Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short, but captures the main points
Excellent animation with a good eye for real and assumed historical detail, and some imaginative settings. This races through the main events of the epic poem, so some of the palpable fear, the oppressive demands of duty and the unstinting heroism of the main characters are a bit lacking, but as an accessible introduction I would give it 5 stars (1 star docked for brevity)
Published on 8 April 2009 by Hectare

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Ok
Published 6 days ago by artemisprowl


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short, but captures the main points, 8 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beowulf [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent animation with a good eye for real and assumed historical detail, and some imaginative settings. This races through the main events of the epic poem, so some of the palpable fear, the oppressive demands of duty and the unstinting heroism of the main characters are a bit lacking, but as an accessible introduction I would give it 5 stars (1 star docked for brevity)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 21 Jan 2009
This review is from: Beowulf [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a delightful retelling of the Anglo-Saxon tale, which is set in Denmark and Sweden, and contains nothing English whatsoever, using animated graphics; half narrated, half enacted with the spoken voices of several well-known British actors, including Derek Jacobi and Joseph Fiennes. Quite short, at 27 minutes, it is infinitely more true to the original than the recent productions by Zemeckis and Sturluson. There are no silly interpolated extra characters, sub-plots, or post-modern interpretations of the story's "meaning". The monsters are traditional, shapeless, scary and mysterious. The mead-hall is splendid and magnificent. Beowulf is noble, brave and gentle. All aspects are left unexplained: things just happen and the viewer is free to read whatever interpretation he feels like into the events. Consequently it is really more intellectually stimulating than the big-budget films. Although it is violent, there is nothing distasteful about any of it, and should be suitable for older children as well as adults. I was left wishing it had been longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars beowulf, 25 Jun 2008
By 
Kindle Customer (Chesterfield England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beowulf [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
this is a short but faithfull film based on a classic story much better than the cgi tripe we now have , one for all ages to enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great version, but not a U, 11 May 2010
By 
This review is from: Beowulf [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD to show my year 5 class when we were studying the Anglo-Saxons. The DVD itself is great, a little scary at times, but not too scary. However I was slightly irritated to discover that it is actually a PG: not a problem for most punters I know, but a pain when you have to ask parents' permission to show it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars My wife uses this as a teaching tool, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beowulf [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent teaching resource for children - doesn't have all of the sex and violence which is so prevalent in other modern versions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beowulf [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
I Bought this for a school topic on Vikings, we had read the story and the kids were desperate to see the film. It was fab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beowolf 1998 film., 16 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beowulf [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
A film that is more in the cartoon type of style, but nevertheless well done and as it is in the cartoon style can be watched by younger viewers. Well worth the bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent all round, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beowulf [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Very good animation combined with a prime cast. Perfect for KS2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 22 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beowulf [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the recent animated one., 28 Nov 2007
By 
C. Yule "Chris Yule" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beowulf [1998] [DVD] (DVD)
Ignore the idiotic ramblings of the previous reviewer. This isn't the one with a digital version of Angelina Jolie with her togs off..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beowulf [1998] [DVD]
Beowulf [1998] [DVD] by Yuri Kulakov (DVD - 2007)
£6.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews