Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the making of cuba-gooding jnr
ultra realistic boxing scenes and the gritty world of underground prize-fifgthing are excellently potrayed in this fascinating film. forgive the token love interest and youve got a great film. Great performances allround- (whatever happened to Rowdy Herrington?) and supporting cast including herringtons best friend and fellow fighter who i dont know the name of!. Nitty,...
Published on 25 Mar 2002

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gladallover
Harsh and uncompromising locations compliment this brooding action filled drama. Although this is billed as a boxing movie, the script incorporates themes of responsibility, frendship, poverty and crime. Despite having a couple of writers, the screenplay is tight and Rowdy Herrington's steady hand delivers a brisk pace and some bone crunching boxing action. Brian Dennehey...
Published 5 months ago by Steven


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the making of cuba-gooding jnr, 25 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Gladiator (DVD)
ultra realistic boxing scenes and the gritty world of underground prize-fifgthing are excellently potrayed in this fascinating film. forgive the token love interest and youve got a great film. Great performances allround- (whatever happened to Rowdy Herrington?) and supporting cast including herringtons best friend and fellow fighter who i dont know the name of!. Nitty, Gritty realistic fight film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Gladiator [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Not the famous GALDIATOR we all know with Russell Crowe but a less hyped film that not many have heard of. Starring Cuba Gooding Jr ( Jerry Maguire ) and James Marshall ( A Few Good Men ) this is powerful and hard hitting film about survival and friendship. Marshall is a clever white student who has no place in a tough black community never mind a black dominated school. He finds himself boxing for money until his principles get in the way. This film is definitely worth a watch, watch it, then spead the word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "TOP OF THE HEAD HARDEST PART OF THE BODY", 11 Jan 2012
By 
Paul J. Jackson (UK , Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gladiator [DVD] (DVD)
This film is a KNOCKOUT from start to explosive end, it stars Cuba Gooding Jr, James Marshall & Brian Dennehy, Directed by Rowdy Herrington of ROAD HOUSE fame ! 2 friends are made to fight each other by a corrupt hard as nails boxing promoter in a bloody battle that will destroy their lives & friendship... The fights are staged perfectly throughout the 98 mins, they are equal too anything in the ROCKY series,, the film also has a cracking SOUNDTRACK,, "GO & BUY THIS DVD WHEN YOU CAN BECAUSE ITS GETTING HARD TO GET HOLD OF"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gladallover, 16 May 2014
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Gladiator [DVD] (DVD)
Harsh and uncompromising locations compliment this brooding action filled drama. Although this is billed as a boxing movie, the script incorporates themes of responsibility, frendship, poverty and crime. Despite having a couple of writers, the screenplay is tight and Rowdy Herrington's steady hand delivers a brisk pace and some bone crunching boxing action. Brian Dennehey makes for a commanding villain, he can turn a knowing smile into a twisted grimace at the drop of a hat. He's ably supported by Robert Loggia as his scheming lieutenant and Cuba Gooding Jr who lends a touch of youthful class to the cast. James Marshall turns in a suitably low key performance as our young hero who must enter the world of illegal boxing to pay off his father's gambling debts. The story is entertaining enough but it's the characters that make it worth watching; Dennehey's subtle menace is the real prize.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 6 Jan 2011
This review is from: Gladiator [DVD] (DVD)
Great film I loved it as a kid and was looking everywhere for it so was happy to fined it at amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Boxing film EVER, 27 Oct 2009
By 
Mr. Dale M. Wood "Dale Wood" (Stourbridge, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gladiator [DVD] (DVD)
This is by far the best boxing film i have ever seen. Honest, gutsy and compelling viewing with superb fight scenes. A small love affair for the ladies, but uppercuts, hooks and suplexes (!) galore for the men. Stunning. Brian Dennehy is great, proper old school bad guy and the two boxers are excellent. The final fight scene a bit cheesy, but the first fight, against 'black death' still gives me goosebumps, 17 years later!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gladiator [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this movie a number of years ago and loved it, mainly because Brian Dennehy was in it. I think he's an incredible actor that is very underrated. I had to add it to my Dennehy collection.

This movie has a good story and will keep you interested from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Ropey dopes., 19 Oct 2013
By 
Arch Stanton (Cornwall, England.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gladiator [DVD] (DVD)
When Vanilla Ice's little brother is forced to move to a ghetto, due to an unfortunate series of cliches, it's not long before further cliches ensue, forcing him back into the boxing ring. However due to his natural abilities at handling cliched situations, he soon begins to fight his way to the top and live the rags to riches dream cliche, until a big fat cliche, in the form of Brian Dennehy, as a vicious boxing promoter, tries to force him into a whole world of cliches that he doesn't want to be in...

Actually I'm being a tad mean here with the synopsis, because in spite of it's well worn characters, situations and storyline, Gladiator is still quite a lot of fun, benefiting from having a number of very likeable performers, a great little soundtrack and plenty of boxing action. Which although hardly realistic, is nontheless moderately bone crunching. Like I've said, the story is nothing new and it's unlikely to tax anyone but I hadn't seen this since it's original release on VHS and enjoyed every minute of this rewatch (rematch?). The locations and presumably wintery filming dates were well chosen, giving the ghetto a suitably bleak feel and look, which adds to it's charm.
For some reason I have a strange desire to see this film semi remade by an eastern European country. Just to see how they would handle the story.
Those of you who enjoyed this, would possibly also like Midnight Sting ('92).

The extras were non existent but the picture quality was nice enough.
3.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great movie guys, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gladiator [DVD] (DVD)
well a five rating for me as great movie guys great to watch and fight scenes well wicked to watch ,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very fast delivery., 2 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gladiator [DVD] (DVD)
Very good film with quite a twist at the end. Entertaining but one part slightly predictable but very watchable good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gladiator [DVD]
Gladiator [DVD] by Cuba Gooding Jr. (DVD - 2007)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews