Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-Rounded Comedy Drama - Indian Culture in Britain; Girls and Football
"Bend It" is a film about tackling adversity.

A major focus of the film is Jess tackling her family's adversity to her playing football. Her parents want her to get married at age 17/18, to a "good Indian boy" and her Mum wants Jess to learn how to cook a "full Indian meal".

Another theme of adversity, although one not given much focus, is racism...
Published on 9 Sep 2007 by Gerard Finlay

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable enough, but somewhat overrated.
In a similar vein to East Is East, this film is a fairly lightweight look at second generation Asian immigrants and their struggle to find their place in the clash between their families traditional culture, and that of the country in which they are living. It's made harder still for lead character Jess (Parminder Nagra), as her desire to play football is something that...
Published on 9 Oct 2007 by Lukens


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best, 16 Nov 2002
By A Customer
This film is excellent. It is refreshingly funny whilst tackling some serious issues. Even though the main chracter is an Indian female footballer, you don't have to be any of these things to enjoy the film. This is a must-see for all the family which can be (and will be!) watched over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i laughed and laughed, 14 Feb 2003
By A Customer
okay, i'm an indian-american woman, so maybe i'm biased (when jess's mother mentions 'round chapates' i was reminded of my own mother's anecdotes about india)(i also am a sucker for this jonathan rhys-meyers, who is quite a looker), but i just loved this movie. it was light-hearted enough to make my husband and me laugh quite a bit, even though we had a fight minutes before it started; and i found it quite compelling in spite of the fact that i don't like sports much and i hadn't really ever heard of this mr. beckham. anyhoo, there were silly parts, and i don't know how realistic it is, but it was what i wanted at the time: a good enough story in which everyone eventually turned out to be a good person, doing what was the right thing to do, featuring cute boys (one really really cute man) and lots of indian food (oh how i miss mom's cooking).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Oct 2014
This review is from: Bend It Like Beckham [DVD] (DVD)
Such a great movie!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Laugh out loud funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant, thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's Just A Comedy But..., 28 Sep 2003
By A Customer
There's two ways of looking at this film. On one hand, yes, it is unbelievable in places - there is no way that Jess's mother would simply back down and agree to her daughter becoming a US footballer (sorry, SOH-KAH player) after her husband's speech, and in some ways, this film makes light of the thorny issues of arranged marriages and cross-cultural divides, when reality can be a lot more brutal and racist.
However, at the end of the day, it's just a "feel-good" comedy and, as such, it's definitely worth a few watches. While Parminder Nagra's slow-motion decisive goal isn't anywhere near as good as Pele's in the classic 'Escape To Victory', she's definitely a lot better looking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant Film .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 8 Sep 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bend It Like Beckham [DVD] (DVD)
Good fun film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good film and it works on my computer, 3 May 2011
This review is from: Bend It Like Beckham [DVD] (DVD)
I like the film, obviously (otherwise it would be odd to buy it) and was positivly surprised when it worked on my computer as well as my DVD player (I have had some problems with showing DVD's on my computer)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great Movie, 12 Sep 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my sons who are 13 & 12. It was a great hit and Ienjoyed it too as I havn't seen it for years. Good family fun (as long as your kids aren't too small). My youngest has already watched it twice - so it was worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bend It Like Beckham [DVD]
Bend It Like Beckham [DVD] by Gurinder Chadha (DVD - 2007)
£3.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews