Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a taster of our newer neighbour's cultures
Having read some of the other reviews of this series, you would think that this
travelogue of The New Europe was a massive letdown. All I can say is that it least such a thing has been attempted and that for me it was for the most part informative and interesting. With so much ground to cover in such a short span of film, really it was going to offer no more than a...
Published on 10 July 2011 by Mr. Robert Marsland

versus
42 of 49 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Palin past his sell-by date. One for fans, only
Previous great adventures by Michael Palin have been interesting because of the insights we've gained into the places and people. But in New Europe the show seems to be mostly about Michael Palin himself, and what he thinks of everything, and precious little about the countries he visits.

Just when you get to something interesting -- like, for example, the...
Published on 27 Oct. 2007 by Rowena Hoseason


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Superb informative watching, 24 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Palin's New Europe : Complete BBC Series [DVD] (DVD)
Typical Michael Palin quality documentary series. Thoroughly enjoyed the book then decided to re-watch the series. the book seemed hard going at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars PALIN'S TRAVELS, 23 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Palin's New Europe : Complete BBC Series [DVD] (DVD)
THIS TRAVEL SERIES IS VERY ENTERTAINING FUNNY INFORMATIVE WONDERFUL SCENERY ONE OF THE BEST PURCHASES I HAVE MADE WELL DONE MICHAEL PALIN
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting, 24 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Palin's New Europe : Complete BBC Series [DVD] (DVD)
Once again Michael Palin has taken us on such an interesting journey to lands unknown. The New Europe is an eye opened indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended, 10 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Palin's New Europe : Complete BBC Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very, very good DVD if you are interested in learning about other countries and like to see how other people live in different countries.
This is a video we will watch over and over again and still enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unfortunately - I have to agree..., 18 Nov. 2007
By 
Mario Toni Belamarię "mario toni" (zagreb, croatia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Palin's New Europe : Complete BBC Series [DVD] (DVD)
...with previous reviews. I am a huge fan of M.P. past documentaries, but this one is, well, poor. For instance, Michael jumps from season to season. In the beginning he's in Split (summer) or Medjugorje (which is btw spelled Medjugorye) and after, for me, too long Sarajevo sequence (because we all know what happened there, but that also happened in Vukovar in Croatia and not a word about that) he is all of the sudden in Belgrade in winter. And then again it is a summer in Dubrovnik or Bulgaria...Some states were mentioned practicaly in a few sentences (Macedonia - very harsh transition to Bulgaria interesting sequence), but some states take almost half of episode!
Oh, the themes...well, mostly trivial! Come on, Michael! You are in Czech republic and you talk with a Czech female singer group which sings African style!!!! Is that interesting??? Is it native Czech tradition??? NO! You are in my Croatia and you talk with some freak in Hvar island (who is fascinated with marshal Tito - a "great hedonist" - the man who slaughtered half of Croatia, only if you said "I am Croat"!!! - not to mention other "hedonist" thingies he did!!!) instead with local fisherman or old folks who could tell you some very very interesting things about Hvar's history and legends.
One of the very few interesting sequenes, where you get the "smell" of previous M.P. films, is the one in Turkey or Ukraine, but that almost about it!
Oh, and I have to mention that meaningless conversation in "Deleted scenes" where he is talking with two grils who make chocolate in Latvia. A big question mark!!!
Michael, if you getting too lazy for the real things, please stop, before you give your past work a bad name!
I gave this film 3 stars only because great photography and a few good sequences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars top, 2 Jan. 2014
By 
Stephen Yates (Leeds, Yorkshire GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Palin's New Europe : Complete BBC Series [DVD] (DVD)
Good DVD. Michael Palin is one of the best I will watch it again and again,I have a few more of his.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ONE MAN'S VIEW OF NEW EUROPE, 12 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Palin's New Europe : Complete BBC Series [DVD] (DVD)
We borrowed the first of the DVDs to watch and found it so interesting that we went online and bought the entire series without further ado. I was mainly interested in Poland and Ukraine, which was on the second DVD. The Poland sequences were good, but the Ukraine ones less so. However it was an entertaining series and can't please everyone. A lot of the criticism in these reviews seems to be expecting a serious history lesson - Michael Palin doesn't do history, he does comedy and travel. One man's travel is not the same as another's. I think those who have said his gimmicks are getting a bit tired are correct (being "invited" to home festivities and "invited" to participate on stage etc.), but overall it was a picturesque and engaging series. There will no doubt be others including histories - perhaps BBC can get Simon Schama on the go? Meanwhile, this is okay - not MP's best, but okay and I'll be watching it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite a goodwatch. Even better if you've already to the ..., 4 July 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Palin's New Europe : Complete BBC Series [DVD] (DVD)
Quite a good watch. Even better if you've already to the places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The reason why this is not his best, 17 Jun. 2008
By 
D. Fidock "krisfidock" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Michael Palin's New Europe : Complete BBC Series [DVD] (DVD)
The reason we liked Plain's travels in the other series was that we enjoyed watching the journey and people he met along the way. In this series the journey is ignored and the chance to see places we may never get the chance to see forgotten and we are left with interviews with people we are not particulary interested in, in foreign capitals. Quite dull.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dvd, 29 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Michael Palin's New Europe : Complete BBC Series [DVD] (DVD)
A very good seller.Came on time Packaing just right
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Michael Palin's New Europe : Complete BBC Series [DVD]
£14.04
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews