Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars confused
Top quality searies
the first fing that confused me was the disk numbering
disk 1 to disk 5 for season 1
volume 2 to volume 7 for season 2
then volume 8 onwards for the other seasons
what confused me was where was volume 1
thought that was a missing disk with the
episodes "1969" and "Out of mind" (seasons 2 episodes 21 and 22)
(what...
Published on 22 Dec 2007 by N. Horton

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars BE WARNED!!
For your 150 to 200 you get a pile of old dvd's taken from their original packaging and wedged into the cheapest, nastiest cardboard sleeve you can imagine!( I refer of course to all the unsold four episode 'volumes')nothing new,nothing re-mastered just re-packaged!)The sleeves scratch the discs,and are such a tight fit you cannot remove them without touching the silver...
Published on 25 Dec 2007 by Bill


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars Check the set you received VERY carefully for missing discs, 11 July 2008
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Series 1-10 - Complete [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this back in March, and at the time counted the discs to make sure they were all there. It looked like they were.

While watching my way through the set, I was _extremely_ disappointed to find that in actual fact the set was _not_ complete.
Volume 35 was missing and two copies of volume 36 had been included.

Please, anyone who has bought this, go and check each disc carefully! Make sure you actually got what you paid for. I'm currently waiting for amazon's response regarding this matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Top class series low class box set presentation :-(, 10 Dec 2007
By 
C. Trenam "Carl T" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Series 1-10 - Complete [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Stargate has to be one of the best shows of all time and the presentation box does not do it justice. The exterior box looks really nice but inside you get 2 cheap looking book things that pull out and can be a bit confusing to find what disk you want.

The disks are held in cardboard sleeves which I hate and I think are cheap. I sold my old box sets to pre ordered this which I now deeply regret. Stargate is excellent, i recommend to series to all shame about the box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars STARGATE BOXSET, 21 Mar 2009
THE BOX ITELF IS QUITE NICE. UNTIL YOU OPEN IT AND IT BECOMES QUITE OBVIOUS THAT ITS A BOOTLEG. ALL THE DISKS ARE CRAMMED INTO PLASIC SLEEVES AND THEN INTO SLOTS IN A CASE. I DONT MIND MYSELF AS I WANTED ALL THE SEASONS AND THIS BOXSET IS AT LEAST 40 CHEAPER THAN ANY OF THE OTHERS. IN COMPARISON ITS QUITE A BARGAIN AS LONG AS YOU DONT REQUIRE ANY OF THE BOXES SLEEVES OR INLAYS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Box Set, But why can't Amazon send me an undamadged copy?, 7 Feb 2008
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Series 1-10 - Complete [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Great set. But Lousy service from Amazon, i have ordered, returned, recievd a replacement, and returned my replacement for a refund due to receiveing defective disks. when refunded Amazon had both box sets back but didn't procces either i had to chace up why my refund wasn't forthcomming and eventually got it back.

I took a chance and reordered the set fresh, only to find that the same fault - episodes unplayable - is happening on on disk in every season. is thos a production or ackaging problem. i have no returned for a refund and will be ordering from Play.com when it becomes available there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Seriously disappointed, 23 Nov 2011
I bought this product for my childs christmas. The product information stated region 2. This product IS REGION 1 NOT 2. Please be very aware of this before buying. I would not recommend buying this product to anyone due to the false advertising.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC BOXSET !!!!!!!!!, 4 Mar 2009
I am a bit of a collector with stargate boxset & this is the 4th one I own.
I have to say this is the best boxset yet by a long way. A+++++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars WARNING THESE BOXES ARE FAKE!, 4 July 2008
By 
R. Scrivener (Northampton, Northamptonshire, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
THESE FAKE BOX SETS ARE FOR SALE EVERYWHERE. THE MORE OBSERVANT AMONG YOU WILL NOTICE THAT THE ATLANTIS GATE IS ON THE FRONT OF THE BOX.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Four Greatest TV Series Ever Made...BUT!!!, 20 April 2008
As the title states, it's my opinion that `Stargate SG-1' was one of the four greatest television programmes ever made. Because unlike its illegitimate offspring `Stargate Atlantis,' SG-1 was that rarest of Television jewels; a science-fiction series with depth, soul, originality, intelligence, emotion, wonderful writing, great acting, and which didn't rely on action and CGI to hold the viewers' interest.

In fact, whilst some science-fiction fans attempt to ridicule the first series' low budget special effects, I applaud them as being realistic and point out that the stories are truly excellent, regardless of the lack of CGI.

If you are looking for an engrossing, thrilling and intelligent story that lasts for eight whole series, which is followed by a second story which lasts for two more, then this is almost definitely for you. And the mere fact that the `Powers That Be' didn't cancel SG-1 after two or three series to make way for high-budget schlock proves that we are hungry for this kind of in-depth and original story telling.

THE BEST BITS:

First of all, the Goa'uld are almost certainly the most original villains of any science fiction series ever made; villains who were most memorably brought to life by the actors who played Apophis, Chronus, Lord Yu, Baal and Moloch.

Furthermore, the simple fact that there were so many Goa'uld meant that unlike the replicators, the Ori, the Wraith and countless other `villains,' the writers didn't have to avoid killing them off for fear that it would end the programme.

Secondly, although he very rarely said anything, the Character of Teal'c brought SG-1 to life and had the most memorable lines in the entire series:

"Many have said that, but you are the first who I believed could do it!"

"For our father."

And of course, the epoch making line,

"Tal Shaka Mell! I Die Free!"

The episodes written by Christopher Judge (the actor who played Teal'c) are amongst the best of the series, but please do not assume from this that he alone carried the story.

Dr Daniel Jackson was SG-1's conscience, the only member of the team who wasn't a soldier or a warrior and who always viewed violence as the last resort.

In the episodes `Scorched Earth' and `Enemy Mine' when the soldiers' insisted that violence was the solution, he risked his own life to ensure that reason and diplomacy saved the day. And in the episode `Cor-ai,' one of the best episodes of series one, he and Teal'c both shared the spotlight whilst arguing the complex ethical issues that arose when Teal'c was convicted of murder.

`The First Commandment' was another wonderful episode which helped to explain how the Goa'uld, a race of parasites with stolen technology could have come to view themselves as Gods. Because believing the insane Airforce Captain's weapons to be supernatural power, a race of humans on a primitive planet believe that he is a God. And growing drunk on the power and worship that they offer him, the Captain also starts to believe that he is one as well.

Moving back to the characters and storylines however, I also believe that the `Tok'ra' in this series deserved an Emmy in their own right. Because although they were of the same species as the Goa'uld and shared the same genetic memory, the Tok'ra simply refused to be evil.

Instead, they chose to sacrifice their own lives in their ongoing war to overthrow the Goa'uld. And whilst the Asgard were prevented from destroying the Goa'uld because they were battling the replicators, (and besides, the moment that the Goa'uld were defeated then the story would be over) they were also true heroes who deserved our love and respect.

There are so many wonderful episodes of SG-1 and so many great storylines that it would be almost impossible for me to list all of them here.

Even after the defeat of the Goa'uld and the departure of O'Neill at the end of series eight, the SG-1 writers still managed to create new characters, a new enemy and a new storyline that were all at least as good as the originals. But no matter how good a series might be however, there are always going to be some things which you truly cannot help but despise.

THE WORST BITS:

As with any science fiction series, there are many episodes of SG-1 which you only need to watch once; the half-baked, clichéd, filler material that doesn't add anything to the overall story and which can easily be forgotten. But whilst I can forgive the writers, actors and directors for taking the occasional breather, there are several episodes which are so atrocious that the very thought of watching them makes me want to smash the Television!

The 100th and 200th episodes of SG-1 are both unmitigated rubbish; a self-indulgent opportunity for the writers, actors and producers to cheer the fact that they'd reached these magic numbers. But considering that a US series can be syndicated once it has 100 episodes in the can, earning hundreds of millions of dollars for the companies and money-men involved, I don't think it's coincidence that the number of rubbish and filler episodes began to grow after series five.

Despite the `Death' of Daniel Jackson at the end of series five however, series six of SG-1 was actually pretty okay.

Dr Jackson's replacement Jonas Quinn was fairly good as the smiling rookie. His character development gave the writers a little more material to work with, and Dr Jackson's special appearances as an `Ascended Being' kept us going until he was returned to human form at the beginning of series seven. But of course, in spite of Dr Jackson's glorious return, I'm sad to say this was also the point when the real `filling' began.

Episodes 13, 14 and 15 of series seven were an offensive waste of time. The two-part episode `Heroes' was just as bad, and `Inauguration' was yet another bleeding clip-show. But to top it all off, `Resurrection' has got to be the worst episode ever made!

Never mind the fact that the story is a shameless rip-off of `Alien Resurrection,' the clichés are SO blatant (they even resurrected the old Nazi stereotypes for God's sake) and the script is SO one-dimensional that I can hardly believe I watched it at all.

We were supposed to feel sympathy for the genetically engineered girl. But by the end, I was just glad that she was dead so that I could get on with my life!

Believe it or not, series eight, nine and ten of SG-1 have even more rubbish and filler episodes than series seven. And after the defeat of the Goa'uld and the replicators, the last three episodes of series eight were just designed to kill time until the next series of `Atlantis.' But even throughout the episodes which I love with all my heart, there are several storylines and character traits that still fill me with rage.

At the very top of this list of course, it has got to be the bigotry of Colonel Jack O'Neill; not just towards the Russians and to people he doesn't know, but especially towards the Tok'ra because he believes that `A Snake is a Snake.'

The plot scenario in `Abyss' for example was based upon the flimsy premise that a Tok'ra symbiote had stolen O'Neill's body and then abandoned him when he was captured. In fact, the symbiote had committed this crime to try and save the woman he loved and then sacrificed himself to protect the secrets of the Tok'ra. But for the rest of the series, O'Neill clings to this experience as `proof' that the Tok'ra are just as bad as the Goa'uld.

"Canaan has fought the Goa'uld longer than any of you have lived, and yet you spit the word `Symbiote' as though you spoke of vermin."

Sometimes whilst I'm watching SG-1, I physically have to hold my nose because the stench of bigotry emanating from the Television is just too much for me to bare. And during the episode `Memento' when O'Neill was supposed to be diplomatic, I still find it hilarious that the writers needed to make his adversary even more bigoted by comparison.

Although it only lasted until the 13th episode of series one however, Captain Carter's `Feminist' character trait also makes me grind my teeth; accusing O'Neill of sexism when in fact he just doesn't like anyone who he doesn't already know.

After the episode `Hathor' of course, Carter's gender was never raised as an issue because it was utterly irrelevant. But the one storyline that makes me want to scream has got to be the immortal NID.

Having first been introduced as a rival military organisation who wanted to acquire technology at any cost; a group of unethical megalomaniacs who behaved much more like the US military that we all know and revile, SG-1 exposed their operations, but the organisation survived. They exposed their operations again, but the organisation survived again.

Even at the end of series 10, an NID Shadow Group called `The Trust,' was still alive and kicking under Goa'uld control. But for God's sake! This was supposed to be a science fiction series, not a remake of the bleeding X-Files!

The Episodes in which SG-1 battled `The Lucian Alliance' in series nine and ten were also a total waste of time. The Galaxy was being invaded by the Ori, and yet we were supposed to give a damn about a group of mercenaries and smugglers who controlled most of the galaxy's black market?

But whilst these storylines were 100% pure filler, I will always reserve a special place in Hell for the Nox, the Tolans and the Ancients; the three unbelievably advanced races who just sat back and watched the slaughter.

In each case, these three races were driven by their own arrogance, hypocrisy and smug self-satisfaction, believing that as well as being technologically advanced, they had also developed to the point where they could decide who lived and died; declaring that the slaughter and enslavement of millions had `nothing to do with them.'

As I've already mentioned, the Asgard were prevented from destroying the Goa'uld by their ongoing war with the replicators. But although these three other races had the power to eliminate the Goa'uld with a wave of their hands, doing so would have ended the series, and so the writers cooked up some infuriating guff about `Non-Interference' and the belief that the Goa'uld also had the right to live.

As if to prove their self-serving hypocrisy however, when faced with a Goa'uld mother ship which was immune to their technology, the Tolan government agreed to build weapons for the Goa'uld to use against other worlds. And having first attempted to portray the Ancients as `Angels;' beings of pure good who we should all worship as Gods, by the end of series eight we also knew the truth

The Ancients were an arrogant race of hypocrites who didn't flinch from allowing a malevolent creature to enslave and slaughter hundreds of millions of innocent people, simply to punish one of their own who was breaking their petty little rules. And when the Ancient in question finally steps in to stop the malevolent being (which she created) from annihilating all life in the Galaxy, all you can say is `IT'S ABOUT BLEEDING TIME!!!'

And finally, whilst it is more of a philosophy than a storyline, I do feel the need to point out my hatred for the fact that `The general public could never know the truth about the Stargate because it would incite anarchy.'

Leaving aside the insane conspiracy theorists who believe that something like this is actually happening, the writers knew that if the truth was ever revealed to the general public in the series, it would shatter `the fourth wall,' dispelling the illusion that it was really happening and distancing the viewers from the programme.

Think about it. Part of the joy of watching science fiction is either pretending that it's really happening or imagining that it will happen one day. But instead of just ignoring the whole issue of whether the public would ever learn about it or not, SG-1 has devoted two whole episodes to the idea that `The truth would destroy the world.'

In `Covenant,' (another bleeding NID episode) a `Richard Branson' character tries to reveal the truth about the Stargate and life on other planets but is utterly destroyed for his trouble. And as the final insult to our intelligence because she is the heroine, instead of shooting him in the head as a `National Security Risk,' Carter bottles out at the last minute and offers him a new life through the Stargate. And in `The Road Not Taken,' Carter is transported to an alternate reality in which, yes, you've guessed it, `The truth about the Stargate has incited anarchy, and an oppressive government is struggling to maintain order.'

In spite of this myriad of flaws, mistakes and crimes against the viewing public however, I still stand by my original statement that this is one of the four greatest Television series ever made.

I have been watching the programme on an almost perpetual loop since I bought the first six series back in 2003. Stargate Atlantis, the cash-in carbon copy isn't fit to be mentioned in the same sentence. And whenever I'm stuck thinking about an atrocious episode or an infuriating storyline, I just have to remember that immortal quote;

"Tal Shaka Mell! I Die Free!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars reason for dodgy disk numbers, 20 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Series 1-10 - Complete [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
the reason why the disks are number weirdly at the start is due to when it was first released on DVD they did disk 1 with the season 1 opener and the end episode on the same disk with another episode on there for good measure. so when season 2 was released with all the episodes it started of from disk 2. after that the whole of the first season was released and thats what messed the numbering up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Confused, 10 Dec 2007
By 
This review is from: Stargate SG-1 - Series 1-10 - Complete [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Can someone help me?

I'm getting all sorts of mixed messages about this. Some are saying the cardboard is making this look cheap. I've heard elsewhere that certain episodes like '1969' are missing. Are there subtitles? I need to know these questions before I buy it, which I am about to do.

I'd be grateful for any help. Like others, I refrained from buying the box sets because I wanted the complete set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stargate SG-1 - Series 1-10 - Complete [2007] [DVD]
Stargate SG-1 - Series 1-10 - Complete [2007] [DVD] by Richard Dean Anderson (DVD - 2007)
Used & New from: 120.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews