Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars307
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.21+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 October 2008
Simpsons: Season One (REGION 1) (NTSC)

The whole thing is a mixture of different parodies with fans of Disney & Independence Day getting the needle . There is the usual raucous blend of satire & social comment coupled with madcap slapstick . All our favorite characters are present in this mickey being taken out of conspiracy films left , right and center . As per usual Homer causes mayhem - only now on a bigger scale than is normally the case . There is a good strong moral about not harming the Eco-system through ones own selfishness while the political class comes in for the type of razor sharp critique that Rory Bremner would be proud to call his own . The conflict between love of family & the need for civic duty is touchingly & effectively covered in this film . I am sure that many people long for the sequel !

You can certainly watch this movie on two levels - either as a child laughing at the cartoon type silliness or as an adult enjoying the mockery being doled out to those in high places . It is a feel good spin off from a successful & long running series that is great and knows it . The editing & writing is inspired as is the casting . Amazon are offering it at a great price. So there are certainly worse ways to pass the time than picking up your duff n donuts and having a few laughs with the best purveyors of cinematic parody since the Carry On series proper ended in 1978 . Like the Carry On's The Simpsons are a long running comedy series that know how to get laughs from many subjects and are in many ways historical sources as they betray the attitudes that where popular when they where made . So don't delay - buy from Amazon today !
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 November 2015
The Simpsons movie should not work because we’re all used to episodes lasting about 23 minutes, by 2007 the show was already starting to lose its edge and familiarity breeds contempt. When I first heard it was coming I and many critics expected a disaster. Well how wrong we all were. The Simpsons Movie is one of the funniest films ever made.

When Springfield is announced as the most polluted city in America, drastic measures are cooked up by Russ Cargill (Albert Brooks) and President Schwarzenegger (Harry Shearer) to deal with the crisis. It’s up to Homer and the clan to try and save the day, even though it was Homer who is secretly to blame for the cities ills and the measures being taken to contain the threat. Most of Springfield’s’ residents are in evidence from Itchy and Scratchy to Bumble Bee Man and take part in a tale personal responsibility, something Homer knows little about. Spider Pig and Homer’s little song about him used in the trailers is very funny and probably doubled worldwide ticket sales on its own. Look it up on You Tube. Taking a shed load of money at the box office it proved very popular all over the world with audiences and critics alike.

Best line in the movie by some margin is expressed by an under pressure President Schwarzenegger to Russ Cargill head of The Environment Agency during a tense crisis meeting about Springfield “Crisis this, Crisis that, why doesn’t anybody open with a song, I miss Danny DeVito”

Inspired stuff and right up there with the best ever episodes!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2008
I really enjoyed this. Especially since I saw the film in the cinema and I wanted to watch it again with the subtitle to try and catch some of the jokes I missed. And I still missed some. As many people have pointed out this is really an overlong TV episode. It's strength is vignette/sketches based around the characters we already know and love, like Maggie being the quiet hero to rescue her daddy. The fact that it's an overlong TV episode is a weakness since it struggles to carry the story for 90 mins.

Having said that, I loved watching it again. Don't forget to watch the extras which are a treat, especially Simon Cowell doing American Idol!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
Great, great movie!

When it was announced, I was worried it would ruin the legendary cartoon series that is The Simpsons, so decided not to watch. Until now, It hasn't disappointed me at all. Hilarious scenes from Homer, Marge, Bart, Lisa, Maggie.

It seemed like all of Springfield made at least one appearance, as well as some new, non-cannon characters such as a love interest named Colin, for Lisa.

The storyline is solid, unpredictable and the way it has been left was genius. Any more, or any less would have put me off. So glad there is no sequel, although it is hinted at the end.

Very pleased!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
the movie based on long running cartoon the simpsons comes to dvd. running for eighty minutes, this feels like a very long episode. the plot involves homer trying to save the town after having doomed it to destruction. the pace is fast enough such that there's always another funny moment coming along, and pretty much all the characters get to make an appearance. the focus is primarily on the simpsons themselves so the supporting characters don't get too much of a look in. Maybe it's not the greatest movie ever made, but it's still funny enough to warrant five stars from me.

The dvd isn't the big package of extras you might have expected.

The extras come in four sections. a main section offers two commentaries, one from the writers, producers and some of the actors, and another from the animators. this menu will also let you access the following three sections:

deleted scenes, featuring six scenes that didn't make the final cut of the movie. they're all quite funny.

special stuff. four short films that may not mean much to british viewers, as they centre round a few american things. one has homer as guest host on an american chat show. one has him hosting the american version of pop idol. one has him as a judge on this, judging simon cowell's singing [very funny scene!] and one has him in a parody of an advert for food that used to be played a lot in american cinemas.

the trailers section offers five different trailers for the movie that ran over the past year and a bit in cinemas.

Watching this on a PC and moving the pointer over the top wording in each of these sections activated an easter egg for each, each showing production drawings for one of the characters. and if you go the set up menu, accessed via the main menu, click on the left side to bring up a spoof trailer for TDK sound. Doubtless moving the controls round on a dvd player may bring these up if you can't see them on a computer.

Not the best package for the movie, but a fun enough film for this to warrant five stars
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2008
I expected it to be funny, satirical, irreverent, silly, like an extended TV episode, with flashes of brilliance, and above all hugely enjoyable. And that's what it was. Bart's naked skateboard ride is a classic.

I can't understand how anyone who liked the lovely yellow family on the small screen can give this a bad review. True, many of the established Springfield regulars are missing, but you can't have everything. If you're a fan of the Simpsons, this is a gem. There are second hand copies going cheap now, so buy......you won't regret it!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2014
Right at the beginning Homer is at the movies and asks the question everyone asks at some point, why pay for something you've watched for free, well, it hasn't done Star Trek any harm whatsoever, in a way it's like watching three back to back episodes and to be fair it's laugh out loud funny several times, as well as have a "wry grin on the face" at other times, I don't knwo I'd pay thirty or forty quid to see it, coutning in ice creams, drinks, etc but most definitely worth buying the DVD.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 December 2008
I think this movie is AMAZING!! because it has everything you want...
Spider pig, New characters!
Well worth waiting for!
review image review image review image review image
11 comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2008
As long as you don't have expectations as high as the super simpsons fans i.e. nerdy fans. then you should love this movie it is just as good if not bigger better and funnier than the tv series. It's not an iconic movie of our time but it is fantastic, with a good storyline in-line with what we've all come to expect from the simpsons creators, and laughs all the way through, somehow they manage to keep the audience's attention from start to finish, as if it was just a half an hour episode but they manage to achieve this in a feature length movie format. As a huge simpsons fan I don't believe this could have been any better, it's a movie that everyone can enjoy.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2012
"The Simpsons Movie" DVD is a really good movie, and not a bad movie to watch, especially if you're a fan of "The Simpsons" as well. I watched it a couple of nights ago and the person who viewed it with me rather enjoyed it! The movie is worth watching again and you'll like it for the all of the humorous parts in its storyline. And if you're a long-time fan of the series itself, you should enjoy it! If you don't have the DVD, buy it and enjoy it! Not a bad movie at all! If you're unsure whether you want to get the DVD, ask a friend who also likes The Simpsons, and ask for their opinion about "The Simpsons Movie". You may want to get it after all!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£34.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.