Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The TRUTH
The problems described by others with the screws is very simple to solve. Put all four screws in loosely first and then tighten them. The screw holes are slightly larger than they need to be to allow for slight discrepancies in the spacing on your drive. If you tighten any screws before all four are in place you may force one or more out of alignment.

The build...
Published on 26 Aug. 2009 by P. Harris

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks good but bad design
This consists of 4 pieces, a top and bottom metal cover and a plastic centre piece on which the interface board and drive are fitted. Fitting the metal covers is not easy. There are very very small holes in the plastic and the tiny screws have to cut their own thread into it. The holes in the plastic do not align with the holes in the metal covers.I expect that, if it was...
Published on 23 Feb. 2009 by N. Elliott


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great item, Buy a cheap one buy twice, 29 Dec. 2012
By 
Paul rookes (Newcastle upon tyne, uk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Allcam IT700 USB 2.0 2.5 inch Enclosure for SATA Hard Drive - Black (Accessory)
Excellent item, Well packaged, Boxed and simply to install the drive, Clips in quickly then snaps back shut, Very good value, Initially i purchased i enclosure that worked out at about £4 including delivery which was shocking, Never worked, badly soldiered, and was very shoddy, For a few pound more i have got something that seems very well made, study and fundamentally works, Buy cheap buy twice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Should have bought this last time, 1 April 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Wirral, Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Allcam IT700 USB 2.0 2.5 inch Enclosure for SATA Hard Drive - Black (Accessory)
I have a number of external HDDs using a variety of different caddies, so far this has been the best.

Easy to put together and secures the HDD better than some other brands I have used before. Deleivered next day which was great. I also showed my colleagues in work and they have ordered some based inspecting the unit.

Great purchase highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks good but bad design, 23 Feb. 2009
By 
N. Elliott "Linux 4 me" (Isle of Bute - Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Allcam IT700 USB 2.0 2.5 inch Enclosure for SATA Hard Drive - Black (Accessory)
This consists of 4 pieces, a top and bottom metal cover and a plastic centre piece on which the interface board and drive are fitted. Fitting the metal covers is not easy. There are very very small holes in the plastic and the tiny screws have to cut their own thread into it. The holes in the plastic do not align with the holes in the metal covers.I expect that, if it was necessary to open the case, it would not be very likely that screws could be put back in place securely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, 24 Aug. 2009
By 
Mr. A. Browne (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Allcam IT700 USB 2.0 2.5 inch Enclosure for SATA Hard Drive - Black (Accessory)
This is one of the cheapest enclosures I found.

I had upgraded my PS3 hardrive. The one I took out was a 40gb hardrive, so thought I would use it as an external drive to store and back up music and photos etc.

This product allows me to do exactly that and cause its USB, I can also plug it in to my PS3.

I have read the previous reviews about the screws not lining up, well they did fine. It took a couple of minutes to work out, that both the black upper and black lower casings come away from the middle part. It was then I located where the screws went.

The only bad point is that it tends to get hot, but that is to be expected. Ideal for what I wanted!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nearly excellent, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fragile - after using it for a couple of times, the ports are bent, the board is loose and the case is somewhat battered, so i'm not greatly impressed by the rigidity/lifespan of the device.

That said, these problems have been helpful to some extent, they give the device some malleability which is nice.
I frequently put in and take out hard drives from the case - it seems to prefer having one put in and then left in, but so far it has been working perfectly.

Overall i can recommend it, but it falls shot of being perfect - it's just that bit too fiddly and fragile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good protection and connectivity at little cost, 2 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sturdy and an excellent home for hard disc I thought was destined for bin. Now an excellent back up option and works well through Smart TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product - works on Windows 7 Pro 64 bit, 18 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Allcam IT700 USB 2.0 2.5 inch Enclosure for SATA Hard Drive - Black (Accessory)
My old enclosure would not work with Windows 7 64 bit operating system. So having read the spec for this enclose decided to try it with existing 340 GB SATA drive. The unit arrived promptly with USB lead, slip case, screwdriver and instructions to fit the drive. My 340 GB SATA drive was fitted easily as per instructions. Works well and fast with Windows 7 64 bit HP laptop. Looks good too with nice protective case to prevent scratches. Great product, great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for the price., 12 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not too fiddly to assemble and seemingly well made for this price. The write speed is good on USB2.0, not tried it on USB3 yet, perfect for converting an old laptop hdd into a portable drive. No power supply required, the 120gb drive I used is able to run from USB power alone, the cable provided does have two USB connectors on though so you can take power from two USB sockets for more power hungry drives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars and pretty useless unless you want to put the drive a ..., 28 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The build quality is very cheap, and the connector actually almost hinges when you try to add the hard drive in. The cable supplied is too short, extremely tight fitting, and pretty useless unless you want to put the drive a few inches from your computer (which you might not want to, due to vibration noises).

Having said that it works fine, so if you want a cheap casing it does the job fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very cheap, looks great., 13 Feb. 2010
By 
David Hammond (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Allcam IT700 USB 2.0 2.5 inch Enclosure for SATA Hard Drive - Black (Accessory)
Very pleased with this, especially for the price. The top and bottom sections clip together nice and firmly. Took me all of 30 seconds to get a drive installed and running.

As for the screws being awkward... I simply didn't bother with them. The drive fits in the caddy so snugly, and there's no vibration in operation. So, really didn't seem any point, as they don't make the drive any more secure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews