Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well-Rounded Comedy Drama - Indian Culture in Britain; Girls and Football
"Bend It" is a film about tackling adversity.

A major focus of the film is Jess tackling her family's adversity to her playing football. Her parents want her to get married at age 17/18, to a "good Indian boy" and her Mum wants Jess to learn how to cook a "full Indian meal".

Another theme of adversity, although one not given much focus, is racism...
Published on 9 Sept. 2007 by Gerard Finlay

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable enough, but somewhat overrated.
In a similar vein to East Is East, this film is a fairly lightweight look at second generation Asian immigrants and their struggle to find their place in the clash between their families traditional culture, and that of the country in which they are living. It's made harder still for lead character Jess (Parminder Nagra), as her desire to play football is something that...
Published on 9 Oct. 2007 by Lukens


‹ Previous | 17 8 913 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bend It Like Beckham, 9 Mar. 2003
By 
Movie:
This is a very funny movie and, in my opinion, an even better British comedy then Bridget Jones's Diary. It tells the story of two late teenage girls, who play football. One, Jess, the main character, who's Indian parents will not allow her to play football, and the other, Jules, who has a very supportive father and a homophobic mother, who in my opinion is the funniest actors in the film. The film depicts Indian life in a way which is, apparently, very realistic, not being Indian myself I wouldn't know. In conclusion this is a film you will love, even if you do not like football.
DVD Extras:
The DVD features a great number of extras, including audio commentary, cooking featurettes, recipies, behind the scenes looks, and ten deleted scenes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love this movie, didn't take long to arrive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good film., 16 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bend It Like Beckham [DVD] (DVD)
Prompt efficient delivery.good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bend It Like Beckham [DVD] (DVD)
brilliant and very quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 13 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bend It Like Beckham [DVD] (DVD)
Classic English-Asian fusion film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bend It Like Beckham [DVD] (DVD)
it was a persent ans she loved it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars British., 30 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Interesting, love British films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bend it like Beckham DVD, 7 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bend It Like Beckham [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant film. One of my faves!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bend it like Beckham, 28 April 2003
By A Customer
I thought this film was going to be bad, and so I avoided going to the cinema to see it. After sending my boyfriend out to Blockbusters to get a video, I was very disheartened to find that he had returned with this film in hand. However after sitting down and actually watching it, I now not only understand the offside rule, I have found a brilliant english comedy that brings together football, other cultures and the difficulties of falling in love. Needless to say my boyfriend was no longer in the dog house and I rushed out to buy it to add to my collection. This is a spot on film!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Bend It Like Beckham [DVD] (DVD)
Fast delivery and good quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 913 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bend It Like Beckham [DVD]
Bend It Like Beckham [DVD] by Gurinder Chadha (DVD - 2007)
£3.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews