Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value
I purchased this on the reviews already here and I have not been disappointed. I love watching anything to do with nature and as we are new to blu ray are very slowly building a collection. This is one of this discs you can definitely watch again and again.

Yes there is a small amount of repetition but it does not distract from the overall excellent quality...
Published on 19 Jun 2008 by Mrs V

versus
13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Picture variable, narration truly terrible...
Picture quality varies from excellent to rather poor + noisy.
Some interesting stuff about the Galapagos.
What ruined this for me is the truly cringe-worthy narration - full of 'awe' and 'wonder'.
Published on 22 Jun 2009 by G. Tittley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, 19 Jun 2008
By 
Mrs V (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galapagos [Blu-ray] (2006) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I purchased this on the reviews already here and I have not been disappointed. I love watching anything to do with nature and as we are new to blu ray are very slowly building a collection. This is one of this discs you can definitely watch again and again.

Yes there is a small amount of repetition but it does not distract from the overall excellent quality of the content and narration. Also, after ordering this from Amazon I was at a well known store in town the next day and they were selling it for 30.00!

If you love nature programmes then this is a must for your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 15 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galapagos [Blu-ray] (2006) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This blu-ray disc is simply stunning. It appears more of the footage is in HD than on Planet Earth and it shows. Some of the underwater footage, the resolution and the colour takes your breath away. An absolute bargain for 150 minutes of wonder - well done BBC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stunning photography of a wonderful place, 15 July 2010
By 
LegendaryMrDude (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galapagos [Blu-ray] (2006) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I find nature documentaries to be, by far, the best use of high-definition video. Galapagos is no exception, there's plenty of high-definition footage of one of the most remarkable places on the planet.

The series is curiously written - almost as if it struggles to find a way to cover everything that's so amazing about the Galapagos archipelago. The result is a reasonable amount of overlap which would probably not have been too noticeable if you watched it as a scheduled broadcast over several weeks but if you're watching the episodes in a much shorter time-span, the repetition of photography and, to a lesser extent, the narrative is a bit obvious.

Tilda Swinton's voice is a little under-whelming at times, but she delivers the narrative with good pace and a degree of calmness.

All in all, a great series with fantastic filming and stunning images - a wonderful advert for the tourism industry of Galapagos and a great way to almost experience the wonder of the place without going there and doing any more damage to the fragile ecosystem there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Galapagos Blu-ray, 27 May 2009
By 
Michael King (Lincolnshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galapagos [Blu-ray] (2006) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
A beautifully filmed, spectacular and dramatic video that combines geology, biology and history of the Galapagos Islands. The importance of the Island cluster for Darwin's growing theory of natural selection is also clarified. Very enjoyable high definition and high quality camera work. Very worthy of a nature lover's Blu-ray collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly wonderful, 6 April 2009
By 
Dr. J. D. Mitchell "Jon Mitchell" (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Galapagos [Blu-ray] (2006) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
We've just watched this having just returned from a life-changing two weeks cruising and visiting these beautiful, humbling islands.

The DVD is amazing with fabulous narration, gorgeous music and breathtaking camera work. Some may think that aspects are over the top and "fairy-tale" like but this is exactly what the islands are like. Yes there is some repetition but some of the points are so central to understanding this unique place that they warrant reinforcement.

Many people have asked us to describe what the Galapagos are REALLY like. Words and photos dont do them justice. This DVD does a pretty good job. Go buy, sit back, marvel and start planning. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Galapagos Blu-ray, 7 May 2008
By 
G. Rutter (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Galapagos [Blu-ray] (2006) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Brilliant. The photography is first rate, the shows are very well edited and constructed. The narration is in the style of Lord Of The Rings which is a little naff but is so full of amazing facts that it wasn't a bother. The visual imagery is so wonderfully shot and seemles, viewed on a projector, it literally did take my breath away!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Galapagos - Gorgeously Captured On Blu Ray !, 12 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galapagos [Blu-ray] (2006) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Nothing much to be said about this wonderous and enchanting island. One of the most entertaining documentary and a remarkable blu ray disc. Picture is gorgeous on blu ray and audio is acceptable. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 Feb 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galapagos [Blu-ray] (2006) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I thoroughly enjoyed this 3 part series. The photography is superb. Tilda Swinton's narration is excellent. The dramatisation of some scenes may not be to everyone's taste but I enjoyed it. A must for those interested in the natural history of the Galapagos. At under ten pounds this blu-ray is great value for money. My only regret is that there are no extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ecxastive Galapagos, 16 Dec 2007
By 
Jens Erik Bech "Lyrik" (Virum, N/A Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galapagos [HD DVD] (HD DVD)
The material is excellent. Is it a little expensive? Not when You compare what You get.150 minutes of Galapagos exploration. Under the sea. Over the sea on all the islands. Of their geology, Darwins visit, birds, reptiles, turtles. Everything.
When You have seen the film, You have "been to Galapagos", and is able to take part in a diskussion about is on equal foot as a tourist that has been there. Only-You have seen more than him.;-)
It is 1080i-no artifacts in the film-perfect! From land, under the sea and from the air.LPCM stereo. Subtitles only english for the Hearing Impaired. That is a minor weakness, as the pictures speak for themselves.
When my son comes I shall present the HD-DVD player with this film.;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and Interesting, 13 Dec 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Galapagos [Blu-ray] (2006) [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I'm not a massive fan of the BBC Nature productions - often finding some of them a bit long winded. However, I really am pleased I bought this one. The photography is beautiful in HD and shows off the beauty of the islands themselves in spectacular fashion.

I found the commentary pleasant and interesting but I am a fan of Tilda Swinton so it may be a personal thing.

My only frustration with the series is that it is too short. Three episodes really whet my appetite but I would have liked to have seen even more of the islands and to have gone into greater depth. I'm very tempted to buy the accompanying book in the hope that that will give me a bit more.

All in all, a really enjoyable documentary. If you are a nature documentary lover then I see no reason why you would not love this production. And even if you're not, I'd still recommend that you give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Galapagos [Blu-ray] (2006) [Region Free]
Galapagos [Blu-ray] (2006) [Region Free] by Richard Wollocombe (Blu-ray - 2007)
6.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews