Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Giant Bug B-Movie...Just Like Harryhausen Used to Make
OK. I admit it. Maybe I like cheap trashy movies (and having worked my way through just about every 1970s s/exploitation and grindhouse horror/thriller, that may well be the case), but I loved this movie. I had read all the rubbish reviews online, on amazon and imdb.com, yet still I bought it. Why? Because I was convinced it still had something to offer a diehard fan of...
Published on 7 May 2008 by Loxxibana

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Troopers 2
This is a movie for those who liked Starship troopers 1 and the slightly splashy space bug war
It does not stand up to the 1st and 3rd movies in this sequence but certainly entertains ST fans
Published 18 months ago by Thomas Sandstrom


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Troopers 2, 19 Feb 2013
By 
Thomas Sandstrom "Corwin56" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starship Troopers 2 - Hero Of The Federation [DVD] (DVD)
This is a movie for those who liked Starship troopers 1 and the slightly splashy space bug war
It does not stand up to the 1st and 3rd movies in this sequence but certainly entertains ST fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Giant Bug B-Movie...Just Like Harryhausen Used to Make, 7 May 2008
By 
This review is from: Starship Troopers 2 - Hero Of The Federation [DVD] (DVD)
OK. I admit it. Maybe I like cheap trashy movies (and having worked my way through just about every 1970s s/exploitation and grindhouse horror/thriller, that may well be the case), but I loved this movie. I had read all the rubbish reviews online, on amazon and imdb.com, yet still I bought it. Why? Because I was convinced it still had something to offer a diehard fan of the original movie, like me. The complaints I saw most frequently seemed to centre on how low-budget it looked. Well, funny that, eh.

Let's face it, if this film wasnt called Starship Troopers 2 and was titled Space Bug or something equally B-movie-esque, it would be happily accepted as exactly what it is: a cheap, visually inventive sci-fi schlock fest in the mould of Inseminoid or something similar. I can only imagine that people who give this film lousy reviews either a) expected far too much for a straight-to-video sequel to an admittedly kick-ass original, or b) arent big fans of cheesy splatter horror.

Kudos to Tippett for keeping the arch-fascist subtexts... the final montage of death and glory propaganda (juxtaposed with the most incompetent recruiting officer imagineable in the last scene), and the Mobile Infantry opening, are strangely uplifting in a worrying kind of way. That's probably Neumeier's point: how easy it is for propaganda to seduce people (as easy as it is for a pretty young blonde thing to seduce any male in her path).

Good rousing orchestral soundtrack, and a good use of CGI. The bugs look as good as they did in the movie. Other reviewers have complained about the tight framing and relentless close-ups, which actually aren't any different to what we're used to seeing on TV shows. Don't you get it, people? It doesn't look big, epic and cinematic because it wasn't made for the cinema! (Who slags off a TV cop show because it doesn't look like Dirty Harry?) Instead, it feels claustrophobic, creepy, perfectly in keeping with its setting. Tippett has stretched whatever minimal budget he had to produce something that is far better than the majority of reviews would suggest. Sure, there's nothing really that hugely artistic going on, the sets are dark, gritty and retro-industrial in style, but the execution isnt overshadowed by its ambition. Tippett realised his budgeting constraints and set out to make something that didnt try (and fail) to replicate the widescreen epic sweep of the original, and instead went for the human drama aspect, played out against darkly claustrophobic sets. The handheld/steadycam shots actually work within the context of the battle scenes. Black Hawk Down it aint, but it works on its own terms. If this is Tippett's first shot as a feature director, then I've seen far worse debuts.

Decent script by Ed Neumier, some good humour; not always brilliantly acted, although Capt. Dax, the General, and the cigar-chomping female Sargeant make up for their ham colleagues (plus, the chick who plays the Sargeant is one red hot momma - wasn't she also the Captain in the original movie?) Good gore for those who like that kind of thing, not too much to put off people who are upset by rubbery prosthetics and strawberry syrup (though those who are would have a real hard time watching the original movie, I'd guess.) Nice psychological subtexts as well. The new bug is quite interesting, though the sexual overtones have been over-emphasized by some reviewers (and there's more actual nudity in the first movie, by the way).

Good selection of extras on the DVD as well with featurettes, stills, etc. Watching the featurettes give you the impression that this was a labour of love for Tippett, who has dedicated his life to movie animation (and has been a big influence on my own visual work as well). Everyone involved in it seems to have loved the experience of working on the movie, which was shot in less than a month.

Yeah, I'll watch this again, because I really enjoyed it. It certainly did a damn sight more for me than the pitiful Hostel 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars By Far The Worst Of The 4 Films, 13 Jun 2013
By 
Alan (Stockport, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Starship Troopers 2 - Hero Of The Federation [DVD] (DVD)
There are now four Starship Troopers films, including the new animated "Invasion". The first and fourth are very good films, 3 is good. But number 2 is really poor - low budget, poor effects and poor acting - and too dark to see what's going on properly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars sequels, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starship Troopers 2 - Hero Of The Federation [DVD] (DVD)
as i really enjoyed the first starship troopers i overwrote my long standing opinion that sequels degrade the original
now i wish i had stood my ground
ps before you watch this sequel adjust the brightness setting on your tv as 50% is hardly visible to the naked eye!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Phil, 9 Nov 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Starship Troopers 2 - Hero Of The Federation [DVD] (DVD)
This is how studios cash in on a monsters franchise: hire a special effects guy to direct. A: he is cheaper and eager to break into directing (why? It's a movie law: everyone wants to direct); B: put on a next-to-nothing effects budget, he will work overtime in his own garage to make the result borderline bearable. As with alien vs predator 2, so with starship troopers 2. Of course the result is invariably awful and unlikely to land the special effects guy any real directing job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't be fooled!, 27 Aug 2008
This review is from: Starship Troopers 2 - Hero Of The Federation [DVD] (DVD)
This film is awful. If you ignore the appalling cgi and the even worse blue screening like previous reviews have suggested, your still left with the unoriginal, obvious and boring body snatchers-esk storyline.

It might say starship troopers 2 on the box, but this is no sequel. Its more a c-rate horror than anything. The film has nothing to do with the original apart from being set in the same universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bugs of no bugs, 13 Oct 2009
By 
J. R. Vine "film buff" (Essex England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starship Troopers 2 - Hero Of The Federation [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed the first film and was surprised, because sequel's are usually awful, but this film is not too bad if you like sci-fi bug films, which I do, I would recommend this film for a Saturday night!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughly decent stuff!!, 21 Aug 2008
By 
Robster (Watford, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Starship Troopers 2 - Hero Of The Federation [DVD] (DVD)
Ah, this ain't half bad you know!?

Sure, it's waaay scaled down from the original. Nowhere near as clever or socially horrifying and is extremely derivative, but...I rather enjoyed it...

This time out, our blindly faithful team of Troopers are holed up in an outpost awaiting rescue from a massive bug attack when something strikes from within...

The external fight scenes are pretty good and the effects are fine apart from the toothless guns, but it's let down a bit with the closer CGI that comes in the 2nd half of the film.

It's pretty obvious the budget is tiny (7M compared to 100M for No.1), but everyone does their best and the story they've opted to (had to) tell doesn't require vast soundstages or planetscapes...

Overall, good fun... And you get Ed Lauter from Digital Man!! What else do you want??

Roll on No.3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No where near as bad as people make out, 7 Jan 2009
By 
S. Clarke (Loughborough uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Starship Troopers 2 - Hero Of The Federation [DVD] (DVD)
This film was made on a much smaller budget then the first and obviously this is noticeable throughout the film. However this is a very good film to watch if you are a fan of the genre.

People seem to dislike it as it is not on the same grand scale as the first which is totally unfair as this film gets round the reduced funds by concentrating on a specific battle and runs with a solitary story line throughout without trying to over complicate things.

There are numerous battles that are highly entertaining and the cheesy one liners are there for all to hear and it works very well.

Providing you take this film to be a story related to the Starship Troopers universe and not as a direct follow on to the first you won't be disappointed. It was never going to compare to the first in terms of grandeur but it does have all the requirements to make it a enjoyable and entertaining watch.

If you like Starship Troopers and you like a bit of mindless gory entertainment you can do considerably worse then watching this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Science Fiction, Horror., 19 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. P. G. Bronks "Peter G Bronks" (Sheffield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Starship Troopers 2 - Hero Of The Federation [DVD] (DVD)
Starship Troopers 2 - Hero Of The Federation [DVD] [2003]
I found this film not as good as the first but still very enjoyable. Love the Bugs! Highly recommended for people who like their Science Fiction with gore and humour!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Starship Troopers 2 - Hero Of The Federation [DVD]
2.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews