Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy, suspensful chiller.
This is a fabulous film. It's based on the true story of a "moth-man" creature seen in various sightings around the world, as a pre-cursor to disaster events. This moth-man appears before the disaster, presenting rather clouded and confusing messages to those he visits. It transpires that these messages are in fact prophecies of the impending disaster.
Richard...
Published on 19 Sep 2002 by MRS J A GLENISTER

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some elements work, many do not.
The biggest criticism of this film when it was released seemed to be it's inability to answer the questions that it posed; but that's truly the point. Mothman Prophecies comes to the conclusion that we can't truly know about death, when it comes, why, and what happens afterwards, many times throughout it's runtime. And this is a message that's presented quite beautifully,...
Published on 22 Mar 2012 by DanielJohnson


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classy, suspensful chiller., 19 Sep 2002
By 
MRS J A GLENISTER (Reading, Berkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is a fabulous film. It's based on the true story of a "moth-man" creature seen in various sightings around the world, as a pre-cursor to disaster events. This moth-man appears before the disaster, presenting rather clouded and confusing messages to those he visits. It transpires that these messages are in fact prophecies of the impending disaster.
Richard Gere is very well cast here as the innocent guy caught up in the mystery after his wife dies after a car crash. In the seconds before the crash, his wife "sees" this awful creature lundge at the car. She dies some days later, after doctors discover a brain tumour - which would not have been discovered had it not have been for the crash caused by the moth-man.
Two years later, Richard's character is drawn into the mystery when he takes a drive in his car, only to end up hundreds of miles away from his intended destination in about a quarter of the time it should have taken to get there! He soon learns of sightings of this wierd being whom he recognises as that seen by his wife before her death.
What follows is Richard's attempts to quantify his experiences which are interlinked with an increasing number of sightings in a small American town he is drawn to.
I won't say any more as it will ruin the many twists and turns.
Suffice it to say it's a very well made film with some chilling moments (similar in effect to that famous twist at the end of Sixth Sense). It keeps you on your seat's edge guessing at precisely what is going on and why.
You are still left with questions at the end, but they retain the mystery surrounding what is a true phenomenan.
The final scenes on a river bridge are superb and just when you think you know where the film's going, it takes yet another twist.
Fine acting, a deep and fascinating story line and cleverly directed suspense scenes make this one NOT to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars be afraid - the mothman cometh, 4 Sep 2002
mark pellington's film has many strengths - a surreal atmosphere evoked by sound and light, strong performances from the cast, superb editing and a spine tingling score... but perhaps its strongest point is the films restraint. the film scares well but it doesn't use sudden loud noises, cats jumping into frame or quick editing to do so. instead, pellington builds a sense of dread from the off - something in this world isn't quite right.
richard gere is quite effective in a stoic role - indeed he reigns in a performance free of his usual facial ticks. laura linney is as good as she ever is (which is fine by me) even if her role is a little under written. in a tiny role as gere's wife, debra messing is surprisingly good and will patton gives a strong reading of a man tortured by visions of disaster.
a terrificly subtle movie that lingers in the mind - perhaps one of the best horror movies of the last few years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A psychological thriller, 27 Feb 2004
Richard Gere stars as a reporter, who following the death of his wife a couple of years earlier finds himself inexplicably in a small town having travelled much farther that is realistically possible in the time he'd been on the road. His car appears to have broken down so he calls at the nearest house to phone for assistance only to be accused of having called at the same house at the same time on the previous two evenings. He hears of the sightings or visions of this strange creature nicknamed the mothman and recognises it's description as being the same as a number of doodlings his wife made shortly before her death. The film traces his efforts to get to the bottom of what is going on. It works well because by enlarge you're allowed to decide for yourself whether the mothman exists or whether it is collective hysteria or coincidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An eerily, excellent film!, 28 Jan 2007
By 
Ryuto (Sheffield, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The uneasiness this film precipitates in the viewer is quite enjoyably disturbing! One cannot ascertain if the the forces at work within the story are benign or malignant and this adds to the stress it induces! If you're a fan of 'shock and gore' horror then this film is NOT for you. This is a film that stays with you long after it is over and has one ruminating about the idea of what the Mothman represents

I thoroughly recommend this DVD if you enjoy intellectually-driven horror!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want a good nights sleep? Don't watch this first!, 24 Aug 2002
By 
I don't think I've ever been quite so disturbed by a film as I have this one... I'm not sure if it's because I watched it when overtired and late at night, but wow... nothing has ever quite made me feel so paranoid!
The Mothman Prophecies follows Richard Gere as a reporter, who, after his wifes death in a mysterious car accident, suddenly finds himself dragged into the middle of strange goings-on in the town of Point Pleasent, Ohio. Locals are reporting stories of a giant winged man-creature to the police Chief, played by (I think) Laura Linney, their sightings causing ripples of fear throughout the community.
Richard Gere's character recognises the drawing of the creature made by one witness as that of something his wife scrawled in her hospital bed before she died, and before long finds himself communicating with it and being dragged into its insanity.
What's great about this film is that it never really shows you the mysterious Mothman. It's appearance is recounted by Gere's encounters with the locals, most distrubingly with a guy named George who unravels before his eyes as the monster prophecises various disasters.
Some may complain that the film is slow, but I think it drags you in with it's forboding atmosphere, great script and well drawn characters. It does sag a little near the middle-end, but it more than makes up for it in an amazing finalé that is a little too horrific for words.
The editing is incredibly clever, as is the cinematography and use of subliminal images. You do get the feeling that the filmmaker is paying tribute to Kubrick at some points, but it's satisfying to know that he didn't just make some bog-standard creature-feature out of what is a very well crafted plot.
The sound design is also amazingly well done... playing with your perceptions and, in the case of the voice and sounds of the Mothman himself, incredibly disturbing. I may never pick the phone up late at night again.
What is incredible is that this film is based on a book of the same name by a reporter called John Keel, which in turn is centred on real events that occured in 1966 in Point Pleasent. The 40-or-so minute documentary which comes bundled as an extra on the DVD, if a little over-americanised, is genuinely disturbing through the amount of witnesses, vintage news reportage and the fact that the events lead up to a disaster mirrored in the film itself.
Other than that, there are some bog-standard biogs, interviews and HBO Making Of's which I feel it could do without. To sum up - a clever, tense film with characters you can care for and a mysterious creature you hope you will never meet...
Unfortunately, for the survivors of the inhabitants of Point Pleasent, Ohio, they did - and apparently, many more people will...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some elements work, many do not., 22 Mar 2012
This review is from: Mothman Prophecies [DVD] (DVD)
The biggest criticism of this film when it was released seemed to be it's inability to answer the questions that it posed; but that's truly the point. Mothman Prophecies comes to the conclusion that we can't truly know about death, when it comes, why, and what happens afterwards, many times throughout it's runtime. And this is a message that's presented quite beautifully, thoughtfully and subtly, the 'Mothman' (as silly as it sounds) acting as an extended metaphor for this. This immediately places the film in a far more intelligent bracket of films than most horror. However, it's not without it's flaws. The performances aren't fantastic - as brilliantly likable as Richard Gere is, his gurning becomes tiresome by the third act, whilst melodrama infects some of the lesser roles. There are also some distracting visual gimmicks - the camera washed red, fastforwarding - that just seem cheap and dated, and provide no real purpose. Overall though, the film will get under your skin, the chills masterfully and quietly excecuted - not only that but it's a horror with something to say. Oh, and it has one hell of a climax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creepy or What..., 24 Oct 2008
By 
David Byrne "David Byrne" (United Kindgom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film is really well done.Its well acted and everyone does there job really well.I've always considered myself as hardcore horror film fan...although this is not horror...but after watching this it has made me realised all the horror films and weird films i have seen and own on dvd are just soft-core compared to this film.This film is guarenteed to freak you out , especially if you are watching alone late at night.The whole film just made me cringe from start to finish.When i rented this out , i thought it was a horror film based on real events , i thought it was about a guy who thought he was a 'mothman' who goes around killing innocent people but i ended up with the scariest film i have ever seen in my entire life.I found it really weird but at the same time i couldn't turn it off , i had to watch the rest of it to see what it was about.I'm glad i did get through it all though , but i couldn't sleep after watching it.I had to have a beer after watching this film to help me sleep.

If you want more on this film , go to youtube and type 'the mothman' you get a documentary based on the film and that to is creepy.

You should defonately watch this on Halloween alone or with people.

I dare you to watch this !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Mothman Lives!, 31 July 2004
Right from day one (apparently), 'The Mothman Prophices' was not meant to be a creature feature or a horror movie, it was supposed to be, as the director, Mark Pellington so nicely put it, "a psychological mystery with naturally surreal overtones". This however does not make the film any less frightening, because to be honest, i found this film very scary, and even some of the cast said that they were slightly scared while filming.
I think that what really adds some of the spookiness to the film is that the 'Mothman' is in fact real and has been seen by hundreds of people all over the world and is supposed to prophise disaster and doom. For example in the thirteen months leading up to the Silver Bridge disaster (the bridge that goes accross the Ohio River, conecting Ohio to West Virginia) Mothman was seen all over Point Pleasant in West Virgina. The peculiar thing is that sightings started thirteen months bfore the disaster, and it was the thirteenth pin of the suspension bridge that broke, and caused its collapse. The Mothman was never seen again in those parts, although was signted in other places round the world before other disasters such as easrthquakes and hurricanes.
In 'The Mothman Prophices' Richard Gere plays a Wasington Post reporter who is made a widower when his wife crashes the car after swerving to avoid a big caped bird/man like figure with glowing red eyes. Two years after the death of his wife, John finds himself in West Virgina where he traveled in just an hour and a half from D.C, which is over six hundred miles! Arriving in Point Pleasant he finds out that sightings of a bird like creature with glowing red eyes are being seen by the villages. The drawings of the 'Mothman' are exactly the same as the ones his wife had drawn while in hospital, just before she died.
Determined to find out the truth, John goes to see Gordon Smallwood, a man who has been researcing the 'Mothman' for years, who explains to John that the Mothman has been around since days when men where grunting and gragging their knuckles along the ground, and are usually seen in a place before a disaster is about to take place. Sure enough a disaster does happen not long after; the Silver bridge connecting West Virgina to Ohio, collapses while full of cars.
Although i didn't think that Richard Gere would be very good in this type of film, at the start, i very quickly changed my mind, and he was in fact the perfect actor to play John Klein, the Wasington Post reporter. At the begining of the film we see him go from having everything; a loving and beautiful wife, a big new house, and talk of a child, to having almost nothing.
Laura Linney is also brilliant in her role as Connie Parker, the police woman at Point Pleasant.She has lived there all her life and everyone who reports the sightings she knows very well and literally has grown up with them. She doesn't quite know what to do, but she puts her fear of the 'Mothman' on the 'back-burner' while she trys to sort it all out for them.
I feel that i must mention the wonderful selection of extras that are on this DVD. Firstly there is an hour long documentary about the real life 'Mothman' and all the history behind it, with interviews from survivors of the disaster that the 'Mothman' prophisised, and people who have seen him. Secondly there are a number of trailers for the film, including the original theatrical and a teaser trailer. Thirdly there are a number of interviews with several of the actors from 'The Mothman Prophices', including Richard Gere and the director Mark Pellington. All these things, along with interactive menus and subtitles etc make this DVD a definate must-have and make it seem much more worth buying.
Overall, 'The Mothman Prophices' is a really great film however as it is hard to put it into a percific genre i will just say that it has somthing for everyone, and will be enjoyed by all who watch it. It is quite scary though, so anyone with a nervous disposition, watch out! If you have already seen this film, and want to look deeper into the real life 'Mothman' then there are a number of books that you can buy, although i would recommend 'A Mothman: The Facts Behind The Legend'. You could also check out the website at [...] Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real chiller!, 25 Jan 2008
By 
B. M. Rockey "Colonel Trumpet Windsock" (Wokingham, Berks United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I can't remember the last film that actually gave me a chill down the spine. This one certainly did! Having read other reviews, I can't understand why some people want explanations to every happening in the film. You don't need to know! As the viewer you find yourself as dumbfounded as Richard Gere's character - John Klein, the reporter who from the the start hasn't got a clue why he is in Point Pleasant and how it has been physically possible to have got there. As the plot unfolds it gets more and more frightening as it seems that something pretty disastrous is going to happen there and it could be that John Klein is going to die. He teams up with local police woman Connie who tells him of the strange happenings that have gone on in the town and a strange dream that she has had. With a few twists and turns on the way, the suspense builds right to the end when all is revealed. A very good psychological thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Little gem, 2 Jun 2003
By A Customer
Having read the blurb on the back cover I rented this movie with serious doubts that it would be any good. It sounded as if it was just going to be another daft film that was trying too hard to be 'weird'.
Well, it certainly is weird but it manages to carry it off beautifully. The plot is excellent, and not too off-the-wall that it can't be followed, and it comes together very nicely in the film's climax.
Overall the film is dark, atmospheric and totally engrossing.
Don't miss this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mothman Prophecies [DVD]
Mothman Prophecies [DVD] by Mark Pellington (DVD - 2007)
£7.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews