Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars drives you into a mania
I had this on my desktop and enjoyed it, so when I saw that it was available for DS I bought it. I was glad I did.

You have to "help" our cook run around the kitchen, taking orders, baking the correct shaped cakes, adding the correct toppings and decorations. All while trying to keep delivery men, cupids, easter bunnies, students, hippies, grannies, business...
Published on 13 Nov. 2008 by Su

versus
3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Arghhh!! So Frustrating!!
This is such a frustrating game. The waitress moves so slowly. You have to tap various things in the stages of making the cakes and if make a mistake and tap the wrong thing, you have to wait until it finishes before you can make the correct choice. This loses you time and customers disappear very quickly, often as you are about to give them their finished...
Published on 21 Oct. 2007 by Catpee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars drives you into a mania, 13 Nov. 2008
By 
Su (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cake Mania (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I had this on my desktop and enjoyed it, so when I saw that it was available for DS I bought it. I was glad I did.

You have to "help" our cook run around the kitchen, taking orders, baking the correct shaped cakes, adding the correct toppings and decorations. All while trying to keep delivery men, cupids, easter bunnies, students, hippies, grannies, business men and woman, and presidents happy.

As the levels go up their willingness to wait goes down, and you have to butter them up with free cupcakes and the right tv shows. Success can be dependent on buying the correct items at the end of each round.

It's easy to play, you simply tap the items you want in the order you want. One problem is the width of the game. When you are at the counter on the left you cannot see the right and vice versa. Another is the fact that there are so few save slots, only 3 and if there are two of you playing on the same DS then it is easy to save over the top of the others saved game, because there is no way to distinguish who's game is who's.

Aside from that it's very enjoyable and extremely addictive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy to pick up and hard to put down!, 15 Jan. 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Cake Mania (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I found this game to be great fun, and quite addictive. You basically run a bakery. You have to greet customers, bake cakes, ice and decorate them, then collect the money from the customers. You have a target (amount of money) to reach on each level - once you have made the required amount of money you move on to the next level. The 'money' you make can be spent on new equipment - like extra or faster ovens, cake decorations, cupcake machines etc. You need to upgrade the equipment, as after a few levels you will need to bake and decorate several cakes at once. You get different customers on some of the levels, which makes it more interesting. Some customers get grumpy waiting, so you have to 'buy' a TV to keep them entertained.

There are 60 levels in Cake Mania. You get to work in 5 bakeries (12 months in each). Once you have completed Cake Mania, you unlock the 'Back to Bakery game'. Back to Bakery is much the same as Cake Mania - just extra levels really, although I found the first few quite tricky. The whole game is played with the stylus, and it works well. I liked the graphics - colourful and bright. Sometimes you have to look carefully at the cake picture the customer wants, as a couple of the shapes look similar.

This game is suitable for all ages. I completed the game in a week. My daughter (age 6) is on level 6. She has got the hang of it, but probably would be better for slightly older children and adults.

Overall, a very good, fun game. Very easy to learn (there is even a tutorial you can do before you start the game, and another - part way through, to show you how to bake 2 layer cakes). I only hope they bring out a sequel, although I have heard that 'Diner Dash' is a bit similar, so I might try that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good but with 1 slight problem, 15 Sept. 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Cake Mania (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Once i started playing on this game i was hooked straight away. Its very fun and challenging at times but the only problem with the game is that its sometimes difficult to see what shape the double layered cakes are and u end up making the wrong ones and having to throw them in the bin and start making them again but apart from that its a good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars can be frustrating but in a really fun!!! way, 4 Jan. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Cake Mania (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I Am really impressed with this game its great fun and so addictive!!! you have to be quite quick otherwise customers will walk out lol I have got frustrated a few times as i was rushing so much i made the wrong cake although sometimes this can be helpful as you can put it on the cake stand and the next customer might want it,I found the food critic the most impatient customer but I just gave her loads of cup cakes lol i get really frustrated if i dont make the goal at the end but just sit there for ages til i do thats how its so addictive,Love the way you can by a tv and quicker ovens and stuff and when you do well you actually feel proud of yourself i'd recommend it to anyone its amazing and really fun i got into it straight away and cant wait to get cake mania 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, 28 Sept. 2008
By 
Ms. E. Shaw (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Cake Mania (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
This game is much like the PC version and I love it for that. It is a little frustrating that the character starts off moving so slow but if this frustrates you this can be the first upgrades you make.

The game is played using the stylus.

It starts off simple and then becomes alot more challenging as the game goes on. it is a fun game, with bright graphics and freedom to make upgrades in which ever order you wish.

I would definately reccomend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very nice game., 26 Jun. 2010
By 
S. Firth (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Cake Mania (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I got this game a couple of weeks ago. I love Diner Dash and have wanted something similar since, Cake Mania has always been in my eye line every time i come onto Amazon so i decided to buy it. I'm very glad i did, it is a great game. Although i do have a couple of issues with it which is why only 4 stars. And those issues are, when you complete the main game, (which only took about 8hrs) there is no way to replay the other restaurants that you completed. One of my favourite things in DD is that when you completed the game you could replay any restaurant of your choosing, not so in CM, unless someone knows any different?

Also, it takes a while to get all the good upgrades, i didnt get my last one until the last level, so with that in mind, unless you replay the last level 100 times, you arent going to benefit much from your equipment been faster. Another reason why it would be better to be able to replay all other levels.

But you do get the Back to Basics game, so effectively you get 2 games in one, and for the price, that's great. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEWARE: Slightly Addictive, 23 Jun. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Cake Mania (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
Whoever invented cake mania is to blame for making sooo many people slightly addicted to it.

This is one game that once you've started , you will find it very hard to put down as it makes you want to keep playing for just 5 more minutes.

The concept of this game is actually quite simplisitc, you work in a cake shop and customers come in and you have to make the correct cake that for them that matches up to the symbols you are shown. To make it to the next level, you have to serve a high amount of customers that beats or matches up to the target you are given.

It has a very fast paced nature as you advance to higher levels, the customers come faster and faster so you have to up your speed over time.
It is actually a great game not only for kids but also for adults I think, as it can relate to anyone and get anyone interested in it.

Overall, I think it is such a great game that has good levels and high quality picture screen.
I would recommend it to everyone to play once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and addictive, 19 Dec. 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Cake Mania (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I got this for my daughter and I have just completed it! People who find it frustrating might not know that you can buy super fast ovens and icers as well as lots of little tricks to stop the customers leaving, such as giving them a cake from the microwave (which you can also purchase in superfast mode) or buying a TV and flicking the channel over by pressing your top left button. You can even buy super fast shoes so the waitress does things alot quicker.

It can get a little frustrating if you make the wrong cake but thats where you need to buy the cake rest and then give it to the customer who wants one one like it rather than binning it.

You also need to build your money up so that you can purchase the superfast items and thats where the cake toppers come in. You can get four for each tray eventually getting those superfast too.

Once you have the knack it's a peice of cake!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still enjoyable in minature!, 8 May 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Cake Mania (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
I have this on my pc and thought I'd try the ds version - I agree with other reviews, yes it can be tricky to see the cakes ordered but that is just part of the challenge - I'll definitely be buying Cake Mania 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars so addictive, 12 Sept. 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Cake Mania (Nintendo DS) (Video Game)
i got totally addicted to this game. loved it. basically ur running a bakery and customers place orders for cakes which you have to make before they get fed up and leave. as the game goes on it gets harder as u have to make double layered ones and add toppings. great game all but it isn't very long. i completed it quite quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cake Mania (Nintendo DS)
Cake Mania (Nintendo DS) by Eidos (Nintendo DS)
£10.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews