Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good and unique driving game.
"Test Drive Unlimited: A drving enthusiast's view."

We have seen many different types of racing game on the Xbox 360, from the rock-hard simulation in Forza Motorsport 2, to the semi-realistic arcade racing on PGR4, to the full on foot to the floor adrenaline racers like Burnout: Paradise.

Well, Test Drive Unlimited, while not a new title, is good...
Published on 12 July 2008 by D. A. Tremlett

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Test Drive Before You Buy
The test drive franchise has been around since... well forever and have always usually fell into the love 'em hate em' catagory. This is the first next-gen attempt and I can say it both delights and dissapoints in equal measure. Delights include the the fact that all cars look like fresh out of the showroom originals and the game scenery is well laid and thought out...
Published on 21 Dec 2007 by A.J. Gamble


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good and unique driving game., 12 July 2008
By 
D. A. Tremlett (Buckie, Scotland.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Test Drive Unlimited (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
"Test Drive Unlimited: A drving enthusiast's view."

We have seen many different types of racing game on the Xbox 360, from the rock-hard simulation in Forza Motorsport 2, to the semi-realistic arcade racing on PGR4, to the full on foot to the floor adrenaline racers like Burnout: Paradise.

Well, Test Drive Unlimited, while not a new title, is good and interesting in that a put's a unique spin on an established genre.

Racing games are not known for their epic, sweeping storylines, and TDU is no different. This time you play a hotshot racer, who has landed on the island of Oahu, Hawaii, and you set out to make a name for yourself.

Graphics.

Firstly the cars themselves look, beautiful, they have been modelled from every angle in beautiful detail, you can see a lot of effort went into replicating each vehicle fully. The bodywork is perfect from every angle and the in-car driver's seat view, is very realistic as you can see all the dials, indicators etc and even little details, like the driver, pressing down on the pedals or changing gear as you accelerate this is all very satisfying on the eyes.

The Motorcyles are also, very well done, and allow you a chance to admire the character modelling, sadly there are no pedestrians, so this only way asides from wardrobe mode, to have a good llook at the character you have created, there is also a a Helmet view for riding the motorcycles, but I would avoid it, unless you enjoy being nauseated through the turns.

The island of Oahu, has been replicated perfectly, the scenery is stunning, whether it be the inner city streets and boulevards of the cities and towns bustling with traffic to the twisting mountain roads and back country lanes going past villages and farms.

The only that is slightly disappointing thing is that there are no weather effects to speak of save for a few crowds floating overhead occasionally.

Also the game feature's no damage model, NPC cars can be damaged, but your car can crash into a wall at 200 plus mph and drive away without a scratch.

Rating 8/10

Sound

The sound in the game is very good, every car's engine has a unique sound to it. Whether it be the turbo charged whine of straight-6 in a Nissan R34 Skyline, the high pitched wail of a Ferrari V12 in a 575, or the deep throaty roar of a big V8 in an old school muscle car like the Shelby Mustang GT500, or the scream of a Kawasaki Ninja as you accelerate.

The other effects are good, gearboxe's click as you go through the gears, tyre screech and scream as you gun the engine and spin your wheels off the line.

I chose not to review the music in the game, as I suspect that most gamer's will prefer to stream your music of choice through the dashboard.

Rating 9/10

Gameplay

There are three things that make Test Drive Unlimited unique among racing games. The first is that the game is a sandbox title, rather than being restricted to race tracks like most games, you are free to drive wherever you please, and boy oh boy, is it good, the island of Oahu is huge and will keep you exploring, there are plenty of places to drive. Go into the center of town and drag race down the boulevards, or drive down the motorways, or tear it up through the mountain roads and hills, drive wherever you please.

Another thing that makes Test Drive Unlimited unique, is that as long as you are connected to Xbox Live, Test Drive Unlimited is always online, so you will frequently cross the paths of other racers while you drive around, and how you interact is upto you. You can just drive your separate ways, join up and just cruise, or challenge them for a head to head to race.

The great thing about this, is that unlike other racing games, TDU does not force you into being competitive all the time, in the way that Forza 2 or PGR4 does. The game allows you to drive at your own pace, whether you are just admiring the scenery or driving with a few friends or pushing your limits in a race against other players.

Finally the driving engine itself, now this is what makes or breaks a good racer. So thankfully, it's a good one here. The game drive quite realistically, but not so much that it punishes every mistake you make. It manages to find a happy medium, allowing you to to drive as you please, it follows the standard layout R Trigger accelerates L Trigger Brakes Of course every car handles differently, but all can be mastered with relative ease.

For those wanting a realistic experience the good news is, that the game is fully compatible with the MS Wireless Wheel, and works very well with it.

Rating 8/10

The Cars.

Now in a driving game such as this, the cars are important, so I though I would give a quick rundown of what to expect. Cars range from the 60s right upto the just out models, you get every thing from old school muscle cars like the Shelby Mustang GT500 to the newest Ferrari, Lotus, Aston Martin, Koenigsegg, Spyker, Audi, Ford, Mercedes Benz, Lamborghini, Dodge and Chevrolet offerings and that doesn't include the cars that can be downloaded from the Xbox marketplace.

Overall Rating.

This is a top notch game and will offer up many hours of enjoyment, and I as a racing enthusiast with an eye only for top quality, can happily give this game my highest recommendations I have enjoyed thoroughly, so if you like cars and driving you should give this a go.

Rating. 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars test drive, 26 Dec 2013
By 
T. Earle "sugarplum" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Test Drive Unlimited (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
game had been recommended to us and is absolutely brilliant. My son loves it. Would definately recommend to anyone. thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Game, 30 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Test Drive Unlimited (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Good game, quick delivery.

The game is great, and there isn't much difference between this and Test Drive 2.

Overall a good game, But I don't like the way the camera moves with the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Test Drive Before You Buy, 21 Dec 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Test Drive Unlimited (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The test drive franchise has been around since... well forever and have always usually fell into the love 'em hate em' catagory. This is the first next-gen attempt and I can say it both delights and dissapoints in equal measure. Delights include the the fact that all cars look like fresh out of the showroom originals and the game scenery is well laid and thought out. Another plus is the different types of missions available which include, standered racing, Speedtrap Racing, Delivery missions (delivering a car or pacvkage to a destination) or hitchhiker missions (Giving people a lift in your car) The cars drive smoothly and won't take you long to handle so it is easy to get into and there is a lot of choice in car models to drive and the game will get you to drive certain cars for certain missions providing you with plenty of chance to fill that garage. Dissapointments in this game unfortunately are equally as numerous these include and perhaps the most frustrating to some racing fans is that all the cars in the game are super-cars and thier is not a great selection of bikes, If you are a fan of driving classics like the subaru impreza, Nissan skyline or an EVO IX or want to drive your own car in the game you will be dissappointment as most of these are unavailable in the standered version of the game (Xbox Marketplace Packs available)Another fault of this game is that although the game has a large number of missions available they are all pretty similer and some are over very long distences and have a point score meter which will decrease when you crash and when you reach 0 will fail the mission which can result in you failing having driven for nearly 40 game miles and when you succeed in these missions you only gain coupons which allow you to dress an avatar you hardley see. which can make them pointless. Police chases also feature in the game but are a hindrence as for the slightest offence they will chase you and if you are caught will take your game cash which can go into the 100000's and in a game where you require certain models to advance this can hinder your gameplay

Overall If you are looking for a Good looking racing game with all the Super-cars you can dream about and a racing game you can pick up and play go for it.

But if you are looking for a Racing game with reallistic style driving and prefer a more variety in the types of cars available and how they handle give this a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The game so good I bought it 3 times!, 12 Dec 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Test Drive Unlimited (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I first bought Test Drive Unlimited on the PC in 2007. Switching from PC to the Xbox 360 earlier this year I was eager to see what it was like on a next-gen console.

I tried to recapture the glory days of the PC, but stunning HD games such as PGR4, GRID & DiRT simply took over, TDU got lost in fold and I eventually sold it. Fast forward nearly a year to Midnight Club: Los Angeles. A game that has equal capacity to stun and annoy you at the same time. Although MC: LA was stunning visually, its insane level of AI and the fact you are constantly cajoled into racing left me pining for the more simple life of TDU

So I bought it once more, and I'm very pleased I have. Firstly you can pick it up under the "Classic" label now so it only means 15.00 which is a steal for what you get. O'ahu is both stunning and accurate. The vehicles are beautifully detailed, inside and out the selection is fantastic. You really "feel" you are there, which for someone who went to Hawaii for their honeymoon is a great thing.

I've been gaming for 20+ years and have owned just over 50 driving games and many platforms and I never felt that I had more real-world freedom than with TDU. You can go anywhere you like in virtually any car that takes your fancy. The races/challenges you take part in earn you money which you can spend on both cars and real estate. There is a sense of achievement with each win or completion of task. What could be better than receiving a cool $130,000 for a perfect car transport mission only to think "umm, do I want a Ferrari or an Aston Martin, or shall I just get that beachside mansion?!"

The cars have realistic handling and the game works well with the MS Wheel, (Although you are not able to look left and right with the wheel which is its only narc!)

The gameplay is solid and smooth, but the downside there is no damage engine written into the game for your car.

So if you are looking for a real world location, licensed cars and freedom - get TDU, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST REAL LIFE DRIVING STYLE SIM YET, 13 Dec 2007
By 
I. Whaley "The Truthfull Techy" (ENGLAND/YOKSHIRE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Test Drive Unlimited (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
At just under 13 pounds this could be the best buy ever.You have bikes and cars.lots of veiw points...you can even adjust your seat for a better position whilst on inside veiw.The inside veiw has to be the best ever and not just for looks but for feel.Meet people online in a virtual world and just drive .Become a group of bikers out for a spin Join race clubs.Meet up in lobbys like other racing games. do side missions like pick up hitch hikers or drop of a parcel and best of all drive peoples cars to destinatoins getting to drive cars not yet affordable.Most of the time when I play I think I will do some missions make some money but end up cruising for hours with people I meet and just tailing each other at break neck speeds whilst weaving traffic.you crash they take over and the chase is back on.........the ultimat driving game...oh by the way you can choose between full assist no assist etc and it makes such a difference that one day its a driving sim and the other an awsome arcade racer BUY BUY BUY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like most games..., 24 Jun 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Test Drive Unlimited (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
you need to give it a chance. It takes some skill to become good at TDU. Once you finish it, it is less appealing (for me anyway), but when I made the concerted effort to get the achievements I found it to be a thouroghly enjoyable experience. There are a couple of races in this game that far surpass any track in any racing game (I have played) before or since. A personal favourite being one of the last races- the Maserati challenge, look out for it!

The graphics and sound are great. The Maserati Gransport sounds awesome (as used in above challenge), and apparently you can put your own songs on the radio but I didn't bother, preferring the engine noise etc. I stopped playing for a good few months but went back on at the weekend and found that there are still people online with it, which goes to show how good it is (considering its age). It is an absolute steal at this price and I fully recommend it to any racing nut.

Random comments:
The only -ve part of the game was the 'shopping' aspect, but that is a personal opinion.

Overall it is better than Forza 2, though that is a good game too (I don't rate any of the current gen PGR's).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars realism and playability for the finest console, 17 May 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Test Drive Unlimited (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
initially a tough game to get to grips with but stick with it and you'll soon become addictive - the graphics are out of this world along with sounds and the gameplay is not far off atall. the actual map that you 'live' in takes your breath away.

one of the best driving sims there is, beaten only by forza 2 in my opinion!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classy, But Under The Surface Just A Little Bit Shallow, 19 Sep 2010
By 
N Thompson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Test Drive Unlimited (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having already owned Test Drive Unlimited on PS2 I bought this as it had added missions, and bikes. In truth it is certainly bigger, but despite being on a next generation console not better. The vehicle controls are sproradic, the difficulty level of races inconsistent, and the police presence is a constant annoyance with higher wanted levels impossible to escape resulting in ridiculous fines amounting to several races winnings. The side missions are a mixed bunch too - essentially variations of timed races, some resulting in financial reward, others rewarding tickets to buy clothes - the latter an odd choice bearing in mind you rarely see the driver so are unlikely to get any real sense of achievement out of stocking up their wardrobe.

So a huge amount of negatives then. On the plus side, theres a lot of vehicles, and a lot of racing to get through before completing the game. Theres no mistaking its glossy looks and classy appeal, its just below the surface of it all, it just seems a bit shallow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hot and Cold, 29 Aug 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Test Drive Unlimited (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Initially I like many others had a bit of a time getting to grips with the game physics when driving on this game. Eventually i got used to it and i really enjoy those moments when you find yourself on a clear stretch of road in a fast car like the Koenigsegg or Zonda. Though these things were fun eventually I started to lose my temper with the braking on some cars and the more than less unhelpful GPS system. When doing a race in a Mclaren SLR(a car known for having extremely hard brakes) im having to put the brakes on before i can even see the corner on the screen and the only reason i know its there is because i went straight through it the first time with both the main brake and handbrake on.The GPS seems to have been built with the idea that your going to be going 30mph everywhere because when its guiding you around the island its not so bad but when you have it switch on in races,which sometiems you jsut wouldnt be able to do without it, it seems to wait until the last possible second to tell you to turn left and you overshoot it because your doing 200mph and have no possible chance of braking in time. Couple that with the random arrows that tell you pointlessly where to go in some cases and it makes for a really big distraction.

The graphics though are immense and its really fun trying to build a virtual version of yourself. My avatar is usually wandering around in sandles bermuda shorts and a scruffy shirt which still makes me chuckle when going into a car shop to buy a car worth more than a million. The cars/bikes themselves are varied enough that i actually own all of my favourite cars/bikes in from round the world because its all road cars not racing cars. The general interest the game inspires also helps a lot as i've even got my girlfriend doing the car transport missions because you are paid to drive a car from A to B without damaging it and theres no time limit so shes happy to drive a ferrari 20 miles at 30mph,lol.

Personally i think this game is a car enthusiasts game trying to be arcade or vice versa and something somewhere hasnt quite geled properly and im not sure what. Some days i cant stand playing this game other days i cant wait to put it in the console.

I borrowed it from a friend before i bought it and decided to buy it when it got to a more reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Test Drive Unlimited (Xbox 360)
Test Drive Unlimited (Xbox 360) by Namco Bandai (Xbox 360)
17.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews