2008 by Jl Adcock

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another complete boxset incomplete!
Yet again as with Only fools and horses and the Vicar of Dibley, Steptoe and son also has been edited! Why can't they release a complete boxset for these which actually is a complete boxset?!!!
Published on 16 Nov 2011 by disappointed


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

70 of 71 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wannabe comedy writers take note, 18 Jun 2008
By 
Jl Adcock "John Adcock" (Ashtead UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Steptoe & Son [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
Steptoe and Son - 3 words that define what great situation comedy is all about. And here's 3 more words that define great situation comedy - Galton and Simpson. The combination of brilliant writing and acting sets this series apart, and here it all is now - complete in one neat box set. No gimmicks, no extras, just great, timeless comedy.

Steptoe and Son works because underneath the humour are real dilemmas and a sense of tragedy and frustration, played out beautifully by actors not looking for a cheap, instant laugh.

Anyone remotely interested in writing comedy could do worse than invest in this box set, and take note of how perfectly each episode is contructed. For the rest of us - we can simply watch and enjoy; knowing we are unlikely to see such comedy quality again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a stroke of genius and the best of all time., 9 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. A. E. Ward Davies (Canterbury , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Steptoe & Son [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
here it is; the best sitcom in history in my opinion. great to see the christmas specials finally released.
witness the unique on-screen chemistry of wilfred brambell and harry h. corbett as they impeccably bring the scripts of ray galton and alan simpson to life.
episodes such as "divided we stand," "the desperate hours," "robbery with violence" and "live now P.A.Y.E later" are classic examples of the programme's legendary status.
this boxset will cost a few quid to be sure, but worth every penny i assure you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


103 of 108 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Genius! That's All There Is To It., 21 Oct 2007
By 
Amazon Customer "A Likely Lad" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Complete Steptoe & Son [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
As previously noted this is perhaps Britain's finest comedy, along with The Likely Lads and Porridge there really is nothing to touch them.

I was a little sceptical at first about releasing a boxset of the entire series so soon after the single season discs but there is something rather nice about having the entire show together in one set and I will be buying this for sure despite having the singles, I can always give them to my Nephew.

There really is no point reviewing each season as that has already been done but if you are new to Steptoe then I advise that you buy this set, for one thing it's cheaper than the combined total of the singles and secondly it has a truly lovely cover that will look very nice on the shelf.

Go on! Treat yourself to a comedy show that is not just a classic but is quite simply comedy genius in both acting and writing, and there isn't many of those around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valentines day present, 7 Mar 2009
By 
K. Sneesby (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Steptoe & Son [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
I bought this dvd box set for my husband who,s a big fan, he loved it, watches it over and over again. Well worth the money. For any steptoe and son fans out there this is a great buy.It contains every single episode, and a couple of christmas specials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the best, 14 May 2008
By 
Mr. G. King "70s addict" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Steptoe & Son [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
This is simply the best sitcom ever made .I was bought this as a present and must admit it the best thing ive been bought in ages .I havent laughed so much in ages I think the early black and white ones are the best .I would recomend this to anyone even if youve never seen an episode before fantastic....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars steptoe&son dvd box set, 18 May 2011
This review is from: The Complete Steptoe & Son [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
I have collected the steptoe and son videos for many years and thought I had every episode,including the lost steptoes'. I was therefore pleased to find that included in the box set were a few episodes I had never seen,and well worth the price I paid on amazon.Make no mistake this is a complete box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Step back in time for a good laugh, 11 April 2011
This review is from: The Complete Steptoe & Son [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
Steptoe and Son's ridicously messy yard full of waste and trash provides the backdrop to some of the funniest moments in British TV. Wilfred Brambell aka Albert, was born to make you laugh and the pseudo upper class tones of Corbett, aka Harold are nothing short of genius. If you like the old stuff, let's face it comedy on TV falls a little short these days, this boxset is both cheap and funny from the start to the end. All the episodes are here. Buy it, laugh at it and then watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Steptoe And Son, 8 April 2009
By 
E. Hemsley "old codger" (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Steptoe & Son [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
I waited with bated breath for my Steptoe And Son Collection to arrive. What a glorious piece of entertainment history. I watched them the first time they were broadcast and time has not dimmed the quality of the humour. Included is the pilot episode " Comedy Playhouse " as it was called at the time. 13 Dvd's, 55 episides plus 2 christmas specials, great value at any price. Series 1 - 6 are black and white but hey thats all most people had in the way of a tv when these were guys were in their hay-days. Series 7 & 8 are in glorious colour as are the 2 christmas specials. Dated they may be but if you want to relax with some time honoured, not too " PC " good old fashioned belly laughing humour this is the stuff for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DVD Quality and actual programme, 20 Aug 2011
This review is from: The Complete Steptoe & Son [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
I like the fact it has not been remastered and I like the fact it is in black and white. I feel like I am watching it how it was first produced so I have no problem with picture quality.

I still love the pathos and the struggle harold has about being stuck in the situation he is guilt ridden to stay in it. Perfect performances and a darker theme than you would think from a comedy. In particular Harry H Corbett gives the character of Harold a real depth and I think I made the right choice of purchase at a pretty reasonable price so can not complain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best sitcom ever ! ! !, 5 May 2008
By 
P. Ryland "the totter" (worcester uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Steptoe & Son [DVD] [1962] (DVD)
A shame they dont make comedy like this anymore , this is a gem the complete boxset of every episode of this classic comedy .ive had hours of fun watching them all ,the work gone into restoring the lost episodes seies 5 and 6 is brilliant some reviews have said the picture quailty is poor in my opinion i think its great considering the tapes of of this episodes were made on a very primitive recording machine by ray galton , great work by the british film institute for restoring them who cares their in black and white just enjoy . Harry H Corbett and willy brambell are fantasic this is the best sitcom ever and well worth the money thanks to the bbc for a great boxset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Steptoe & Son [DVD] [1962]
The Complete Steptoe & Son [DVD] [1962] by Harry H. Corbett (DVD - 2007)
21.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews