Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great gaming headset
I switched to this headset from my Sony MDR-CD280, which was pretty near perfect (absurdly comfy and light) except that it didn't have a microphone. But so far, I've been very pleased with the SteelSeries 4H.

The microphone is good quality and tucks neatly away into the left side of the headset when not in use.
The ear cushions are very comfortable and...
Published on 7 Mar 2009 by Charlie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not amazing.
For the price you pay it does what is says on the tin. Good enough sound, the microphone is OK too. It is nice that the mic is retractable too, so that it doesn't get in the way when you're not using it. Comfortable to have on, even for hours at a time, but doesn't do a great job at keeping outside noise from your ears. As I said at the start it is a good headset for its...
Published 6 months ago by Vangelis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great gaming headset, 7 Mar 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SteelSeries 4H Headset (PC) (Video Game)
I switched to this headset from my Sony MDR-CD280, which was pretty near perfect (absurdly comfy and light) except that it didn't have a microphone. But so far, I've been very pleased with the SteelSeries 4H.

The microphone is good quality and tucks neatly away into the left side of the headset when not in use.
The ear cushions are very comfortable and surround the whole ear - noise reduction isn't that noticeable tbh, and is the only reason why I've rated these a 4 and not a 5.
It's lighter than most other headsets of a similar size that I've used before, and doesn't get uncomfortable when you've been mowing down hordes of the undead for several hours.

If you're not interested in the mic and are very picky about comfort, then I'd recommend the Sony headphones. But for a gaming headset if you're a regular user of voice comms, the SteelSeries should be an ideal buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Low-Mid range pair, 20 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SteelSeries 4H Headset (PC) (Video Game)
Good quality sound, especially for the price.
Good lengthy cable (manage it well if you want it to live longer)
Mic is just about right, with a retractable feature so good that it can stay hidden most of the time if you wish to use it for on-the-go music.
The 3 mic settings are pretty handy as well.
Great touch on the padding. I've worn these pair for 2 days straight (not including sleep) and seriously no problem.

I got mine with an adapter that makes the 2 ends into one so I can use it on my phone. Kinda awkward talking with these pair on in public, but useful either way. My laptop also has one of those all in one sockets, so the adapter is really useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars REally good for starting your gaming setup, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SteelSeries 4H Headset (PC) (Video Game)
As I said its a perfect beginner gaming headset its really comfortable for long gaming sessions i've had mine for 3 years and only just had to replace it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SteelSeries 4H Headset, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SteelSeries 4H Headset (PC) (Video Game)
I really like the headset. They have a great sound. I only dont like cables i think they are too thin, and i may have problem in short time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not amazing., 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SteelSeries 4H Headset (PC) (Video Game)
For the price you pay it does what is says on the tin. Good enough sound, the microphone is OK too. It is nice that the mic is retractable too, so that it doesn't get in the way when you're not using it. Comfortable to have on, even for hours at a time, but doesn't do a great job at keeping outside noise from your ears. As I said at the start it is a good headset for its price, but it will not blow you away by any means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty solid, 12 Sep 2013
This review is from: SteelSeries 4H Headset (PC) (Video Game)
The 4h is a pretty solid headset, the retractable mic is a good feature on several steelseries headsets if you just want to relax with a movie or some music. It is also very comfortablewith good sound quality. My only major gripe with this headset is that the cable is a bit short, it seems to be about a foot shorter that every other headset i have owned, as a result, just to get it plugged in to the back of my pc then over my desk leaves very little room for movement and has caused me to pull the cable very tight at time, as a result this has led to a loose connection in the left ear after only a few months of use (im use to headsets lasting a lot longer) i dont know if this was a design idea to try and reduce cable mess or something but it really does bring the score of an otherwise good headset down in my opinion.

pros. good sound, comfortable, retractable mic is very convinient
cons. cable is a little to short
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brill, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SteelSeries 4H Headset (PC) (Video Game)
My son loves these headphones, he was using the earphones before and these are much more comfortable. They arrived in good time and was packaged appropriately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average performance which is a shame, 12 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. Scott Tanner (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: SteelSeries 4H Headset (PC) (Video Game)
I replaced a Senheiser low budget headset with these after reading reviews here. I am dissapointed with them overall as they are not very good under load.
If i am using the equaliser in Itunes for example, to enhance the loudness of a quite podcast, using the equaliser can cause an awful bass and treble overload even on mild settings.
As they are designed around gaming they produce a natural high treble range which has its uses but over all they arent as good as i had hoped for when using them for movies or music playback when non default loudness and equaliser settings are needed.

They are however very comfy which is a bonus as i have experienced sore ears after using other headsets in the past.One more thing to mention is that the head band causes awful headphone hair so dont use them for any length of time if your about to go out of the house after their use :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SteelSeries 4H Headset (PC) (Video Game)
Best headset I've bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SteelSeries 4H Headset (PC)
SteelSeries 4H Headset (PC) by Steel Series (Windows 2000 / 98 / Me / Vista / XP)
31.32
Usually dispatched within 2 to 3 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews