Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value all rounder.
This lens was EISA best consumer lens 2008-9, a redesign of the long standing full frame non stabilised lens. Sigma and Tamron have done a great job with their wide range superzooom lenses. This is one of the best. I hve tried it on a Canon 40D and a 5D Mark 2 and it gives exceedingly good images on both. It is a little slow and soft at the 300mm end, but still very good...
Published on 6 Sep 2009 by The Doc

versus
4 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT MACRO V C not good.
I like using this lens, saves me having to tkae all my lenses out with me. its not Macro but does take good quality photo's.
The Vibration only works on large subjects. if you try to use it on distant shots it vibrates and won't focus. I just use a tripod on long distant shots. i give it 2 stars as its not as descriped. but i do recommend it for a all in one lense...
Published on 27 May 2011 by Deb


Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great value all rounder., 6 Sep 2009
By 
The Doc "discdoc" (Hove) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tamron AF 28-300mm F3.5-6.3 XR Di VC Vibration Compensation LD-IF Macro for Canon AF (Accessory)
This lens was EISA best consumer lens 2008-9, a redesign of the long standing full frame non stabilised lens. Sigma and Tamron have done a great job with their wide range superzooom lenses. This is one of the best. I hve tried it on a Canon 40D and a 5D Mark 2 and it gives exceedingly good images on both. It is a little slow and soft at the 300mm end, but still very good. A light weight of 500G is excellent for a large IS zooom lens, and it is pleasantly small when not extended. It will take acceptable macros, I recommend looking at the groups for this lens on Flickr. Well, I was impressed!

For a walk around lens with such versatility it is a reasonable price and excellent quality. Suitable for the enthusiastic amateur for most purposes, but it is a jack of all trades, so shorter zooms or primes will be better, but at what price? The image stabilisation works very well, up to 4 stops improvement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tamron Superzoom lens with optical image stabilisation, 3 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tamron AF 28-300mm F3.5-6.3 XR Di VC Vibration Compensation LD-IF Macro for Canon AF (Accessory)
Tamron AF 28-300mm F3.5-6.3 XR Di VC Vibration Compensation LD-IF Macro for Canon AF

A very good lens (some barrel distortion, but acceptable) with a superb zoom range, and capable of macro photography all without having to change lenses.
The image stabilisation is good, although it has its limitations - exposures >1sec may or may not be acceptably sharp when hand-held - but photos from the deck of a ship at sea were all very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the hands of a PROFESSIONAL PHOTOGRAPHER....., 18 Oct 2008
By 
PMG (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tamron AF 28-300mm F3.5-6.3 XR Di VC Vibration Compensation LD-IF Macro for Canon AF (Accessory)
....this lens is a CRACKER!! - I use Canon L series lenses (16-35mm Mk2, 27-70mm f2.8 and 70-300 DO IS) which all have incredible quality with stunning optical performance, and the quality of this lens is really not too far behind and definitely worth the price difference (approx £450 against £1000+). Terrific for compactness and travelling, with such a zoom coverage. Absolutely no problem with focus tracking, providing you know what you are doing with auto focus points and set your CAMERA up correctly!!! - HIGHLY RECCOMMENDED!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVE IT!, 10 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tamron AF 28-300mm F3.5-6.3 XR Di VC Vibration Compensation LD-IF Macro for Canon AF (Accessory)
Went on a course and someone else had this lens.... I could not afford the Canon equivalent but have to say this little baby is just PERFECT! I even used it at Formula 1 Silverstone this weekend, the zoom was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One stop lens, 8 Mar 2013
By 
R. S. Wallace (Aberdeenshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tamron AF 28-300mm F3.5-6.3 XR Di VC Vibration Compensation LD-IF Macro for Canon AF (Accessory)
Bought this lens for Canon 5dmk2 as a relatively cheap cover-all while visiting South Africa. I'm pleased with the resulting photos tho the shutter is significantly loud - in a way this was advantageous when photographing the so-called "Big Five" since the first exposure attracted their attention. I'm in no hurry to swap back to my canon lenses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT MACRO V C not good., 27 May 2011
This review is from: Tamron AF 28-300mm F3.5-6.3 XR Di VC Vibration Compensation LD-IF Macro for Canon AF (Accessory)
I like using this lens, saves me having to tkae all my lenses out with me. its not Macro but does take good quality photo's.
The Vibration only works on large subjects. if you try to use it on distant shots it vibrates and won't focus. I just use a tripod on long distant shots. i give it 2 stars as its not as descriped. but i do recommend it for a all in one lense and you dont have to carrry other lenses with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews