Customer Reviews


138 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For what it is, very good
I bought this on the off chance and it turned out to be a very flexible miniature tripod. It is a little larger than I anticipated, but still fairly compact.

The instructions are useless and it took me a little while to discover its curiously good features.

- To lock and unlock the extending legs, twist clockwise until they click.
- To unlock...
Published on 28 Feb 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The idea is brilliant with the worst construction quality ever!!!
A bought this tripod to take it on a snow trip and carry it with me during the day.
The 3D metal sphere lasted one day! After that it wouldn't stay fixed, so i removed the 3D sphere part and used the camera (a small light camera) directly on the tube screw.
Next day, while extending and locking the tube, it made a "crack" sound. Apparently its not supposed to be...
Published on 29 Mar 2011 by tchico


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars For what it is, very good, 28 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Table-Top Tripod with Removable Telescopic Tube (Accessory)
I bought this on the off chance and it turned out to be a very flexible miniature tripod. It is a little larger than I anticipated, but still fairly compact.

The instructions are useless and it took me a little while to discover its curiously good features.

- To lock and unlock the extending legs, twist clockwise until they click.
- To unlock the extending foam covered 'hand grip'/extender, twist each section anti-clockwise. Can be done in one move for all three sections it extends by
- Twist it clockwise to lock it
- At the top of the tripod legs is a large screw that is knurled and about 3cm in diameter. Unscrewing (anticlockwise) this allows the legs to spread further. Screwing it clockwise reduces the spread of the legs
- The camera can mount directly on the tripod legs without the head, but you lose some of the angle control by not taking it from the telescopic handle and putting that on the leg section

All in all pretty good for a pocket tripod.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Qick Fix Mic Stand, 31 May 2009
By 
Mr. Simon Burgess "Music Aware" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Table-Top Tripod with Removable Telescopic Tube (Accessory)
An excellent product for quick recording. I've used it a number of times as a teacher for recording music in class on the spur of the moment. It takes about 2 minutes for me to screw my digital recorder (Zoom H2) to the base or extended arm and set up ready to record. The only down side to it is that at full extension of legs and arm it is slightly unstable. It is also light-weight so I don't recommend using anything heavier than my recording device. The plus side is the variety of things it can be used for. A definite recommend for quick and easy general work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic value small-camera tripod!, 17 Feb 2012
By 
Peter Owen (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Table-Top Tripod with Removable Telescopic Tube (Accessory)
I bought this to take with me on a snowboarding holiday. I've also got a decent-size tripod (too big and bulky to take away) and a Joby mini gorillapod (good but not versatile enough). I wanted something to hold my ContourGPS for various shots.

This little tripod is superb. It's well-constructed and is basically in three parts: a tripod with extendable legs and an adjuster ring to hold the legs at a set width, a hand-held monopod which extends and locks easily and has a foam grip section, and a ball-joint head unit. Each of the three units has a standard-threaded screw on the top, so you can combine them as you like.

I used the tripod alone, legs wide and low and taped to a car dashboard, for a time-lapse journey shot. With the ball head on top we used it for static shots filming at the side of a jump; I used the monopod, extended, with the ball head, for "self-shooting", pointed at my face while snowboarding. And with all three units screwed together, tripod legs and monopod extended fully, the whole setup reaches over a metre high so was setup on a table to film a room at around head-height. The tripod was stable and sturdy each time.

The only criticisms I can think of are _very_ minor ones. For some reason the domed ring section under the screw thread of the tripod occasionally came loose; this wasn't a problem as it pressed back into place. Also, I'd be wary of mounting heavy cameras like dSLRs on the ball head; the rest of the tripod seems sturdy enough but I'd guess you'd have to tighten the fixing screw on the ball head very tight to hold a heavy camera in place, which could give durability problems. As we only used mini POV cameras and a Canon Powershot-style camera, this wasn't a problem.

I've given this tripod five stars because it's not only well thought-out and well-made, making it very versatile, but at not much over £10 it's incredible value. I would have been happy to pay £30-40 if I'd known how good it was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 3 Oct 2012
This review is from: Hama Table-Top Tripod with Removable Telescopic Tube (Accessory)
I read some reviews and was prepared for disappointment. It's good! Small enough to carry in a pocket, and offers new photo opportunities with a 3 feet lightweight extension for your arm. Quick to extend and lock, it takes a while to understand how the legs unlock, just play with it patiently for a while. If you like mechanical devices you'll appreciate it. Obviously too limp wristed to hold an SLR, it's fine for a compact.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 9 Jan 2013
By 
M. Rockport - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Table-Top Tripod with Removable Telescopic Tube (Accessory)
Bought this to mount an Edirol R09HR digital recorder on... and for that purpose, it's excellent (and considerably better quality than the tiny plastic Edirol-branded one that I got which lasted all of literally two days).

Generally, it feels pretty solid and of decent quality... with the exception of anything on it that 'telescopes' (main monopod/extender tube and the legs) which feel a little bit scratchy and loose in operation, but they all do up tight enough so not a real issue. The ball joint also feels reasonably solid but has quite a small wing-bolt to tighten it up with... and you do get the feeling that you shouldn't give it too much work to do.

Probably worth noting that it comes with absolutely no instructions... but is easy enough to figure out.

All in all, a versatile mini tripod (for light duties I'd suggest) and excellent value. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The idea is brilliant with the worst construction quality ever!!!, 29 Mar 2011
This review is from: Hama Table-Top Tripod with Removable Telescopic Tube (Accessory)
A bought this tripod to take it on a snow trip and carry it with me during the day.
The 3D metal sphere lasted one day! After that it wouldn't stay fixed, so i removed the 3D sphere part and used the camera (a small light camera) directly on the tube screw.
Next day, while extending and locking the tube, it made a "crack" sound. Apparently its not supposed to be used with regular locking strength because it's so fragile! It never locked properly since.

When I came back home, I used it one more time with the base tripod part attached. Then the bottom of the tube got unglued from the foam part. Well, it's an important part of the tripod, because from there on it completely fell apart into pieces.

The only part that is still intact is the tripod. The tube is trashed.

Note: I'm a careful guy when it comes to photo/recording equipment. I just wanted a small tripod + tube that wouldn't auto-destroy with regular use in such a short period of time.

I now feel that i should have purchased a better and more expensive tripod in the same category. Will think twice before buying from hama again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Handy packable tripod, 2 Sep 2013
By 
SBno1 - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Table-Top Tripod with Removable Telescopic Tube (Accessory)
Not something I would recommend for a heavy DSLR, but certainly a must for lighter digital cameras with standard tripod screw hole - no idea what the technical term is!

Tripod legs simply pull out and self lock into place, then firm push to close up again. A collar above the legs adjusts the spread width of the legs. The telescopic tube can be attached to the tripod to add some height and you have a funky looking tripod which is fairly stable.

The telescopic tube takes a little getting used to (twist and pull to extend, twist again to lock). The camera screw plate can be angled to look down the tube, so you can hold it whist having the camera looking at you. Great for pictures of couples where you don't have a 3rd person to take the picture for you (timer needed). Also good if you need to add some height to your camera to get above a crowd- again with timer

Lightweight and doesn't take up a great deal of space in a bag. I bought this when it was 10GBP which I thought was a bargain. The current price of nearly 13GBP is still a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average monopod, 1 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Table-Top Tripod with Removable Telescopic Tube (Accessory)
Be aware if you want to use this for GoPro self shots while skiing or similar, it's not really long enough. Even using the widest field of vision (170deg on HD HERO), it could have done with being about a foot longer.
The extension works well and feels solid when locked. I wish I could say the same for camera attachment. Even with something as light as a GoPro it needed constant tightening and adjustment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mini Tripod +, 14 Feb 2013
By 
P. Farthing (North of England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Table-Top Tripod with Removable Telescopic Tube (Accessory)
Both items are substantial in build and weight, but possibly the legs of the tripod are a little too loose. Found that the tripod was quite adequate for simple table top use with a Compact system camera but would not recommend it for a full size DSLR. I have not had chance to use the removable telescopic tube, but can see a number of possibilities, using a compact camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Table top Tripod, 10 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hama Table-Top Tripod with Removable Telescopic Tube (Accessory)
This was purchased for my son in law as part of his Christmas present and I understand that he is delighted with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews