Customer Reviews


68 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars refreshingly not holywood
I saw this film after a review alerted me to its original format. Unlike holywood which relies either on making us wait a long time to see the monster, or revelling in gore rather than story, this Korean flick gives us the monster straight up, and follows with lots of story. It is a most original and engaging take on the horror/monster genre. The movie is about the...
Published on 12 July 2009 by Ralf Dupka

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Kimchee anyone?
There are some talented Korean film-makers,and some very good Korean films.
Some get re-made by hollywood and loose something as a result.
This film is mediocre at best.
Full marks for the creature, and for the suspenseful imprisonment of the young girl by the creature.She is trapped in its lair where it feeds,but as it can't quite get to her she manages to...
Published on 5 Nov 2011 by C.Elder


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars refreshingly not holywood, 12 July 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Host [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I saw this film after a review alerted me to its original format. Unlike holywood which relies either on making us wait a long time to see the monster, or revelling in gore rather than story, this Korean flick gives us the monster straight up, and follows with lots of story. It is a most original and engaging take on the horror/monster genre. The movie is about the struggles of one family who lose a daughter to it early in the film. Which is not to say it lacks suspense or action. It has these in globs, and all the more hard hitting as we can believe in these very real character's lives, and through them believe all the more in this fascinating monster. I only hope Holywood does not buy the rights to this, yet another piece of fresh imagination from the east, and and make a travesty of it. The bluray version is great, as unfortunately the normal DVD version is a poor grainy transfer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected laughs in a Horror movie, 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Host is a very funny witted film that brings horror, laughs and suspense all in one. The main plot of the film is about a family who fight to get there daughter back from a creature (which was created via toxic waste) who has taken her to the sewers. In this plot you see the family unfold and see the devastating effects of a conspiracy. I don't want to spoil it so that's all I say. The effects are brilliant I must say one of the best I have seen in a film. It looks more realistic then the CGI you get in most films these days. There is enough gore for the horror fans so there is no disappointment there. It is well worth a watch, a must see. Also note that there are subtitles in English. No English spoken in the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Much More Than a Creature Feature, 12 Dec 2006
By 
Clara Butt "carol" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
Far and away the best film of 2006. On the face of it your average big monster creature feature but not so. This film has everything. Action; comedy; drama; fantasy; horror; sci-fi; pathos; heroism; political comment and an examination of that trickest of life's challenges - family relationships. The characters are heroic but deeply flawed and prone to failure, in short really human.

I hate when people give the whole plot away, so I won't, but I will say take note of the opening scene it is a reconstruction of what was actually a quite horrifying true event. What Joon-ho Bong the Director does is extrapolate from that event and using an accessible entertaining film subtly comments on the real horrors that such cavalier attitudes will lead us to and no I don't mean the monster - state interference; state indifference, rumour and obfuscation; deliberate demonising everything we can see already in a world deliberately being taught to be afraid of its own shadow.

And the finale - Hollywood would never have the nerve.

Above all a cracking film - enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing like Jaws or Jurassic Park...., 11 April 2012
I don't know why they compare The Host to Jaws and Jurassic Park on the DVD box. It really has nothing in common with those films. I liked Jaws, wasn't so keen on Jurassic Park, but I thought The Host was great. I can't think of any film that I would compare it to. It's just not like anything else.
The Host is quite a strange little film. We are shown the beast in all it's full glory at the earliest possible opportunity. This is not a criticism however, as it works. It means that the story can skip the part where they try to convince the dumb officials of the monsters existence. The monsters existence is never in question. The monster also acts quite strangely. Sometimes it spits people out again, sometimes it swallows them for good or sometimes it carries them around with it's tail. Why it does what it does is not important. It's a mutation, it's supposed to be weird.
The Host is not all about the monster. In fact you could argue that the main subject of the film is really an abduction and the way the relatives come to terms with the loss of their youngest family member. There are plenty of sad moments, especially one where they all pretend for a minute that the missing daughter is back with them and all give her some of their food. The family also argue a lot and have various issues with each other, but manage to put all that aside and focus on hunting down the monster and getting back the daughter.
It's hard to call this a serious film though as it is littered with little comedy moments and lines. For instance, when an official (who is dressed in a full chemical warfare outfit) walks in to talk to the bereaved survivors, he slips over for no apparent reason other than to stand up again and pretend that it didn't happen.
Or, there is an bit where the Grandfather is making an emotional speech to the family as they prepare to hunt the monster, but then the camera cuts to the brother and sister who have both fallen asleep.
All in all The Host is exciting and sad but also can be quite funny. Well worth a watch. You might love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HD-Dvd Excellent., 4 Jun 2008
Just wanted to leave a brief review, as I found the other review to be very harsh.

If you're a fan of Asian cinema and like monster movies, then you should love this. If you don't like reading subtitles ther'es an English Dub.

The picture and sound are a good improvement over the standard Dvd release. The picture's amazing.

There are some good extras, although not all of the extras from the 2-disc Standard Dvd are here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hollywood Eat Your Heart Out. Korea Know How To Make A Creature Feature., 26 Oct 2007
By 
ChrisHaydon "chrishaydon_63" (Whitstable, Kent, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
'The Host' is just outstanding in every single way.
It rolls horror and comedy into one making a perfect mix for two hours entertainment.
The storyline is fantastic and for those who don't take their films too seriously, this is a must.
The story is based around a father called Gang-Du, desperate to save his daughter Hyun-Seo from the terrible monster holding her captive in a sewer under Wonhyo Bridge with the aid of his sister, a professional archer called Nam-Joo and his father, Hee-Bong, the owner of a local snack van.
This is a wonderful film, packed with fantastic CGI and a cast that you will fall in love with. This is an epic horror film that many could view and enjoy without being too scared and not having to take anything seriously for 2 hours.
This is a great film and yet again, it's not from Britian or America.
The best in cinema lies within Foreign countries without a doubt.
A grand achievement for Korea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 23 Jun 2007
if you like huge cgi spectacles, or cinemascopic amputations, or gore by the litre, stay well away. if however, you're looking for a change, step right in, wait no more.

staying well clear of the usual handling of monstor movies, this south korean epic manages to entertain, thrill and touch, at different times. just when i thought that the monstor movie genre was either the megabudget soul less godzilla kind of filck or the low budget, equally soul less zone horror variety, the host presents us with a third path.

it's funny, exciting, complex, unpredictable, and a bit overlong (my biggest complaint). still, immensely enjoyable
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite films, 15 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Host [DVD] (DVD)
Unfortunately I keep lending it out to friends to see and not getting it back, so have had to buy it 5 times! But I wouldn't be without it in my collection. It is horror, without being horrible and provides a touching portrayal of a father's search for his daughter, very watchable, very engaging - just the best of it's genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good film, 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Host [DVD] (DVD)
excellent price for a great product.would buy again and definately recommend.well worth the price and a lovely product.well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Deceptive..., 15 April 2014
This review is from: The Host [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this film! I don't think it is the typical 'monster' film. To me it was greatly humorous but also held host to some serious underlying themes and scenarios such as the use of 'Agent Yellow' (referencing the use of 'Agent Orange' used during the Vietnam War) and the dangers of incorrectly disposing of chemicals such as formaldehyde which probably won't create a massive monster but will cause damage to the environment. I thought the score was pretty cool and the cast, particularly Song Kang Ho, were great too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Host [Blu-ray]
Host [Blu-ray] by Ah-sung Ko (Blu-ray - 2007)
11.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews