Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars16
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£20.96+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 3 April 2008
Wow! I'm completely blown away by this album. Tal is an incredible player for one so young and easily inhabits the hallowed ground of bass greats such as Jeff Berlin, Jimmy Haslip and Jaco Pastorious. She has the excitement and maturity in her playing that many technically brilliant players often fail to realise.

This girl REALLY cuts the mustard!

It helps that she co-wrote and played with the innovative guitarist Wayne Krantz on this debut. Krantz is singularly the most original and dynamic musician of his generation and their ferocious combination really light this album up. If you are a Weather Report or Yellow Jackets fan then you will lap it up!

The most exciting, fresh and musical jazz-fusion I've heard in years. Superb.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2013
In my humble opinion this album sounds very much as fusion from the seventies. I personally think that was when fusion was the best. This is an album with really good musicians doing what they do best: playing. I think that they had good fun recording this album. Tal is a truly gifted bass player and I do hear influences from Jaco and many more. Great album if you are in to this kind of music. So if you like the Jazz–Rock era this is an album for you, go out and buy it and support real musicians.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2009
I bought this CD after seeing the DVD of her playing with Jeff Beck at Ronnie Scotts. The rest of the band comprises Wayne Krantz on guitar, Keith Carlock on drums, Geoffrey Keezer on piano, and Seamus Blake on tenor sax.
This is a very nice jazz-fusion album which really gets going from track 3 onwards. I can hear echoes of early Bill Bruford(One of a Kind), RTF, YellowJackets and even Bruce Hornsby. Tal Wilkenfeld impresses throughout, and gets some lovely singing basslines going, especially on the slower Track 3, and Keith Carlock's drums drive things along nicely.
Seamus Blake's sound is a little too "smooth jazz" for my liking, but he does get more adventurous on Track 6.
Its not mould-breaking or pushing boundaries in any way,just a really good listen. Highly recommended.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2008
I saw Tal playing for Jeff Beck at Ronnie Scotts and was so blown away how good she was I went out and bought this cd. For her first release this album is astonishing! Imagine your favourite fusion then add a fresh young original dynamic. Think Marcus Miller, Jaco Pastorius, and so many more.... She is without a doubt one of the best bass players of many generations. In her twenties now who knows what heights she will reach. Great Stuff!
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2015
If you like your 'jazz rock'/'fusion' with excitement and bite, you'll love this. Tal Wilenfeld's arrangements are tight and complex and the soloing innovative and sometimes 'on the edge'. The musical capacity of this band is high and the exitement of youth shines through. As a fan of Weather Report and Yellow Jackets, this brings something else to the table.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2009
I think this is a fantastic CD. Especially when you consider her young years. Her playing has a maturity beyond her years. From a personal point of view there isn't a bad track on this CD. It is definitely in the style of Jaco Pastorius, which is no mean feat. She is surrounded by excellent musicians. If you like this you'll like her playing on the Jeff Beck Live at Ronnie Scott's CD and DVD. She's a really good bass player now, and will be even better in the years to come. My recommendation is to get this CD if you are into jazz and jazz fusions. I can't wait for her next CD.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
can there be a more stunning and surprising player,she learnt guitar then quickly picked bass up,the guys at the U tube clinic clip have to be seen to be believed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2015
I wasn't sure I was going to like this album and to be honest I didn't take to it at first. However, it does grow on you and worth giving it a chance
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2014
Great CD especially if you like Jazz. Tal is an amazing bass guitarist. I would recommend this CD to people who like jazz type music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2014
Well, what can i say, i love it, Plain&simple
.... It's "launge"music... And it's not :-D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)