Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A real good film!
I liked this film as my daughter has a copy,and I liked it's different theme-not too much glossy sex or bloodshed. It makes You feel like You are there with the captive,experiencing what she experienced-it is a real thriller and them a real horror for w few minutes-it keeps You on the edge of Your seat!
go for this film,You will like it!
Published 4 months ago by Mr. M. K. Johnson

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No excuse, it's just not very good.
A young beautiful model is drugged, kidnapped and subjected to harrowing torture in a cell of horrors some dark dreary place god knows where. Losing the will to live she is almost at the end of her tether, but her hopes are raised when she learns that a man is in the cell next door to her, can the pair of them escape this foul depraved place?

Captivity starts...
Published on 9 Mar 2012 by Spike Owen


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No excuse, it's just not very good., 9 Mar 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Captivity [DVD] (DVD)
A young beautiful model is drugged, kidnapped and subjected to harrowing torture in a cell of horrors some dark dreary place god knows where. Losing the will to live she is almost at the end of her tether, but her hopes are raised when she learns that a man is in the cell next door to her, can the pair of them escape this foul depraved place?

Captivity starts off promisingly, our protagonist is nicely introduced to us, we are then whisked to off to a dreadful place and subjected to some horrendous things, but once the novelty wears off the picture has no place to go but down hill. It's evident that the makers here felt that by plonking a sexy actress {Elisha Cuthbert} in some torture chamber, piling on the goo in the process, that that was going to make a winning formulaic film, it doesn't, and outside of some gross moments, one scene in particular almost had me emitting my recently digested dinner, it's poor and rather insulting. As poor old Elisha lurches from one dumb scenario to another you start to realise that the film is reliant on a twist to lift it above the mundane writing, but when it comes you will not only be not surprised, you will also feel very cheated. Poor fare all round here and it's hard to believe this is directed by the same man who gave us the emotional splendour that is The Killing Fields, shame on you Roland Joffé. 3/10 mainly for that one sequence, but even that was done better in a Vincent Price picture many years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars utter pish, 22 Dec 2012
This review is from: Captivity [DVD] (DVD)
So u wake up to find ur being held in a cell like room,,get tortured, forced to drink blended up body parts, discover other dead victims yet on realising ur not alone on being held captive u have sex with the so called other male captive? WHATEVER. Just the usual throwing in sex scenes for the sake of it.. Just once id like to watch a decent horror without a pointless sex scene. This film is pure bollocks. avoid at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing ending, 27 Oct 2011
This review is from: Captivity [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this, along with a few other so-called 'torture porn' horror films, after reading reviews of how disgusting it was on various sites. What can I say - I like to be shocked.

Captivity had some promise from the outset. The first half an hour was fairly 'enjoyable', although at no point did I cringe in horror at any of the scenes. They were reasonably tame, but they did leave me feeling tense, wondering what would finally become of young Elisha.

Sadly, about half way into the film, this tension all but dissipated. The film took a rather daft twist, and, rather than being in the Hostel-style which I had hoped for, it ended up being more like a 'Scream' film.

Overall, this wasn't a terrible film, but I just had hopes of it being more horrific than it was, and unfortunately it tailed off into a disappointing climax. I won't be watching it again, nor will I advise friends to bother with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not bad!, 6 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captivity [DVD] (DVD)
I'm quite a movie fan but this film is not a great ambassador for the genre. Elisha Cuthbert does her best with an average script/storyline but even she struggles. It's okay to watch but I think fans of the genre will struggle to stay engaged for the entire film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cuthberts acting falls short in this horrendous "horror" film., 30 Dec 2007
This review is from: Captivity [DVD] (DVD)
Like most, I read the unbelievbly bad reviews for this movie, but told myself It wouldn't be that bad - surely, right? Wrong. Turns out, this time, I should have just listened to the critics (something I never do, but this is an exception - because they were right. 100% spot on.

When the credits rolled, I was slightly baffled as to why this movie was made in the first place. I have never watched a movie that serves no purpose whatsoever and lacks everything from anything in a film. The direction of the movie was horrible and the bad dialogue was ridiculous at times.

I will admit, I have been a fan of Elisha ever since I caught her in teen comedy "The Girl Next Door". I thought she had a great fresh face and real acting abilities - which she proved later on, becoming a regular on the hit sci-fi show "24". But after watching this movie, I'm really shocked at her performance. It's almost like it's her first movie. Or first acting role ever!

There are so many flaws to this movie that it would be impossible to name them all, but I will point out the big dud moments that made me hate this so called "Horror".

The opening was pretty predictable and almost boring - not a good start! The film so desperately tries to be like the Saw, Hostel movies, that you notice it almost 3 minutes into the movie. Although the deaths were sorta inventive, it's nothing we haven't seen before. It brings nothing new to the table. It's simply just "another one of those movies", one of the worst takes on the torture-porn, gore franchise that American directors seem to be obsessed with today. I mean, If you've seen Saw - you've seen them all. Not one of these "movies" stands out from the rest, they all mesh into one horrible gore fest of a movie. Now, the actual film. There is a scene in the movie that was acted out very badly and had to be mentioned. The scene features only Elisha herself (no dialogue) yet it's pitiful. Seing as how her character is a top fashion model, she is invited to a charity wine mixer (or something like that) and like any celebrites duty, it's crucial she goes. Elisha orders her drink and sits alone. The bar tender fixes her drink and leaves it on the bar while he fixes some more. Someone (unknown) spikes her drink. The bar tender then gives Elisha her cocktail. The problem with this scene is, as soon as Elisha takes 1 sip, she starts acting all weird (no longer than 3 seconds after her first taste). Now we all know the effects of a drugged drink do not happen that quickly. It was almost like watching a 5th grader in Drama class acting out a scene - but clearly doing it wrong. It looked half-hearted and actually appeared as though Elisha was tired that day and just couldn't be bothered acting. It's such a clumsy mistake and stupidly left unfixed. It really angered me and it came across very sloppy. This then follows a very dazed Elisha, stumbling to the bathroom - terribly I might add.

She then wakes up in an almost cell like room, were a man is toying with her. Playing sick deranged games, while she fights for her life. She is held captive, all alone (or so she thinks), in a strange house. The "killer" is not in sight, but he makes sure she knows he's watching. The first few scenes are pretty intense and creepy, - but when they use the same idea/scenes over and over again, it gets very boring, very quickly. She soon discovers another person is being held against their will. A man. They quickly manage to gain physical contact with one another and try escape this nightmare and take out the bad guy.

"Apparently" during all this hell, she falls in love with him........huh?? I know, confused? Me to. You don't fall in love with someone you have known for less than 24 hours! Especially the situation these two are in. When a mad man holds you captvie and is trying to kill you, the last thing you will be thinking about is love, or attraction for that matter. All you wanna do is get outta there. Ridiculous plot. This soon follows a sex scene, which comes off incredibly cheap and tacky. It's so obvious it was only thrown in for the simple reason of having a sex scene. By this point I had lost all hope in the movie. The direction was becoming catastrophic.

I will not give away the ending, but all in all the movie sucks! BIG TIME! This coming from a big Elisha fan. I'm now wondering if Elisha is actually a strong, capable actor at all. Or was the movie so bad that even she couldn't save it. I'm not exactly sure yet. All I know is, it was a poor excuse for a horror movie. In fact, I've seen straight to dvd releases, B-movies, D movies even, that look like Oscar winners compared to this.

While I'm not a fan of the Saw, Hostel movies. I would take them over this anyday.

The film is called Captivity. Someone would have to hold me captive to sit through this ridiculous tripe all over again.

0/5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nasty and vile and I'm a SAW fan, 5 Mar 2011
This review is from: Captivity [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the most barfsville movies for a while with a convoluted and nonsensical plot and characters that act the exact opposite way that real people would (e.g. if someone threatened to throw acid in your face for rule breaking would you continue to be petulant?).

The woman getting burned by the shower head full of corrosive liquid is one of the most horrible things I've ever seen with no purpose but to appeal to torture porn afficionados while the blended offal sequence isn't even necessary.

I love the SAW movies but this is, as my mother used to say, "violence for violence's sake" and if that's your bag then go ahead. Otherwise leave well alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stick to 24 hun, 1 Aug 2010
By 
Mr. Z. Riaz "Lord Zeb" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Captivity [DVD] (DVD)
This movie was terribly boring. Even Elisha Cuthberts hottness couldnt save it. Tats all i ave to say. STAY AWAY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh dear, 28 Nov 2007
This review is from: Captivity [DVD] (DVD)
There is no getting around this, Captivity is a bad movie, not so bad it's good, just bad. A jerky title sequence then we're straight into the alleged story which gives Elisha Cuthbert around three minutes to introduce her character before the abduction and of course the Captivity, she doesn't know why she is being held captive and to be honest i didn't care although it was nice of her captors to bring her entire wardrobe with them so she doesn't have to go for more than a few hours of suffering without a change of clothes. The film lurches between torture scenes which depending on your constitution are either revolting or the highlight of the show, however with such minimal investment in the characters these scenes are nothing more than showcases for slick editing and a talented FX team.
The story hinges on a plot twist half way through which to be fair i had spotted about quarter of an hour in and is so stupid as to undermine the rest of the film, and it's set up by a love scene that comes out of nowhere, porno films usually have more justification than this. Elisha Cuthbert is a talented actress but her part has just about no character whatsoever and she is left with little to do but struggle, scream and complain.
The scant credit i can give the film is that is looks good thanks to Daniel Pearls cinematography, but this cynical exercise in cinema is best left in Captivity to spare anyone tempted by it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real good film!, 20 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. M. K. Johnson (Norwich,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captivity [DVD] (DVD)
I liked this film as my daughter has a copy,and I liked it's different theme-not too much glossy sex or bloodshed. It makes You feel like You are there with the captive,experiencing what she experienced-it is a real thriller and them a real horror for w few minutes-it keeps You on the edge of Your seat!
go for this film,You will like it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Like It, 6 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Captivity [DVD] (DVD)
I know this film has had bad reviews, but I personally really like it. Watched it quite a lot now. Great acting and a nice little twist with the plot. Not quite as violent as publicised but still a nice little film to watch on a Friday night with a take away :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Captivity [DVD]
Captivity [DVD] by Chrysta Olson (DVD - 2007)
2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews