Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is what got me into Guyver.
Guyver: The dark hero is a film based loosly from the manga Guyver bio-booster armor. It follows the story of a boy who finds a mysterious Guyver unit, accidently activating it he is entrusted with the powers of the Guyver. And so the story starts.
Although the film and the anime are not really the same story-wise its still a good thing to watch if your a Guyver fan...
Published on 30 Oct 2003

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars S'okay but the Cartoon Series is FAR better
The martial arts in this film are good and some of the ideas from the series are translated well. But... the costumes are bad, the zoanoids in particular look like rejects from a sci-fi convention. The guyver costume is okay (I like the fact that they made parts of it move - more "realistic" for biological armour).
The music is very bad, very very bad...
Published on 12 Mar 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is what got me into Guyver., 30 Oct 2003
By A Customer
Guyver: The dark hero is a film based loosly from the manga Guyver bio-booster armor. It follows the story of a boy who finds a mysterious Guyver unit, accidently activating it he is entrusted with the powers of the Guyver. And so the story starts.
Although the film and the anime are not really the same story-wise its still a good thing to watch if your a Guyver fan. Non-guyver fans may find it abit tedious and at times boring.
The main difference is that Sho (or Shaun, in the film) is now a man and not a high school boy. After the first movie, Mutronics, Shaun defeats the evil Zoalord and rescues his girlfriend.He tries to live a normal life. Although with most films like this you know that will never happen.
Drawn by the Guyver to an archeological dig Shaun must uncover the secrets of the Guyver and find his own destiny whilst trying to thwart the plans of Chronos who have suddenly emerged again.
The action is there, the romance, the drama etc. The fights are choreographed well and the Guyver suit looks pretty true to the original manga design (and it looks much better than from the first movie). I agree that the Zoanoids could of had better designs and powers. It is like they are just there for the Guyver to kill. The last fight between the Guyver and the Guyver-zoanoid is one you will want to watch again and again. Especially when they use the blades on their arms to fight.
All in all its a good movie. You will enjoy it more if you have some Guyver history though so be warned if you know nothing about Guyver.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars S'okay but the Cartoon Series is FAR better, 12 Mar 2001
By A Customer
The martial arts in this film are good and some of the ideas from the series are translated well. But... the costumes are bad, the zoanoids in particular look like rejects from a sci-fi convention. The guyver costume is okay (I like the fact that they made parts of it move - more "realistic" for biological armour).
The music is very bad, very very bad. Some of the Zoanoid noises are particularly bad (one sounds like a cross between a bear with a sore paw and a kitten).
The acting is a little hammy, but tolerable. Interesting tidbit of info, the actor who plays Sean (David Hayter) is the voice of Solid Snake in the Videogame "Metal Gear Solid"
The fight scenes are very well choreographed (especially towards the end). Some very interesting stunts and transformation sequences. In particular the high fall stunt about 2/3 of the way through the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!, 12 Sep 2007
By 
Peter Miser "Daisuke Niwa" (Here And There) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Guyver: Dark Hero - Special Extended Version [DVD] (DVD)
Even though this movie is not up to date in today's CGI Animation productions, it was still one incredible film!!! I strongly suggest this movie to all retro/old school Guyver and Power Ranger fans. All In All This Movie Is Definately Worth Seeing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watch the cartoon not the film mate!, 28 Oct 2000
By 
Mr. R. Humphreys (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film is ok but I would best recommend the cartoon series. This film is ok thou, it involves some decent martial arts but as the Guyver in this isn't 7ft tall and got all these powers like the one in the cartoon. Not as good as the first film (Mutronics) but still give it a go. Don't go by my opion as everyone has their ownb and thats all that counts!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aliens weapons, mystery, love, hate its all here...., 25 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This film started it for me. Now I love guyver. If I had to give my honest opinion, I'd say this film was very good, The guyver suit itself maybe rubber but its a VERY good rubber suit. The zoanoids are a let down as they have no real special powers like in the comics or anime. This film has moderate gore, the sfx were billant for saying this was done for a under $1 million budget, the sfx re better than the first. The storyline is good, written by someone who really understands the mind of thre guyvers host. The main gripe I have about this film is that I hunt for uncut and special editions of films, the PAL version of this film has about 15 mins of action taken out of it, yet the american and japense editions has these 15 mins in them. these show the romantic scenes, and seans nightmare of the guyver, also they show how much the guyver calls to him. If you are a comic/anime fan of the series find soeone in the guyver cummity toi sell you th US one, you'll like that more. The PAL version is adiqate as an action movie not for the guyver characteristion tht the US had.... but if your like me you'll have them both!!! IFyou have a DVD player buy the DVD its cheaper andyou get better quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "..CLASSIC CULT SCI-FI MOVIE..", 14 Mar 2014
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guyver: Dark Hero - Special Extended Version [DVD] (DVD)
Great live action movie based on the popular manga animated series, you don't have to be a fan to get into the movie as its a fun and very cool action sci-fi with plenty of martial arts fight scenes, great effects and practical make-up is amazing on the monster man in suit effects and the alien guyver suit, they have done an amazing job of bringing it to life, this is an extended cut that around 20mins longer I think than the original DVD release, fingers crossed this gets picked up for special edition Blu-ray release soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kung Fu with an Alien touch..., 6 Nov 2009
By 
Martin Swift (Scotland. U. K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Guyver: Dark Hero - Special Extended Version [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw the original Guyver movie starring Mark Hamill of Star Wars Luke Skywalker fame...which was good in my opinion and one if available in Region 1. I would also get...
This movie follows on from that original and David Hayter plays so well that he looks in all sense of the phrase...the locigal successor...he makes this movie his own.
The story is based on the Japanese original storyline from the animee series, but set in America (where else...) and goes a little more further into how the Guyver came into being...its all science fiction folks...beings from another world creating something that can only come out of someone imagination...I take it for its entertaining value and know that some people will not like this kind of movie...of this I don't worry as there are plenty of movies other people do not like that are fiction in other genres that i'm not keen on either...
Its basically take it or leave it...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Guyver, 23 Mar 2007
By 
Mr. C. D. Morrison "Mac-D.J." (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have seen both the uncut and the edited version of "The Guyver", and of course the uncut version is the better of the two.

Steve Wang captured the true essence of the Manga series, but he obviously had a poor budget judging by the costumes they used for the zolanoids. He did however make up for this with some exceptional martial arts and an "easy to get into" storyline.

The story picks up where (the by far inferior) "Mutronics" left off. David Hayter plays the lead character Sean, and is a far better screenwriter (He wrote the first and co-wrote the second X-Men films !!) and voice actor (He is the voice of Solid Snake in the "MetalGear Solid" game series !!) than he is a screen actor. But, when his alter-ego appeared (The stunt actor doing all the martial arts in the rubber Guyver suit) you was on the edge of your seat watching the jaw-dropping moves he was doing.

Overall it is a good bit of escapism for the duration of the film and hardcore manga fans will not be disappointed.

THUMBS UP !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable...worth watching!, 26 Aug 2014
This review is from: Guyver: Dark Hero - Special Extended Version [DVD] (DVD)
I was a bit fan of this movie when I saw a very bad copy rented from my local video shop! Watching it again was a real memory jogger and I truly enjoyed it, even the naff "power rangers style" baddies were a lot more cool than I remembered!!
Good sci-fi popcorn movie with a unique hero...as the damsel in distress says "every girl wants to be rescued by a night in shining armour...even if he wears it on the inside...".
Get it for the silly action fix but enjoy it when you realize how much other movies and television series have borrowed from the movie story arc!!
Supplier provided regular updates on my order and delivered well in time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE GUYVER RULES!, 23 Aug 2000
By A Customer
Ok i'm what you might call a sci-fi freak and i really like Manga and Anime so when the brought this out i was overjoyed! the story is brilliant the effects are great (for the time it was made)and i love the acting! its full of fighting and gore and just rocks if you like the manga version. oh and by the way..if you listen you'll find that Shawn(david Hayter)is actually solid snake from metal gear solid. This film rules and if you ever find it i would reccomend the first film Meutronics (i think thats how its spelt)because that is good too. THIS FILM RULES AND I ORDER YOU TO BUY IT! peace out! Dodzi.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Guyver: Dark Hero - Special Extended Version [DVD]
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews