Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh So Brilliant
What can I say about Whose Line? It's brilliant, ever so much, that's about it really. I'd advise everyone in the world to buy the DVD, just for the hilarity of it. I'm only a teenager, but I just love the silly humour- plus the sophisticated stuff.

It's also wonderful to see how the programme first started off, the begins of such a great and wonderful show,...
Published on 17 Jan 2008 by J-chan McFly

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well what about the rest?
Well what about them?

This first two series was OK but not even approaching hitting it's stride. Unfortunately casual viewers will never know, as Hat-Trick have no intention of ever releasing the other series; my guess is this DVD was released as a speculative feeler to see how much money could be made via disc sales, and the answer was - not a lot.
So,...
Published 16 months ago by Tellingitasitis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oh So Brilliant, 17 Jan 2008
This review is from: Whose Line Is It Anyway?: Complete Series 1 And 2 [DVD] (DVD)
What can I say about Whose Line? It's brilliant, ever so much, that's about it really. I'd advise everyone in the world to buy the DVD, just for the hilarity of it. I'm only a teenager, but I just love the silly humour- plus the sophisticated stuff.

It's also wonderful to see how the programme first started off, the begins of such a great and wonderful show, and to see the very first, pilot episode where the contestants are almost quaking in their boots! Also, to know what they're like in later series is very funny aswell, just to see how sweet and slightly innocent they are on their first episode.

Long live Whose Line!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!! The best comedy show ever is now on DVD!, 20 Dec 2007
By 
Richard Leaman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whose Line Is It Anyway?: Complete Series 1 And 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Having waited and waited for this show to be released, my prayers have finally been answered. This is the original British version of the tv show. Originally shown on Channel 4, this was always my favourite show even when Channel 4 used to have a good comedy line up.
The show was based on improv, meaning the comedy could range from very high brow satire or intellectual humour, through to simple swearing and satire. Yet even with the vast scope of comic genres Whose line was always one thing: unbelievably funny!
Whether you are sat bemused at how John Sessions and Johnathon Pryce can act out a style you've never heard of ( I know as a child that that was a regular thing for me )or sat in awe at how Josey Lawrence or Mike McShane could make up perfect sounding song in a heartbeat, or just laughing out loud at the childish exploits of Tony Slattery, this show is just funny. If you don't laugh at this then you probably have a problem with your sense of humour.
Three pieces of warning for you though:

1, If you are a fan of the American version, this will feel very different. None of your annoying american audience screeching out delight at obvious jokes, the uk show at times can be very clever humour. None of listening to the inane ramblings of the deeply unfunny Drew Carey ( we know the points don't matter, you don't have to tell us every time!), but instead the host is a reserved and sarcastic Clive Anderson.
But most importantly, Ryan Stiles and Colin Mochrie are not residents in this show. When they appear, they are guests and obviously new to the genre. You may think that they are not as smooth as they are in the later episodes, and certainly not like they are in the american version, but the episodes benefit from this. My biggest complaint about the American show was always that the improv became repetative, and you could almost tell what Colin and Ryan (two of the best guests in the UK Whose Line )were going to say. The show lost its edge, and at times it felt like a poorly rehearsed sketch show. That is not something you could say about the british version. The British show could jump in any direction at any time, and that added to the genius of the show.

2, This is not the edited version shown on UKTV Gold 2 or Dave. This is the full version, without the cuts when the show gets rude. You would not believe how annoyed I get with the cuts on the freeview channels when you know the best joke of the show has been cut out. The full unedited version is great for comedy, but not so great for younger kids.

3, This is the first two seasons of the British show. As such some of the performers look nervous, and the flow is not achieved in the games until somewhere in the second half of the first series. Not that there aren't funny moments in every episodes, but at times it feels like no one knows what is going on. It is on the second series you start to see the show at its absolute best.

Whose line is it anyway? is a British institution. One of the funniest shows that was ever on tv. Buy this show and laugh for days. Although subsequent series are funnier, it is more than worth getting this edition to see how the show developed.

(This is a review based on viewing the Region 1 DVD, which may have some different features, but the episodes will be the same. )
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Charm is in the Choking, 17 Jan 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whose Line Is It Anyway?: Complete Series 1 And 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I rarely trust 5-star reviews. They tend to be children in their early teens who fancy the lead singer or actor or have studied the book at school and got an A. The enthusiasm of their endorsements is outdone only by their frequency... and amplitude. They claim that their chosen product is flawless, or to use the rather more accurate vernacular, AMAZING!

This is so untrue of "Whose Line..?" and anyone thinking of suggesting that the improvisation in the early series is in any way flawless should stop writing Amazon reviews and get back to revising for their SATs. The comedians corpse, lose inspiration, scrabble desperately for ideas and generally proceed to fail spectacularly. Unlike in the conveniently polished and amiably predictable US series, mistakes are commonplace. Instead of slick routines and joke-a-minute confidence which can prompt an audience to say "I could do that", "Whose Line Is It Anyway?" shows how difficult it really is to craft a really superb and witty improvisation. What you're given at times is in fact the original and ultimate reality television - people doing what they do well, badly. The failure is funny... and yet, unlike real "reality television", the programme is not a finger-pointing glee in others' failure; rather, it's a celebration of when it DOES work - funny when it doesn't, but utterly glorious when it does. The wonder of a winning sketch isn't simply that the audience thinks, "That was funny; I laughed," but also "What an achievement!"

How thoroughly marvellous - and yes, I admit: AMAZING!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 27 Mar 2008
By 
Mr. P. G. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whose Line Is It Anyway?: Complete Series 1 And 2 [DVD] (DVD)
So, one of the great comedy treats of the early/mid 90's finally gets a DVD release for the first two series. I was a huge fan of this show on Thursday nights on C4 as i recall, and I still have around a dozen tapes worth of episdoes i recorded off the TV.

WLIIA was a ground breaking show with its improvised style and array of not so well known comics (at that time - who are now of course !). The first two series featured John Sessions as a resident artist (except for a few episodes of S2) and three others made up the quartet; amongst the regulars were Josie Lawrence and her singing, Tony Slattery being naughty and Paul Merton being acerbic. Other more famous guests included Stepen Fry, Joanthan Pryce and a one off by none other than Peter Cook. All held together by the king of comeback Clive Anderson himself.

Watching these early shows, it becomes apparant how much the show changed towards a more physical humour in the later series (probably due to the likes of Ryan Stiles and Colin Mochorie, of whom only Ryan makes one or two appearances in S2). There were much more intellectual games here, such as Storytime, where each contestant continued a story in his or her chosen author, and others where the physical side of the humour was not so apparant. Some of the rounds were more geared to the skills of a particular contestant - Josie Lawrence and John Sessions often had solo singing rounds. And there are plenty of old favourites here, like Film & Theater styles, American Musical and the legendary Party Quirks. Although i think the series was at its peak in the mid 90's, these shows are still wonderful to see; John Sessions doing Lady Chatterly's lover in the story round was great, as was Stephen Fry's attempt at a sheep shearing rap of Mary Had A Little Lamb in the Rap round. Plus I always enjoy Tony Slattery, always trying to be rude.

The DVD picture quality is OK, a bit grainy, no remastering evident. Not only does this set feature the Full series 1 & 2, it also includes the "Best of" compilation episodes, which used to be shown at the end of a series featuring unused scenes and outtakes. We also have the Christmas Special which featured six players, and the Pilot episode. A great purchase, nice to have them on DVD, and so much better than the US series. Cant wait for more, lets hope we get the UK shows that were filmed in the US in later series as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 5 April 2008
By 
AquaViola (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Whose Line Is It Anyway?: Complete Series 1 And 2 [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best series, in one of the best times.

At the beginning, especially in the Pilot, it is a bit shakey, but even then the comedy is still there.

John Sessions, Jose Lawrence, Paul Merton and Tony Slattery are the core of these series, and they are there at their best.

Clive Anderson, after a shakey start, moves the show along slickly but not without humour himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great trip down memory lane!, 13 Jan 2009
By 
Ms. B. Harper "Bry" (Flackwell Heath, Buckinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whose Line Is It Anyway?: Complete Series 1 And 2 [DVD] (DVD)
If you are used to watching the American remake of this show, be warned! This dvd isn't like that; Clive Anderson doesn't insist on joining in every game (in fact, he resists it at one point), the audience don't laugh on cue - they judge the performers and they laugh when it's funny and the episodes aren't dominated by the same performers all the way through. By not having Ryan, Colin and Wayne (or 3 others) as constant performers, the shows are constantly different as different people work together. At this time the show was still in it's infancy and with John Sessions as a regular, it was less populist and more intellectual, but don't let that put you off! He was a fine mimic and could perform in any theatre style, the show simply moved in another direction.
This dvd encapsulates a journey from the humble beginnings of the show; in the pilot episode and a lot of the first series you can see the producers playing about putting different games in to see what would work and what wouldn't. This is the same with performers - when they found some comics who worked exceptionally well together, they used this to the best of it's ability; such as Paul Merton and Josie Lawrence (who already worked together onstage) or Mike McShane and Sandi Toksvig.
With a fine list of regulars including John Sessions, Paul Merton, Josie Lawrence, Tony Slattery, Sandi Toksvig, Ryan Stiles, Greg Proops and Mike McShane and an enviable list of guests including Griff Rhys Jones, Arthur Smith, Neil Mullarkey, Peter Cook and Stephen Fry the dvd set offers a huge amount of variety. Whilst some episodes are not as fluent or consistently funny as others, it is more than made up for in other episodes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the perfect show, 16 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whose Line Is It Anyway?: Complete Series 1 And 2 [DVD] (DVD)
i grew up on this show and cannot get enough. i've own what they've released of the american version on dvd for years, so i am thrilled to have the uk version at my fingertips to watch whenever i want. ryan stiles is the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as you remember it..., 10 Feb 2011
This review is from: Whose Line Is It Anyway?: Complete Series 1 And 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This brought back great memories - I can't believe my dad would let me stay up late watching these with him (for the first series I was only 8!). John Sessions is great, Slattery is a naughty boy (for genuine laugh out loud moments), Josie is just perfect and Mike McShane is, as always, genius! (the other guys are, on the whole, great too with Ryan Stiles making a few great appearances). Anderson is a little rough around the edges for the first series - my only gripe against a great two series. When are the rest coming out?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars His impersonations are just brilliant! Lovely trip down memory lane, 2 Aug 2014
By 
Leah Shaw "Sealeyes" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Whose Line Is It Anyway?: Complete Series 1 And 2 [DVD] (DVD)
Bought this to watch on a Friday night as there is simply nothing to watch these days. Watched first time round and so fab to watch again. Made me laugh out loud! John Sessions is for me the star of the show. His impersonations are just brilliant! Lovely trip down memory lane. Would highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WHEN can we see more?, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Whose Line Is It Anyway?: Complete Series 1 And 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD, and the series itself, are simply wonderful. However, I cannot understand for the life of me why, firstly, we were kept waiting several years longer than the Americans for our Region 2 DVD to be released - it's a British programme, after all; and secondly why on earth they STILL haven't released Series 3 onwards! I bought this DVD in 2008. It is now 2013 and still no sign of any further releases! WHY???? Could someone PLEASE let me and other fans know the reasons and, better still, when we might expect to see more of this classic, brilliant series?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Whose Line Is It Anyway?: Complete Series 1 And 2 [DVD]
£9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews