Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars157
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 August 2015
My daughter wanted this, she really enjoyed it, good family movie
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2015
Such a funny film well worth the money as I watch it all the time
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2015
Wonderful film. Funny but with a greater message underneath!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
good value and old film but funny and good to have a laugh.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2015
love the movie bought the DVD for my daughter, good buy
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2004
You don't need to like or understand football to like and understand this film. I myself can`t abide football (being Welsh rugby is definitely the game for me!) but place this film as one of the best I`ve seen for a long while.
It follows a summer in the life of Jess, a stunning, intelligent, football-mad Asian who has a chance at becoming a profesional football player, but has a lot of battles to fight on the way. The story is mainly centered around her relationship with her parents who have very strong views on how she should lead her life (What nice Asian boy will want a girl that spends her time showing her legs on a football field instead of staying at home cooking Aloo Gobi?)
There`s also the relationship with her best friend Jules, and the problem that all bestfriends encounter-falling for the same man! Joe the girls coach is the reason behind their argument, but as you may guess it all works out fine in the end.
Thankfully this film was done on a budget so all the extras are real people (most of the football team are real players, and the unimmediate family are made up of members of Gurinder Chadha`s family and friends) leaving a very realistic edge to the film.
There are some very funny moments in the film (look out for the scene with the mobiles), but the film is not only a comedy, it`s a great many things.
A truly great film, that I will watch again and again and again.
(If you do get the DVD I suggest that you watch it the whole way through with Chadha`s commentary as it gives you even more of an insight into the life of a British Asian living in the London area)
0Comment6 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2015
Seen it several times now and it is as good as ever!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
Granddaughter enjoyed film. Says it was brilliant.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2005
"Bend it like Beckham" is a film about dreams, more specifically about the dream of Jess (Parminder Nagra), a young teenager who would love to play football as well as her idol, David Beckham. There are two problems, though. The first is the fact that she is a girl, and the second is her very traditional Hindu family.
The first problem proves to be easily surmountable, as Jess meets Jules (Keira Knightley), a girl who happens to play in the local football team. Jules introduces Jess to the coach of her team, Joe (Jonathan Rhys-Meyers). Despite some initial skepticism, Joe incorporates Jess to the team, after a great try out.
Unfortunately, Jess cannot share her happiness with her family. Her parents are immigrants from India, and even though they have lived in England for a long time they still cherish their old traditions. Of course, and according to them, a good girl shouldn't play football: she should think about getting married :)
As a result, Jess hides the good news from her father (Anupam Kher), mother (Shaheen Khan) and sister (Archie Punjabi), and begins to play football with her new team. As you can imagine, keeping her family from finding out the truth will be quite difficult and hectic. Meanwhile, we will learn some things about cultural differences, friendship, love and (why not?) football.
On the whole, I highly recommend this movie, even if you aren't that much into football. It is very entertaining, but it also helps you to reflect on our increasingly multicultural societies. I specially liked the overall positive message, and I would like to recommend this movie to you and your family. It is a winning goal :)
Belen Alcat
0Comment4 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2003
Movie:
This is a very funny movie and, in my opinion, an even better British comedy then Bridget Jones's Diary. It tells the story of two late teenage girls, who play football. One, Jess, the main character, who's Indian parents will not allow her to play football, and the other, Jules, who has a very supportive father and a homophobic mother, who in my opinion is the funniest actors in the film. The film depicts Indian life in a way which is, apparently, very realistic, not being Indian myself I wouldn't know. In conclusion this is a film you will love, even if you do not like football.
DVD Extras:
The DVD features a great number of extras, including audio commentary, cooking featurettes, recipies, behind the scenes looks, and ten deleted scenes.
0Comment8 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.