Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Manhattan Soul Transfer
!!!WARNING. MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!!!

Wealthy Manhattan socialite Norah Benson(Shirley Maclaine) visits a large party with her brother Joel(Perry King). They make arrangements for him to come round for dinner the following night. Joel doesn't turn up and concerned, Norah phones his flat. He answers but does not speak. Norah rushes over just in time to see Joel...
Published on 6 Sept. 2010 by Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Save Your Money or Buy Something Else
After reading the five and four star reviews on here I have to say that I wondered whether I had watched the same film. The first half was boring and while some plot did emerge in the second half it was completely without suspense, tension or chills - the only thing of note that sticks to mind is seeing Shirley Maclaine eat dog food. No doubt this was a seventies attempt...
Published 6 months ago by Ming the Merciless


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Manhattan Soul Transfer, 6 Sept. 2010
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Possession Of Joel Delaney [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
!!!WARNING. MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!!!

Wealthy Manhattan socialite Norah Benson(Shirley Maclaine) visits a large party with her brother Joel(Perry King). They make arrangements for him to come round for dinner the following night. Joel doesn't turn up and concerned, Norah phones his flat. He answers but does not speak. Norah rushes over just in time to see Joel arrested for assaulting his landlord and carted off to a psychiactric unit. Norah is convinced that drugs are responsible for her brothers actions. He admits taking L.S.D and is released into her custody. However the words that her brother says to her at the psychiactric unit-"You only see what you want to"- come back to haunt her as Joel starts to behave very strangely indeed. However, Norah is blind to the true terrifying reasons for Joel's behaviour....
This highly entertaining middle class 'nightmare' predates the higher profile satanic chills of 'The Exorcist' and is a contemporary of 'Rosemary's Baby'. In many ways this is pretty groundbreaking stuff, a film before its time. After all it was Friedkin's film that caused the boom in satanic horror films. Shirley Maclaine delivers a terrific performance in a role that is initially dislikeable. Norah Benson is aloof, snobbish and self important, and it's only the terrible events that start to overtake her life that open up her cocooned existance. King, on the other hand gives a full blooded performance worthy of David Hess at his most loopy.
There are many brilliant set pieces, notably a real tour-de-force centred around Joel's birthday, and the overwrought climax with the possessed Joel threatening Norah and her children at an isolated beach hut. This scene, pretty strong for the period it was made, is reminscant of the future 'class invasion' films such as Craven's Last House On The Left and Deodato's subsequent House At The Edge Of The Park. The we have the bleak 'twist' ending the likes of which were becoming more prevalent in the horror genre. Its works particularily well in this instance as it's played in such an understated way. The only negative for me in the film was how excellent British character actor Michael Hordern is wasted in what is essentially a bit-part.
It's an interesting horror film, a real discovery that has had an excellent dvd release here. The best extra on the disc is the commentary by horror experts Kim Newman and Stephen Jones. 4 out of 5 overall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seminal Horror Movie, 23 Aug. 2010
By 
Sir Furboy (Aberystwyth, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Possession Of Joel Delaney [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
This movie should have cult viewing status. It is wonderful in the way it slowly but surely cranks up the tension, and keeps the viewer rivetted to their seats. It is obviously a little dated, but so many modern horror movies could learn so much from the psychological terror that builds in this one, without relying on gratuitous gore.

Sadly this movie seems all but forgotten. A few reviewers here raise issues of whether it is cut or not (this is the full, uncut movie. It may be that scenes have been cropped, but if they have, few people will notice or care). Other than that there is not nearly enough discussion of how good this movie is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super creepy atmospheric possession in New York, 24 Jun. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Possession Of Joel Delaney [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not going to spoil this for anyone with a synopsis of the plot, but if like myself you enjoy the fear and tension of such movies as Rosemary's Baby, The Exorcist, The Exorcism of Emily Rose, then give this your attention. This DVD is great value and the picture and sound quality are massive improvements over the old open-matte VHS tape.
I really enjoy the performances in this especially Shirley Mclaine as the increasingly concerned sister of title character Joel.
1970's New York looks as vibrant as it does in many other films of this era, but we are treated to some kinetic NY street scenes.
I feel emotionally engaged with this movie and the way in which the feeling of dread builds to an unforgettably creepy climax of desolation.
Horror fans please support this release, and we may get more such cinematic treats unearthed for our delectation.
Now if only the same company would release Fragments of Fear or Voices
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Save Your Money or Buy Something Else, 18 Jan. 2015
This review is from: The Possession Of Joel Delaney [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
After reading the five and four star reviews on here I have to say that I wondered whether I had watched the same film. The first half was boring and while some plot did emerge in the second half it was completely without suspense, tension or chills - the only thing of note that sticks to mind is seeing Shirley Maclaine eat dog food. No doubt this was a seventies attempt at shock value. The acting (with the exception of Shirley Maclaine who must have been skint the day she agreed to be in this) is wooden and amateurish which only increases the impression of a cheap and now very dated film. I like a lot of old horror films and many from the seventies but this remains one of the worst I have ever seen from any decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Real Cult Curio & Must For Horror Aficionados, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Possession Of Joel Delaney [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
A unique & at times shockingly disturbing film, this is probably the only way you'll get to see this nowadays as it's just too extreme to be shown on television today. Certain scenes do appear out of sync, and some aspects of the plot don't follow logically, which indicates a troubled/hastily rearranged edit; perhaps a 'Director's Cut' is out there somewhere, but this nonetheless remains a fascinating view in it's own right. Recommended (for adult audiences only).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE DVD IS UNCUT., 10 Mar. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Possession Of Joel Delaney [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
I must comment on the previous amazon reviewer who states this DVD is cut. This DVD is in fact uncut. Here is an email i receive from the BBFC

The DVD classification of THE POSSESSION OF JOEL DELANEY is uncut. No cuts were required by the BBFC. Indeed, it is the restored version as cuts made to the film have been included -
please see below
THE POSSESSION OF JOEL DELANEY was classified 'X' for theatrical release in 1971 with the following cuts -
Reel 11 - The incident in which Joel menaces a woman with a
flick-knife was shortened.
Reel 12 - The scene in which Joel forces a woman to eat dog food
from a bowl was shortened.

Please note that these cuts were made in accordance with the classification policies prevailing at the time.

Get your facts right in future terence and do some research before you start dishing out reviews which are total lies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Dated, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dated, messy half hearted thriller, am surprised a talent like Shirley MacLaine was coaxed into taking the lead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Possession Of Joel Delaney [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BORING!, 11 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Possession Of Joel Delaney [1971] [DVD] (DVD)
BORINH! Do not waste your mony. Boring, dull, boring, booooring! I hate this film, do not buy it. It is a waste of time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Possession Of Joel Delaney [1971] [DVD]
The Possession Of Joel Delaney [1971] [DVD] by Waris Hussein (DVD - 2007)
£10.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews