Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stevie Wonder - Numbers Ones
It must be nearly Christmas when all the compilations start coming out. Getting in early in this collection of Stevie Wonder material - mainly sampling his late 60's/70's/early 80's peak with one 2005 track tagged on the end. A few strange track choices, and that coupled with the title Number Ones (only had 2 in the UK!) makes me wonder if they are his more popular...
Published on 21 Oct. 2007 by Mr. D. J. Underwood

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag
Well I think that this Stevie Wonder collection has three tiers: First we have the sublime Motown classics that made Stevie a household name, such as 'Uptight', 'Master Blaster', 'In the City', 'Sir Duke', 'I Was Made to Love Her' and of course the peerless funk of 'Superstition'. The second tier consists of the slightly saccharine but still uplifting 'You are the...
Published on 20 May 2009 by Captain Pugwash


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stevie Wonder - Numbers Ones, 21 Oct. 2007
By 
Mr. D. J. Underwood "Excessional" (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Number Ones (UK Edition) (Audio CD)
It must be nearly Christmas when all the compilations start coming out. Getting in early in this collection of Stevie Wonder material - mainly sampling his late 60's/70's/early 80's peak with one 2005 track tagged on the end. A few strange track choices, and that coupled with the title Number Ones (only had 2 in the UK!) makes me wonder if they are his more popular American hits. A number of his top-10 singles are missing so no 'My Cherie Amour', 'Yester-Me, Yester-You, Yesterday' or 'Lately' but do get 'That Girl' which made No39!! Go figure!

That aside, what we do have is a compilation of joyful, upbeat material which reminds what a great artist he has been, and songs like 'Uptight' and 'Master Blaster' just delight. If artists like Amy Winehouse can be one of years best-sellers with her retro-style songs then surely there should still be interest in the past masters of the Motown style. The previous reviewer refers to there being more comprehensive collections, but as a taster this is still a great starting place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag, 20 May 2009
This review is from: Number Ones (UK Edition) (Audio CD)
Well I think that this Stevie Wonder collection has three tiers: First we have the sublime Motown classics that made Stevie a household name, such as 'Uptight', 'Master Blaster', 'In the City', 'Sir Duke', 'I Was Made to Love Her' and of course the peerless funk of 'Superstition'. The second tier consists of the slightly saccharine but still uplifting 'You are the Sunshine of my Life', decent enough 'Higher Ground', and 'Living for the City'; whilst the third has the execrable 'I Just Called...', worthy but nauseating duet with Paul McCartney 'Ebony and Ivory', and decent but pointless cover of 'Signed Sealed Delivered'. The remainder don't even warrant a mention but I'm sticking my hand up for the pure 80s but fun and buoyant 'Part-Time Lover'.

There's not much to choose between this and the other 'Definitive Collection', however this is a little bit cheaper on Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good collection but not the best, 10 Oct. 2007
This review is from: Number Ones (UK Edition) (Audio CD)
Compare this album with the Definitive collection - the question of which to buy is a no brainer. For £1 more you are getting nearly twice the number of tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stevie Wonder CD, 16 Jan. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Number Ones (UK Edition) (Audio CD)
Bought for part of my husband's Christmas present. Said he wanted a Stevie Wonder CD and I chose this one. Great choice he says! Well impressed and well worth its money! Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for a fan, 6 April 2013
By 
D. G. Peters - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Number Ones (UK Edition) (Audio CD)
As with most recording artists this should be one of your recordings. If you like Stevie Wonder this has all the hits. Delivered quickly and well packaged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Tracks, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Number Ones (UK Edition) (Audio CD)
An album of Stevie wonders greatest hits; full of talent and great songwriting. The usual superb instrumental backing tracks and Stevie Wonder vocals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Number Ones: Stevie Wonder., 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Number Ones (UK Edition) (Audio CD)
Great Songs that most of them being American Number Ones. He only one Number one I Iust Called To Say I Love you- in the UK in 1984, along with his duet with Paul Macartney in 1982 Ebony And Ivory. Apart from the rest of the album it has true 60's and 70's and 80's soul hits : Everything's is All Right Uptight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars From the sublime to the banale, 23 Mar. 2008
This review is from: Number Ones (UK Edition) (Audio CD)
Firstly, I agree with other reviewers. What was the basis for the selection of tracks? Why no "My Cherie Amour? Is there something that we don't know about the ex-PM's wife?

However, the main problem with this compilation is that it charts Stevie's downfall from leader to follower. OK, some of it is subjective, but I'm sure I'm not the only person to find "You are the sunshine of my life" beautiful, but "I just called to say I love you" corny. Come on, a drum machine and a cha-cha-cha ending is for a Holiday Inn bar performer. Equally, Part-time Lover seems to based on You Can't Hurry Love's backing track. Marvin Gaye might have had the crooning talents to do Overjoyed, but Stevie should avoid crooning. Compare Skeletons and So What the Fuss to Superstition: They all have great grooves, but Skeletons and What the Fuss go nowhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stevie Wonder Number 1's, 12 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Number Ones (UK Edition) (Audio CD)
This cd is a must have, got all the old hits that you remember and some you don't, will get everyone dancing and tapping their feet, really uplifting espically "That's what friends are for"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Steve Wonder number ones, 15 Dec. 2011
This review is from: Number Ones (UK Edition) (Audio CD)
The c.d. Was exactly what I wanted, all of his hits which you rarely hear on the radio. The sound recording is excellent. I recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Number Ones (UK Edition)
Number Ones (UK Edition) by Stevie Wonder (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews