Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars voice interactive dalek
I bought the dalek from eBay and the first thing I noticed is how big it is, the 12" dalek seems tiny off to this one. The plunger and gun arm are separate in the box. It does so much, it has a vibration detector on it's head. If you tap it it will stop what it's doing and say 'danger, alert alert' or 'Halt.'

The dalek has: static room guard - where it stays...
Published on 11 Nov. 2007 by bad wolf

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work properly
I've had 2 of these now they simply don't work, the dalek responds to some commands but in a random fashion. An example would be "Dalek"; "YES" "do you recognise the Doctor?" 9no response. or "Dalek"; "YES"; "game mosde" dalek then spins in a random circle and points in a random direction, usually not at any child at all. Most other commands don't work at all the Dalek...
Published on 16 Jan. 2008 by Martin Ansell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars voice interactive dalek, 11 Nov. 2007
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who 45cm Voice Control Supreme Dalek (Toy)
I bought the dalek from eBay and the first thing I noticed is how big it is, the 12" dalek seems tiny off to this one. The plunger and gun arm are separate in the box. It does so much, it has a vibration detector on it's head. If you tap it it will stop what it's doing and say 'danger, alert alert' or 'Halt.'

The dalek has: static room guard - where it stays still and looks for a moving object. Roving room guard - where it will move around the room and look for a moving object. Programmable movement - where you can plot a sequence with voice control. Battle defense mode - where the dalek will search for a moving object then exterminate it. Dalek memory banks - where you can ask the dalek about a Doctor Who character. Dalek control - you can control the dalek via remote control

START UP
The dalek gun will light up and the eyestalk will flash blue and red. It will then play a dalek heartbeat sound and say `Dalek unit, status 100% efficiency, awaiting input.'

STATIC ROOM GUARD
To get the dalek into static guard mode say `DALEK' it will reply `YES' then say `GUARD LOCATION' it will then say `I obey, dalek unit engaging guard mode' it will then move side to side and say `Leave this area or be exterminated' a dalek heartbeat is then heard. After 30 seconds it says `Superior dalek multispectrum scanning now engaged' if it detects you it will say `Leave this area or be exterminated' if you don't give a command it will exterminate you but, if you say `dalek, obey me' or `override voice command' it will say `voice command recognized,' and state number of intruders

ROVING GUARD
Voice command `DALEK + SEEK LOCATE
The dalek will move around a room if a moving object crosses its field of vision it will say `leave this area or be exterminated' if the command isn't given it will exterminate the intruder
To override the attack system you must state the command
`dalek' +(dalek responds `yes') + `voice command override'

PLOT ATTACK
Voice command `DALEK' + `PLOT ATTACK'
You can programme the dalek with your voice. The dalek will take up to 10 movement commands. When the command `execute the attack' is given the dalek will do the sequence ending it with `exterminate'

BATTLE DEFENSE MODE
Voice command `DALEK' + `DEFENSE MODE'
The dalek will say `interfacing with battle computer' it will seek out a moving target and exterminate it. Then it will go into normal mode.

DALEK MEMORY BANK
Voice command `DALEK' +'DO YOU RECONISE' +'CHARACTER NAME'
-THE DOCTOR -THE TARDIS
-THE CYBERMEN -THE EMPEROR
-THE GENESIS ARK -EMOTIONS
-THE TIME LORDS -MARTHA JONES

FOLLOW ME
Voice command `DALEK' + `FOLLOW ME'
The dalek will recognise your heat signature and follow you.

IDENTIFY THE DOCTOR GAME
Voice command `DALEK' + GAME MODE'
This is to be played with one or more player sat in a circle. The dalek will spin around and stop on who it thinks is the Doctor and exterminate him.

SILENT MODE
Voice command `DALEK' + `SILENT MODE'
The dalek will be silent

SPEECH MODE
Voice command `DALEK' + `SPEAK'
The dalek will say `we are the supreme beings

OPTICAL SENSOR
Voice command `DALEK' + OPTICAL SENSOR'
The dalek's eyestalk will turn off and it will say `my vision is impaired, I cannot see'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice toy, but it needs a quiet environment, 8 Oct. 2008
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who 45cm Voice Control Supreme Dalek (Toy)
Where to start - due to my own stupidity, I didn't get the right batteries: you need four D-sized Duracell D Plus 4 pack Batteries, a 9v square ine Duracell Plus 9V x 2 Batteriesand at least 4 AA onesDuracell AA Plus 8 pack Batteries.

The day it arrived, we spent nearly 30 minutes taking it out of the box - it's got securing wires attached to specially-designed holes in the Dalek itself, which could probably restrain King Kong if he ever found himself wrongly-packed into a toy Dalek's box. So remember to get a small pair of thin wirecutters: Automatic Wire Stripper & Cutter For Single Strand & Ribbon Cable

The day after it arrived, I bought the batteries.

The day after that, I realized that I didn't have a small-enough Phillips screwdriver so had to rush out to buy oneMini Philips Screwdriver.

The day after that, I finally realized why it wasn't powering up - it was because there's a hidden (well it was to me!) battery compartment UNDER the place where the D batteries go. Yes, I really am that stupid.

But you can take this review seriously. No really. The toy works as it says, but the main problem is that the voice recognition hardware needs a quiet environment to operate within. Even then, the speaker has to be patient because he or she will have to wait for the dalek's head lights to flash, indicating that the words have been understood. This combination of room conditions is unlikely to be encountered by the normal Amazon-going parent, especially ones who have just bought his child a radio-controlled Dalek.

In a perfect world, the motors powering the wheels would be quieter - it sounds more like one of Steven Hawking's vehicles rather than a cold-blooded killing machine from the future. Nice big wheels to cope with carpets though.

The toy looks perfect - I'm no Dr. Who fanatic (a Whooie?), but it's a convincing replica - my son loves the series and I can testify to this as we went to the Dr. Who exhibition at Earl's Court - the addition of a real laser pointer for the laserbeam rather than just a light would be a great (but potentially dangerous) addition, but one that I'd think was still worth doing!!!

It's easy to steer, with a big round button to trigger a random sentence of speech. All the production budget seems to have gone on the Dalek itself, because the controller looks really cheap - one-colour black plastic where you can make out the swirls that were created as it set in the mold.

So for £50 (the price I paid) it's a great purchase. I winced slightly when my son first tore into the box, as I a) feared for the reliability of the thing in case I needed to take it back, and b) unrealistically wanted to somehow keep it in pristine condition, as I reckon this is easily going to be a classic toy for collectors in a few years' time - I don't think that many have been sold either.

So if you're able to afford to splash a pink note out for a toy, get the Dalek - you'll end up playing with it as much as the recipient. Heed my stupidity, and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My toy really..., 30 Dec. 2007
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who 45cm Voice Control Supreme Dalek (Toy)
I was brought up on a diet of Dr. Who. Unfortunately toys like this didn't exist when I was a lad. But my son seems to have developed similar interests! He is nearly four and has a black bubble bath Dalek which he takes everywhere. Had to empty out the bubble bath so he could take it on a recent flight (100ml liquid restrictions and all that). Anyway he kept going on and on about wanting a Dalek, so when the price came down to £55 in Tescos, we bought him this model. He loves it, but won't let me turn it on! He is convinced that something is living inside and although I have tried to explain that there is a little embedded computer which converts his voice into actions, he remains dubious. Still, the batteries will last until next Christmas at this rate.

The voice recognition works well to a point, but I have not had as much practice as it needs because he insists I turn it off. Build quality is ok, lights on dome drop of easily, but this is a design feature to prevent permanent damage to Dalek/child/furniture etc.

Dalek voice volume is good, better on hard surfaces as the speaker is in the base and it absorbs the sound when used on a carpet.

If placed in one of the various mode (seek, locate etc) it can get quite carried away bouncing of walls and doors. It has ultrasonic sensors in its 'neck' but not sure what it does with the information. It also has a PIR sensor which it uses to 'see' people in a room. It also has three microphones, on on the top of the dome and in opposite sides of its neck. This gives it the ability to perceive which direction a voice is coming from. The head turns and the eye looks up which is a good effect if it gets it right.

All in all like this toy. As processing power becomes cheaper and more advanced, toys like this will be more readily available. The software it uses is impressive and must have taken a large development effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun!!, 30 Nov. 2007
By 
Mr. G. J. Arnold (Rugeley) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who 45cm Voice Control Supreme Dalek (Toy)
Absolutely loving it! And I got it for £74.99 at A*g*s which makes it even better value too! It's watching me do this review right now and has just powered down as I've given it nothing to do for a few minutes. Mind you, watching me on here would send anyone to sleep!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't work properly, 16 Jan. 2008
By 
Martin Ansell "thesweeney" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who 45cm Voice Control Supreme Dalek (Toy)
I've had 2 of these now they simply don't work, the dalek responds to some commands but in a random fashion. An example would be "Dalek"; "YES" "do you recognise the Doctor?" 9no response. or "Dalek"; "YES"; "game mosde" dalek then spins in a random circle and points in a random direction, usually not at any child at all. Most other commands don't work at all the Dalek usually goes into patrol mode after a while and then becomes fixated on a table leg. A very disapointing product, I contacted the manufacturers customer service 2 weeks ago and they have yet to respond. Certainly i don't think it is worth any more than £50
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just fun..., 21 Dec. 2007
By 
Cheshire Cat (Warrington, Cheshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Doctor Who 45cm Voice Control Supreme Dalek (Toy)
This is just great fun although our cats are a little worried by the new addition to the family!

Even better, can be obtained at very low prices in certain supermarkets (£55 in Tesco at the moment) but it gives hours of fun to kids of whatever age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who 45cm Voice Control Supreme Dalek
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews