Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent compilation
Two discs of Bolan brilliance. Choc a bloc full of the "usual suspects" in terms of T.Rex hits (Ride A White Swan, Hot Love, Metal Guru, I Love To Boogie & so on), the CD also has some tracks that you might not normally expect to see on a Bolan "Greatest Hits" compilation.
Desdemona, is a real treat (from Marc's time with Johns Children), as is his first single,The...
Published on 10 Sept. 2007 by DavyA

versus
10 of 81 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All that glitters is not gold !
Without doubt,Marc Bolan through his T Rex incarnation produced some classic early 70's pop tracks. Jeepster,Ride a white swan,Hot Love, Get it on,to name but a few.
Unfortunately,despite being driven by a cosmically inclined super-ego and single mindedly pursuing fame and stardom as if it were the holy grail.The grail when it came within his hands became something...
Published on 23 Sept. 2007 by Jago Wells


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent compilation, 10 Sept. 2007
By 
DavyA (Newcastle Upon Tyne, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Two discs of Bolan brilliance. Choc a bloc full of the "usual suspects" in terms of T.Rex hits (Ride A White Swan, Hot Love, Metal Guru, I Love To Boogie & so on), the CD also has some tracks that you might not normally expect to see on a Bolan "Greatest Hits" compilation.
Desdemona, is a real treat (from Marc's time with Johns Children), as is his first single,The Wizard & there are some "cancelled" T.Rex singles, which have appeared elsewhere but give a nice depth to this CD (Sailors Of The Highway, one of these "cancelled" singles, is truly a marvellous song). On top of all of this you even get the belter that is Raw Ramp.
A really very good cross section of Marc's work - not in any chronology, in terms of the running order of the CD but excellent none the less - a cracking compilation - spoil yourself !

UPDATE - that bloke Arthur, who has a review above me doesn't talk about this album at all,rather, he talks about Marc's shortcomings (in pretty unpleasant terms) - review the record, don't just slate the artist & get your story right if you do !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Marc Bolan & T-Rex compilation, 21 Sept. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Over the years I have lost track of the countless Marc Bolan & T-Rex compilations that have been released. So what makes this one different - apart from the obvious fact that this marks the 30th anniversary of his death? Well, for the first time ever this 'Greatest Hits' package is both fully comprehensive and digitally remastered at the same time (they've either been one or the other or neither in the past).

Also, if any casual fan does decide they should opt for a one disc 'best of' like - 'The Essential Collection', because they think this may have too much material on it for them, then they'll be seriously missing out on such gems as: 'Celebrate Summer', 'Life's An Elevator' and 'Soul Of My Suit'.

Anybody who already owns a Marc Bolan compilation, who may feel exploited by having to shell out on yet another hits package, can at least console themselves that this will be the last time they'll ever have to - as I can't see how they'll ever improve on this. So lets 'Celebrate' - Autumn with this release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Born to boogie..., 24 July 2013
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Never been a true fan except for the singles and after trawling the seemingly endless selection of compilations decided this was pobably the best and was not disappointed. This double CD seems to cover just about everything essential and brought back some long forgotten memories which is exactly what music is supposed to do. I defy anybody not to tap their feet to the likes of 'I love To Boogie' or sing along to the fade-out to 'Hot Love'. Lyrically some of the songs are a bit obscure but does that really matter? Just buy it and enjoy, I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say? I DO love to boogie!, 24 Feb. 2008
By 
Ms. E. Bush (Southampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I must say, these past reviews make a very interesting read, particulary Mr Dooley's impertinent rant. I am in favour of all the people who have commented about what this Welshman has to say, we are supposed to be reviewing Bolan's music, not his lifestyle. I would be most suprised if this Arthur man was able to control his ego if he was subject to the same success that Bolan had. In Bolan's defence, I would like to point out that in the summer of 76, Bolan had slimmed down (though I fail to see why we should metion his weight) and released 'I Love to Boogie' one of my all time favorite songs. Marc Bolan was a fantastic songwriter and musician whose music has brought me through my childhood and into my teenage years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MARC BOLAN, 25 Sept. 2007
By 
ijhopkinson (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
MARC BOLAN made some wonderful music in the seventies....the criticism below is largely unfounded...you should remember that he died in 77 and so had no chance to turn his career around. Who knows what he would have achieved if he had lived?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful memories of the 70's!, 17 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
What can you say? This is the soundtrack of my youth in the early 70s. By modern standards, Marc Bolan's song lyrics were twee, consisting of lines that didn't exactly follow any logic, but appeared to be the next word that he could think of to rhyme! But, this music wasn't written in 2010, it harks back to an earlier time of innocence, flower power and Glam Rock. Quite simply, it is brilliant if you want to listen to early 70's music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Compilation of all T Rex singles, 30 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
If Your after a compilation CD with all the Tyrannosaurus Rex & T Rex singles in the one place then this double CD is the best there is. All the singles are on here plus some great B sides, an added bonus is the cover photo, plus the photos inside the booklet.
All the photos are from around the time of Electric Warrior when Bolan was at His productive peak! He still looked and acted like a Rock Star, no make up & silly feather Boa's in sight!

A superb compilation, a bit expensive from some sellers, although I got mine used ( not that You'd notice ) for a great price! So if You're a big Bolan & T Rex fan treat Yourself, go get a copy now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant compilation, 26 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The brilliance of this album has already been said by others . I would like to add that this is a Japanese double album and has also hidden tracks at the end of disc one. Also, a great prize is the copy I have is an early one that comes with black and white photos of Marc's time in japan, well worth trawling to find this gem. It is hard to find now but they do exist. Even without, this is the best compilation after the four cd universal set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Bolan/ TREX collection, 14 Feb. 2014
By 
G. S. Fazakas "Beltane" (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is the Best Bolabn Collection ever even including his 1st song recorded The Wizzard and the uncut version of Deborah by John's Children. Excellent double cd set of all of Bolan's great songs. Maybe slightly lacking more Tyrannosaurus Rex material but that can be purchased elsewhere in another double cd set The best of Tyrannosaurus Rex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't be beaten, 16 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
An absolute must for all Marc Bolan fans. It is far better than other Marc Bolan compilation CDs I have heard. This CD contains all of his hits and it's great to just play this CD and reminisce. Even better, it is a great introduction to Marc Bolan for those who are unaware of his talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Marc Bolan & T Rex (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews