Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying slasher flick
Ask yourself this question: do you like `slasher' films? If the answer is yes, then you probably enjoy daft youngsters getting stalked by killers, women running around in very little clothes, blood and gore and, of course, the most virtuous of the group surviving. Therefore, you will also probably like Paradise Lost, as it ticks all those boxes.

There's...
Published on 15 Dec 2012 by Albatross

versus
25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected
A group of young people on holiday in Brazil narrowly survive a bus accident and are then left stranded in the middle of nowhere for 10 hours while waiting for the next bus to arrive. They do a little exploring and come across a beach and a bar and make the most of their time by swimming, drinking and partying. They are then drugged and wake up with all of their...
Published on 11 Aug 2008 by Dr Evil


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars way better than hostel, 6 Jun 2008
This review is from: Paradise Lost, Extreme Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
this is rubbish but compared to other horror movies like hostel part 2 this is a much better trip,it delivers the gory goods and unlike hostel 2 this film is actually suspenceful in places
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, 11 April 2008
By 
C. M. Austin "Horror lover" (UK North Yorks) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paradise Lost, Extreme Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Ok so I dont need to tell you what happens-just read next review but in all this isnt really a bad film. I advise watching it with an open mind and remember it next time you are on holiday. Might make you think again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 15 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paradise Lost, Extreme Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a cross between Lost, The Beach and SAW, but not nearly as well made or acted. I have to say it was very predictable which ones would survive the ordeal and which ones wouldn`t. Just like in The Beach film the beautiful Swedes get it first (I wonder where they got the inspiration for that from, erm). How I really REALLY wanted the arrogant cockney blokes to get it and they did...eventually. And it was really not surprising which three survived it. This had so much potential but it failed miserably. The characters were rather bland and could have developed them some more. So I give it 2 stars for the location and beautiful scenery only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Paradise Lost, 24 Oct 2007
This review is from: Paradise Lost, Extreme Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Two words. Absolute Bobbins. An episode of Casulty is more scary. If you must see it, rent- don't but.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Paradise Tosh, 26 Jan 2011
By 
This review is from: Paradise Lost [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The so called `torture porn' genre of the past ten years has turned my love of horror films into one of indifference. I can't be bothered to watch another film about a bunch of faceless teenagers being slowly tortured, whilst I myself are slowly tortured by the lack of plot. I will put my cards on the table and say that I am more a fan of the 80s horror with a supernatural twist - the idea of `real life' killers is equal part distasteful and unbelievable to me. Here enters `Paradise Lost', a film with no reference to Milton at all. A group of decent enough adult actors, including Triangles' Melissa George, meet up in Brazil and are chased by the locals for a reason I cannot give away, but is weak.

The film is supposedly set in a real environment, but I could not believe the motivation for the killings. This enough to make a tense film seem absolutely redundant as every scene of high tension comes across as nonsense. Either be outlandish or realistic - not a botched attempt at being realistic. The main selling point for the film is probably the gory sequence that takes place around half way, it was interesting enough, but once again a modern horror film fascinates on the gristle of a character I could not care one iota about. Better to dispatch the victims quick and cleanly, `Jason' style, if you are going to write faceless nobodies.

The fact that the film's premise fell so flat is a shame as the BluRay does look good, with the Brazilian countryside shining. There is also a cave based end chase that was fresh and interesting, undone by the fact it was filled with a load of characters running around with bizarre motivations. As well as the character's falling flat, the film does take a long time to get going. Fans of horror will probably find the first thirty minutes pretty tedious and really only rate the final third. There are far better films out there that don't take an hour to get good.

As mentioned the BluRay is a good transfer and the sunny locales look great. I did watch an interesting featurette on the special effects, but you get the feeling that the cast and crew thought they were making a darker horror than they were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SAVAGE FILM!, 19 Oct 2007
By 
This review is from: Paradise Lost, Extreme Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
One of the best horrors of 2007!
A strong and original story,
full of the torture, gore
and twists saw 3 and hostel 1 & 2
supplied.
The acting is amazing.
The deaths are amazing and the
effects are dazzling!
Two thumbs way up.
***** Best film of 2007
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 1 star for the sea views!, 18 Mar 2008
This review is from: Paradise Lost, Extreme Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Never believe the DVD covers is my motto and normally, as in this case,it works. Exactly what was "shocking" or "genuinely terrifying" in this film I don't know? The storyline was more see-through than a tennis raquet and other than the odd bit of sex there was little else of any interest going on.Desmond Askew as Finn was truly so camp,was it a wonder the Brazilian girl charged him and said she didn't like him.As for some of the other reviews I've seen more blood and gore in London street fight!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 15 Dec 2007
This review is from: Paradise Lost, Extreme Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
Rather predictable, just gorgeous people when end up in the wrong place at the wrong time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars FILM OR MOTHER IN-LAW ?, 2 Jan 2008
By 
Jason Thorne (England / Oxford) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Paradise Lost, Extreme Edition [2007] [DVD] (DVD)
I was looking forward to watching this but it was not as good as I was hoping. The underwater swimming scenes were amazing if the caves were set up for the film or they were the real deal rather them than me. There are to many of this sort of film being made today and personally I am getting bored of them. If the phone rings just as you are about to start watching it and the mother in-law is on the other end it may be a tough choice what to do next watch the film or speak to her. I hate to say it speaking to the mother in-law might be the better bet but only just you have been warned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paradise Lost, Extreme Edition [2007] [DVD]
Paradise Lost, Extreme Edition [2007] [DVD] by John Stockwell (DVD - 2007)
£2.89
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews