Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate three seasons of 80s aerial action
Well, how many have dreamed of this day when all three CBS seasons of Airwolf were released together on DVD... and a Region 2 exclusive (at the moment) as well. Packaged in some nice minimalist artwork, the three previously-released Season Box Sets are together here (minus the awful Canadian 4th Season) for the first time.

Bottom line, if you haven't bought any...
Published on 24 Nov. 2007 by R3d Bu11

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Takes off well, plummets shortly thereafter
Though it is now very (very, very) dated Airwolf is a bit of a guilty pleasure. Turn your brain off and enjoy often terrible acting, worse scripts, surprisingly good action and brilliant aerial sequences and one of the best theme tunes (and most gorgeous aircraft) ever.

The first season is actually pretty good to be fair, and has some cracking episodes that...
Published 10 months ago by M. Gudgin


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate three seasons of 80s aerial action, 24 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Airwolf: Seasons One, Two & Three [DVD] (DVD)
Well, how many have dreamed of this day when all three CBS seasons of Airwolf were released together on DVD... and a Region 2 exclusive (at the moment) as well. Packaged in some nice minimalist artwork, the three previously-released Season Box Sets are together here (minus the awful Canadian 4th Season) for the first time.

Bottom line, if you haven't bought any of the other three and have been meaning to remember Airwolf from the 80s then this is for you; however if you have then Universal-Playback haven't made any further effort to include any extras whatsoever so only completists and the die-hard Airwolf fans need apply. To complement these three seasons of the show, you may be interested in the official digitally remastered re-release of the acclaimed Airwolf Themes soundtrack which has been released from late December 2007 on Apple iTunes... just Google 'Airwolf Themes' for full details from the official website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeds my nostalgic memories!, 31 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airwolf: Seasons One, Two & Three [DVD] (DVD)
I am close to finishing season 1 now (which I'm aware is known as the best season amongst the hardcore fans). Being in my 30s now I can appreciate the adult and complex themes and stories. There is no black and white with much of these stories. Just grey. And Stringfellow Hawke and Dominic Santini use Airwolf to have a positive effect on the world, despite the grey morality of The Firm and Archangel. The Cold War plays a very prominent part of series 1, as does Libya.

Honestly, each episode of series 1 just seems to get better and better! My tip is to forward the first chapter of each episode to avoid the stupid spoiler-tastic opening montage they do for each episode which basically shows the entire plot of the episode and spoils all the suspense and fun in each episode.

There's some really great twists and surprises in the episodes. By the end of each one, you feel like you've flown around in Airwolf and visited all kinds of exotic locales with String and Dominic. And the picture quality is remarkably good, even on modern flat screen 46 inch television.

Stringfellow Hawk was such an interesting and complex character for what some deemed as a childish show. His search for his brother and the women he has lost is touching stuff, and it's nice to see how he grows as the series continues.

I've heard series 2+3 got a tad family-friendlier as the networks found it too serious and adult in series 1 but I'm sure I'll enjoy those too.

Plus the box is black, sleek and cool looking, a bit like Airwolf itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete Series 1-3 Airwolf, 12 Feb. 2008
By 
Claire Steed "Silver Sapphire" (Kent, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airwolf: Seasons One, Two & Three [DVD] (DVD)
There were only ever three 'proper' series of this excellent show starring the original cast: the ever excellent Jan-Michael Vincent (I send best wishes to him wherever he is), Alex Cord, Ernest Borgnine & Jean Bruce Scott.

I'm glad this doesn't carry the inferior and rather rubbishy (yawn) 4th season. Season 4 should NEVER have been made, it was just NOT even good enough to carry the iconic name of Airwolf as it was just a vain attempt by the studios to hack it's proverbial cash cow to death - and what a spectacular failure it was.

I'm more than happy to have this COMPLETE SERIES of the ORIGINAL Airwolf, shown in it's correct order and it is great to have it, my only gripe is the artwork, or rather the complete lack of it. T'would have been nice to have an episode listing and a few internal photos. That said, it's better than not having it and it is fantastic to have the whole and complete series of Airwolf, released in it's entirety as it should be, WITH NO INFERIOR IMITATIONS!!!

Now if we can only get the powers that be to release all 8 seasons of Simon & Simon I'd be a really happy camper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Airwolf Boxset, 23 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Airwolf: Seasons One, Two & Three [DVD] (DVD)
A must for all Airwolf Fans! This fabulous boxset has all 3 series of Airwolf which of course for any Airwolf fan are the only series that are worth watching.

16 discs of full 'cold war' espionage, explosions and excitement!

So weapons to combat mode and sit down to enjoy this Cult 80's series that STILL has a massive following today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Airwolf: overview, 4 July 2009
By 
R. Shore (Belfast, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airwolf: Seasons One, Two & Three [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent 80's action/adventure show that's given a long overdue box set. The packaging is minimal with very little effort put into this but it's the show that counts and in that respect, it's past the years with flying colours. The first season is the strongest but it's with the second season that the show reaches it's stride with a final uneven third season. A very strong cast, great stories, great scripts and superb real aerial photography, a breath of fresh air in this day of CGI.
The picture quality is average but then it's universal who put no effort into restoration of their shows and the mono sound is adequate.
My only complaint?. If there was ever a show that could do with an overhaul for blu-ray, this is the one!. How about it Universal?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a trip down memory line via airwolf, 17 Feb. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airwolf: Seasons One, Two & Three [DVD] (DVD)
well here it is... finally holding in my hands the symbol of my childhood, airwolf season 1-3, nice price, one day delivery cool cool.... gladly each seaon is in a jewel case rather than the cardboard ones like others series (24) 16 discs of fun, 56 episodes.... 43 hours 10 minutes...... no extras would have liked a few, but hey cant complain. my 80's series is complete... complete knightrider collection... complete A-team collection and now the complete airwolf collection well minus the fourth season which so many people is telling me is terrible, though if i find it on the cheap may still get it. not really going to bother with the whole synapsis everyone must know what it's about. i am truly happy now :)

gonna be a good watch can't wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Takes off well, plummets shortly thereafter, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airwolf: Seasons One, Two & Three [DVD] (DVD)
Though it is now very (very, very) dated Airwolf is a bit of a guilty pleasure. Turn your brain off and enjoy often terrible acting, worse scripts, surprisingly good action and brilliant aerial sequences and one of the best theme tunes (and most gorgeous aircraft) ever.

The first season is actually pretty good to be fair, and has some cracking episodes that really make good use of Cold War paranoia, shades of grey morality and surprisingly intelligent ideas for a show like this - introducing restrictions and limitations on what Airwolf can do and suggesting why and how it can do it in the first place, plus raising questions like just how DO you look after your stolen/'loaned' billion dollar super chopper (is there a Haynes manual for Airwolf? If not there needs to be)? How hard would it actually be to find this unique vehicle? How hard is it to fly a supersonic jet-chopper that may or may not have artificial intelligence? The exploration of the uneasy alliance between Airwolf's new crew/owners and the intelligence agency that developed it is also quite well done.

The second season more or less squanders all of that in favour of more family friendly and brain unfriendly fare but has some standout episodes.

The third season was basically just, well, bad, with the introduction of the obligatory cute kid and String and Dom unleashing the Lady for laughably ridiculous reasons. By this point they're just not even trying.

The fourth season was so abominably bad it isn't included here likely because of licensing issues and the fact it was just so, so terrible. Seriously, just don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great being a kid again, 5 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airwolf: Seasons One, Two & Three [DVD] (DVD)
I just love the DVD's for airwolf as I was so young I could not remember 98% of it.
I ordered 2 sets for me and a friend.
I would have given 5 stars but the condition of the one box set was really buggered.
We had to use sellotape to fix it as the packaging could have been better.
Delivery to South Africa was about 14 days as it takes the normal postal route.
over all the price was right and will buy again in future, hope the packaging is better this time round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic at great value, 13 July 2012
By 
Michelle Knight (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airwolf: Seasons One, Two & Three [DVD] (DVD)
If you were looking for quality acting or superb special effects from the cult works of the time, then you were fooling yourself. Airwolf, however, was one of the better ones and at less than £30, this is great value even though I haven't found any specials so far and, for a work that is getting on for three decades old, I'm not expecting any. The first disk does contain the pilot, which is a good thing to find.

There is one problem episode, Proof through the night, in the first series, where there is a thin strip of light down the left hand side and the audio is coming out very strange; as if it has been stereo dubbed badly. However, the rest of the episodes so far are holding up very well for a series of this age.

I had been thinking of buying this series for some time, but it was Ernest Borgnine's recent passing which made my mind up to watch this wonderful piece of history. So far, I'm not regretting that decision. It is great to finally have this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The film as well, 22 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Airwolf: Seasons One, Two & Three [DVD] (DVD)
Airwolf was my favourite 80's series. I was pleased that the boxset included the introductory film. It has the three series I wanted,not the awful 4th. The packaging is good and it is good value.
The casting of Airwolf was perfect with one exception. I could never understand the introduction of the gungho Caitlin. Much better to have a more feminine role to create a triangle love interest for Hawk. There was real chemistry,for example, in Crossover with Isa Anderson as the guest star
Which was the best episode? It could be the above,Airwolf 2 or the Horn of Plenty. My favourite though is the modern retelling of the biblical story of the destruction of the temple of evil or in this case the casino in the Sins of the Past.
All in all a terrific series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Airwolf: Seasons One, Two & Three [DVD]
Airwolf: Seasons One, Two & Three [DVD] by Jan-Michael Vincent (DVD - 2007)
Used & New from: £39.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews