Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For what it is, very good
I bought this on the off chance and it turned out to be a very flexible miniature tripod. It is a little larger than I anticipated, but still fairly compact.

The instructions are useless and it took me a little while to discover its curiously good features.

- To lock and unlock the extending legs, twist clockwise until they click.
- To unlock...
Published on 28 Feb 2009 by NigelLH

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The idea is brilliant with the worst construction quality ever!!!
A bought this tripod to take it on a snow trip and carry it with me during the day.
The 3D metal sphere lasted one day! After that it wouldn't stay fixed, so i removed the 3D sphere part and used the camera (a small light camera) directly on the tube screw.
Next day, while extending and locking the tube, it made a "crack" sound. Apparently its not supposed to be...
Published on 29 Mar 2011 by tchico


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For what it is, very good, 28 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Table-Top Tripod with Removable Telescopic Tube (Accessory)
I bought this on the off chance and it turned out to be a very flexible miniature tripod. It is a little larger than I anticipated, but still fairly compact.

The instructions are useless and it took me a little while to discover its curiously good features.

- To lock and unlock the extending legs, twist clockwise until they click.
- To unlock the extending foam covered 'hand grip'/extender, twist each section anti-clockwise. Can be done in one move for all three sections it extends by
- Twist it clockwise to lock it
- At the top of the tripod legs is a large screw that is knurled and about 3cm in diameter. Unscrewing (anticlockwise) this allows the legs to spread further. Screwing it clockwise reduces the spread of the legs
- The camera can mount directly on the tripod legs without the head, but you lose some of the angle control by not taking it from the telescopic handle and putting that on the leg section

All in all pretty good for a pocket tripod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Qick Fix Mic Stand, 31 May 2009
By 
Mr. Simon Burgess "Music Aware" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Table-Top Tripod with Removable Telescopic Tube (Accessory)
An excellent product for quick recording. I've used it a number of times as a teacher for recording music in class on the spur of the moment. It takes about 2 minutes for me to screw my digital recorder (Zoom H2) to the base or extended arm and set up ready to record. The only down side to it is that at full extension of legs and arm it is slightly unstable. It is also light-weight so I don't recommend using anything heavier than my recording device. The plus side is the variety of things it can be used for. A definite recommend for quick and easy general work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic value small-camera tripod!, 17 Feb 2012
By 
Peter Owen (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Table-Top Tripod with Removable Telescopic Tube (Accessory)
I bought this to take with me on a snowboarding holiday. I've also got a decent-size tripod (too big and bulky to take away) and a Joby mini gorillapod (good but not versatile enough). I wanted something to hold my ContourGPS for various shots.

This little tripod is superb. It's well-constructed and is basically in three parts: a tripod with extendable legs and an adjuster ring to hold the legs at a set width, a hand-held monopod which extends and locks easily and has a foam grip section, and a ball-joint head unit. Each of the three units has a standard-threaded screw on the top, so you can combine them as you like.

I used the tripod alone, legs wide and low and taped to a car dashboard, for a time-lapse journey shot. With the ball head on top we used it for static shots filming at the side of a jump; I used the monopod, extended, with the ball head, for "self-shooting", pointed at my face while snowboarding. And with all three units screwed together, tripod legs and monopod extended fully, the whole setup reaches over a metre high so was setup on a table to film a room at around head-height. The tripod was stable and sturdy each time.

The only criticisms I can think of are _very_ minor ones. For some reason the domed ring section under the screw thread of the tripod occasionally came loose; this wasn't a problem as it pressed back into place. Also, I'd be wary of mounting heavy cameras like dSLRs on the ball head; the rest of the tripod seems sturdy enough but I'd guess you'd have to tighten the fixing screw on the ball head very tight to hold a heavy camera in place, which could give durability problems. As we only used mini POV cameras and a Canon Powershot-style camera, this wasn't a problem.

I've given this tripod five stars because it's not only well thought-out and well-made, making it very versatile, but at not much over 10 it's incredible value. I would have been happy to pay 30-40 if I'd known how good it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing quality. A little on the heavy/big/bulky side., 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Table-Top Tripod with Removable Telescopic Tube (Accessory)
Pros:
- The quality seems really amazing.
- Very sturdy, not flimsy
- Great grip

Cons:
- A little heavy for casual users
- A little bulky for casual users
- Not really a con, but to screw your camera you have to spin the whole thing or the camera. Some cheaper models come with a free spining wheel that is the only thing you have to spin. Don't know why this great model doesn't have that.

Bottom Line:
For starters, I'm not a photographer or anything of the sort. I just wanted something to hold my camera when going out or to be able to take self portrait photos.
Since I just use this casually and wanted something to just carry everywhere, this feels kind of on the big side and a little heavy. So if you want something really small and light this is not it.
Anyway, the product is awesome. The quality is so good that I would recommend and buy again despite the minor things I didn't like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hama Table top tripod, 2 Jan 2011
This review is from: Hama Table-Top Tripod with Removable Telescopic Tube (Accessory)
Very useful item as described. Very sturdy at lower level. Not so sturdy with telescopic tube attached when fully extended, you would have to use a lighter weight item when at the higher level. This item is great for what we wanted it for though which was for a hand held digital recorder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great tripod, 27 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Table-Top Tripod with Removable Telescopic Tube (Accessory)
A brilliant tripod for the money. It's sturdy and well designed and extends to a good size when erected. The camera can be mounted directly on the tripod without the extender and the pivoting mount at the top can be unscrewed too. If you bought two, you could even screw the extended part to a second one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The idea is brilliant with the worst construction quality ever!!!, 29 Mar 2011
This review is from: Hama Table-Top Tripod with Removable Telescopic Tube (Accessory)
A bought this tripod to take it on a snow trip and carry it with me during the day.
The 3D metal sphere lasted one day! After that it wouldn't stay fixed, so i removed the 3D sphere part and used the camera (a small light camera) directly on the tube screw.
Next day, while extending and locking the tube, it made a "crack" sound. Apparently its not supposed to be used with regular locking strength because it's so fragile! It never locked properly since.

When I came back home, I used it one more time with the base tripod part attached. Then the bottom of the tube got unglued from the foam part. Well, it's an important part of the tripod, because from there on it completely fell apart into pieces.

The only part that is still intact is the tripod. The tube is trashed.

Note: I'm a careful guy when it comes to photo/recording equipment. I just wanted a small tripod + tube that wouldn't auto-destroy with regular use in such a short period of time.

I now feel that i should have purchased a better and more expensive tripod in the same category. Will think twice before buying from hama again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value, 28 Dec 2012
By 
Alan Gates "hawkeye" (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Table-Top Tripod with Removable Telescopic Tube (Accessory)
For the money this is truly excellent value. Strong construction not cheap flimsy plastic both these products give the feel of quality for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite a useful tripod, 31 Aug 2010
This review is from: Hama Table-Top Tripod with Removable Telescopic Tube (Accessory)
After reading some previous reviews about others being unable to extend the tripod I was reluctant to buy but in the end took the plunge. I found the pieces easy to put together. You have to get the knack to twist and pull to extend the middle section and set the legs. A few tries to practise putting it up and it becomes a smart little stand. Ok for on a desk and out and about on the ground for low shots. Lightweight and so not for heavy gear but I found it ok for mini disk camcorder and Fuji 1800 camera. Price is what it is worth, not cheap and not expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy packable tripod, 2 Sep 2013
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Table-Top Tripod with Removable Telescopic Tube (Accessory)
Not something I would recommend for a heavy DSLR, but certainly a must for lighter digital cameras with standard tripod screw hole - no idea what the technical term is!

Tripod legs simply pull out and self lock into place, then firm push to close up again. A collar above the legs adjusts the spread width of the legs. The telescopic tube can be attached to the tripod to add some height and you have a funky looking tripod which is fairly stable.

The telescopic tube takes a little getting used to (twist and pull to extend, twist again to lock). The camera screw plate can be angled to look down the tube, so you can hold it whist having the camera looking at you. Great for pictures of couples where you don't have a 3rd person to take the picture for you (timer needed). Also good if you need to add some height to your camera to get above a crowd- again with timer

Lightweight and doesn't take up a great deal of space in a bag. I bought this when it was 10GBP which I thought was a bargain. The current price of nearly 13GBP is still a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xacf0f6c0)

This product

Hama Table-Top Tripod with Removable Telescopic Tube
16.39
In stock but may require up to 2 additional days to deliver
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews