Customer Reviews


119 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


154 of 157 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Content - Poor Packaging
It is astonishing that the BBC have just cobbled this man's work together in such a half-hearted fashion. There isn't even an insert for such a classic set nor even a listing of the contents (they have put a list behind the discs but it is unreadable because of the disc holder). The cover is, by common consent, poorly designed and the discs have just been taken from the...
Published on 5 Mar 2008 by Dr. Philip G. Davies

versus
368 of 374 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No hard feelings then? Yes, 8s 6d worth.
The beeb commerical department neglected to include a programme listing on the outer cover of this boxset (where no doubt it would have been seen and could inform a buyer's decision). Ironically this change from their earlier practice of including episode names and descriptions is one of few original things about this collection, which contains only one episode (The...
Published on 3 Jan 2008 by Snogun


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

368 of 374 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No hard feelings then? Yes, 8s 6d worth., 3 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Tony Hancock BBC Collection (8 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
The beeb commerical department neglected to include a programme listing on the outer cover of this boxset (where no doubt it would have been seen and could inform a buyer's decision). Ironically this change from their earlier practice of including episode names and descriptions is one of few original things about this collection, which contains only one episode (The Succession: Son and Heir) not yet released to DVD. As with everything by Hancock/Galton/Simpson the episodes themselves are worthy of 5 stars, but as others have noted, if you've already bought previous releases you are paying a lot for a single episode. However, for anyone who doesn't already own this material, here is the programme list:

Disc 1: `The Alpine Holiday', `Air Steward Hancock, The Last Of The Many', `The Lawyer: The Crown vs Sidney James', 'Competitions: How To Win Money And Influence People' ,'There's An Airfield At The Bottom Of My Garden', 'Hancock's Forty-Three Minutes: The East Cheam Repertory Company: The Christmas Special'. ORIGINALLY RELEASED AS `HANCOCK'S HALF HOUR: VOL.1'

Disc 2: `Ericson the Viking', `The Set That Failed', `The New Nose', `The Oak Tree', `The Knighthood'. ORIGINALLY RELEASED AS HANCOCK'S HALF HOUR: VOL. 2

Disc 3: `The Economy Drive', `The Two Murderers', `Lord Byron Lived Here', `Twelve Angry Men', `The Train Journey'. ORIGINALLY RELEASED AS `HANCOCK'S HALF HOUR: VOL. 3' (DISC 1).

Disc 4: `The Cruise', `The Big Night', `The Tycoon', `Spanish Interlude', `Football Pools'. ORIGINALLY RELEASED AS `HANCOCK'S HALF HOUR: VOL. 3' (DISC 2).

Disc 5: 'The Cold', 'The Missing Page', 'The Emigrant', 'The Reunion Party', 'Sid In Love'. ORIGINALLY RELEASED AS `HANCOCK'S HALF HOUR: VOL. 4' (DISC 1).

Disc 6: 'The Baby Sitters', 'The Ladies Man', 'The Photographer', The East Cheam Centenary' and 'The Poison Pen Letters'. ORIGINALLY RELEASED AS `HANCOCK'S HALF HOUR: VOL. 4' (DISC 2).

Disc 7: `The Bedsitter', `The Bowmans', `The Radio Ham', `The Lift', `The Blood Donor'. ORIGINALLY RELEASED AS `THE VERY BEST OF HANCOCK'.

Disc 8: `The Succession: Son and Heir', `Face to Face: Tony Hancock Interview', PDF's of missing scripts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


154 of 157 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Content - Poor Packaging, 5 Mar 2008
This review is from: The Tony Hancock BBC Collection (8 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
It is astonishing that the BBC have just cobbled this man's work together in such a half-hearted fashion. There isn't even an insert for such a classic set nor even a listing of the contents (they have put a list behind the discs but it is unreadable because of the disc holder). The cover is, by common consent, poorly designed and the discs have just been taken from the previous published series so that the menu screens don't match the disc number and don't even harmonize with each other. It is hard to see how the Beeb could have made a worse job of the presentation. However the content is every bit as good as you would expect from Hancock and Co. For those of you who don't have the time to put a content list together here is mine for you.

The Tony Hancock Collection
DISC 1
1.THE ALPINE HOLIDAY
2 AIR STEWARD HANCOCK, THE LAST OF THE MANY
3 THE LAWYER: THE CROWN V SIDNEY JAMES
4 COMPETITIONS: HOW TO WIN MONEY AND INFLUENCE PEOPLE
5 THERE'S AN AIRFIELD AT THE BOTTOM OF MY GARDEN
6 HANCOCK'S 43 MINUTES: CHRISTMAS SPECIAL

DISC 2
7 ERICSON THE VIKING
8 THE SET THAT FAILED
9 THE NEW NOSE
10 THE OAK TREE
11 THE KNIGHTHOOD

DISC 3 (VOLUME 3 DISC 1)
12 THE ECONOMY DRIVE
13 THE TWO MURDERERS
14 LORD BYRON LIVED HERE
15 TWELVE ANGRY MEN
16 THE TRAIN JOURNEY

DISC 4 (VOLUME 3 DISK 2)
17 THE CRUISE
18 THE BIG NIGHT
19 THE TYCOON
20 SPANISH INTERLUDE
21 FOOTBALL POOLS

DISC 5 (VOLUME 4 DISC 1)
22 THE COLD
23 THE MISSING PAGE
24 THE EMIGRANT
25 THE REUNION PARTY
26 SID IN LOVE

DISC 6 (VOLUME 4 DISC 2)
27 THE BABYSITTERS
28 THE LADIES MAN
29 THE PHOTOGRAPHER
30 THE EAST CHEAM CENTENARY
31 THE POISON PEN LETTERS

DISC 7 (THE VERY BEST OF HANCOCK)
32 THE BEDSITTER
33 THE BOWMANS
34 THE RADIO HAM
35 THE LIFT
36 THE BLOOD DONOR
Extras: Artist profile, Galton and Simpson Interview, The Blood Donor with audio commentary.

DISC 8 (THE TONY HANCOCK COLLECTION)
37 THE SUCCESSOR: SON AND HEIR
Extras: Face to Face, Script Archive

Dr Phil
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jumping the Gun..., 8 Oct 2007
By 
John Scott "winston_scott" (Whitley Bay, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tony Hancock BBC Collection (8 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
Stone me, it seems a few reviewers on this page have jumped the gun in their criticisms of this set. For a start, the 'Face to Face' interview will be included in this release and a number of episodes have newly recorded commentaries with Ray Galton and Alan Simpson. Whereas the original DVD releases sometimes featured 1980s edits of some of the episodes, I'm led to believe that the original, uncut versions of some or all of the episodes have made it onto this set. Having sold my copies of the original discs online I now have more than enough money to purchase this superb collection. 40 for all Hancock's BBC shows, 'Face to Face' and commentaries to boot? Sounds like a bargain to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well, that's marvellous!, 20 Jan 2009
This review is from: The Tony Hancock BBC Collection (8 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
I know a lot of people were disappointed in this set, but that seems mostly to be based on the fact that they'd already bought previous releases, and whilst that is an unpleasant aspect of the modern commercial world it should not detract from the fact that this is a thoroughly enjoyable set and I really enjoyed it. All the surviving episodes of the BBC's "Hancock's Half Hour" and "Hancock" in one convenient package. For me, it was worth it for the "Face to Face" interview alone (which I'd never before seen in it's entirety) but there was also the opportunity to enjoy episodes that I personally had not seen before. "Hancock's 43 Minutes" is an enjoyable bonus and gives a comic insight into a lost world of TV variety, and alongside that you get 37 episodes of comedy gold from an era that is too often overlooked in the release market. My only gripe is that I would have liked the prints to have been restored a bit more - maybe they will be on the inevitable later releases - but, on the whole, I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BBC might be ripping us off, but Hancock isn't...., 2 Nov 2007
By 
A. C. Barker "a3barker" (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tony Hancock BBC Collection (8 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
He's the lad himself, for my money the greatest comedy actor (I can't go with him a a comedian, as this is more than just a comedian at work) this country has produced. A man, who in his pauses, made not saying something on the radio funnier than any wisecrack...but this is his television work and although I think his best work was sound only, you have to go a long way to get comedy as fresh as most of Galton and Simpson's scripts on display here....I love these programmes as well as the man, he was searching for truth in comedy and he found it, if only he'd realised it. Yes, this package is ripping us off, but Hancock didn't, he always gave us his everything, and much of it that exists is here and it's life changing...50 years ago and now.....So, eyes down for a full house....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value but poor design, 19 Jun 2008
This review is from: The Tony Hancock BBC Collection (8 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
37 episodes, commentaries, scripts and an interview: to get all this in one boxset is fantastic and very good value for money. This is definitely a must for any Hancock fan, and luckily my patience was rewarded as I had waited while seperate volumes were released in the hope that a collection such as this would follow. However, amazingly the box contains no leaflet or episode guide! also contrary to what the picture on here (and all other websites) suggests it is only 37 episodes not 39. My box says 37 but everywhere else I have seen this for sale (online) it has the exact same box design but with the number 39 instead of 37, weird. As far as content goes though, this is a sure fire 5/5. The packaging designer needs a good punch up the bracket.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Timeless Genius of Hancock and James, 24 April 2011
By 
David Emanuel (Tulsa, OK USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tony Hancock BBC Collection (8 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
Before Monty Python there was Tony Hancock and Sid James in "HHancock's HHalf HHour". I must have been about 7 years old when these first came out on TV in England. Some of the episodes have been lost but this collection of 37 is just fabulous and just as funny as I remember. Not that I remember all of them.

Hancock was the master of pathos - in some ways an earlier version of Basil Fawlty with his delusions of grandeur. Sid James held up his end as the crafty con man and foil. Do not look for great production values. This is old time TV in black and white and the recordings are what they are. But this is classic Hancock at his best and it is wonderful to watch these shows over 50 years on and over 40 years after his untimely death at the age of 44. A man "of his calibre" is sorely missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I want to give this SIX stars!, 31 Mar 2009
By 
Quackers (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tony Hancock BBC Collection (8 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
I can't believe I just bought this entire collection of comic genius - the work of probably the funniest man I've ever seen or heard - for so little money (I won't start making folk angry by giving the current price, but it's next to nothing in return for so much).

This may well be the best purchase I've made in half a century!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Comedy - Complete Hancock, 20 April 2009
By 
Robert A. Cant "RobfromNZ" (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tony Hancock BBC Collection (8 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
Having been a member of the THAS (those in the know, will know...) during the 1990s, the actual episodes weren't new to me. In saying that however, there were a few features unique to DVD which I really enjoyed. Audio commentaries from the writers are great, albeit only on 3 episodes.

This is classic comedy from the beginnings of TV. Some of it seems cliched now, but that's because it is so good. This is when it became a cliche.

A great collection. Somewhat of a pity there is no new material, such as has been discovered with "Dad's Army", but to have all the episodes together in one package is wonderful. At the time of writing this review, you could pick it up for under 25 quid, which is excellent value for 8 DVDs. I don't hesitate to recommend it at that price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hancock's Half There...., 26 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. T. Alcock - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Tony Hancock BBC Collection (8 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [1956] (DVD)
Just bought this set - what a disappointment! Firstly, the discs are a mish mash of styles, from the old "Best of..." to the latest disc with the last episode and Face To Face.So it doesn't really feel like a 'set' at all. There are no sleeve notes...I found myself having to search discs to find an episode with a commentary. Nice to see original prints being used, but one episode has been left, rather oddly, with those nasty 1980s titles, and an end credit sequence not suited to that particular season. Anyone got any ideas? At the very least they could have copied the correct opening over from another episode. All a bit half-hearted really.Has the BBC got Network's number...? It would also have been rather nice to have the 1990s BBC drama about Hancock included....or The Government Inspector? Or Festival Hall? A wonderful opportunity missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tony Hancock BBC Collection (8 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [1956]
15.78
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews