Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cary Fan, 28 Feb. 2010
By 
Brysonia Brown (Ayrshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cary Grant's A Class Apart (DVD)
Technically good quality, particularly reproduction of older film clips and newsreels. The DVD just did not include enough examples of the many films in which Cary Grant portrayed multi-faceted characters/characterisatons both covertly and overtly. I guess if one is hooked on the enigma that is Cary Grant both on and off screen there never could be enough.

The DVD can be watched over and over again as there will always be some aspect that makes one reassess opinion or previous conclusion drawn of the man, the actor and the screen star; and still leave room for intrigue and speculation. The DVD is a worthwhile addition to my library of home entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought on a whim, 23 Aug. 2010
By 
Mrs. M. Walsh "Maw." (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cary Grant's A Class Apart (DVD)
I bought this dvd on a whim, primarily because it was at a bargain price, and as it was about Cary Grant. I was not expecting too much from this dvd, but at the same time, given the subject matter, I said to myself, at this price it would need to be a really poor production to be less than interesting at least. Did I get a surprise? You bet, I thoroughly enjoyed this dvd, so much, that it could have run for another eighty seven minutes and I would not have minded. Whilst not being a Cary Grant fanatic, I am aware of a lot of his films and a bit about some of his background, but this dvd filled in quite a few blanks, and kept me entertained for the full length of the disc. It is a film/documentary type of dvd, but that did not detract from my enjoyment at all, and there is enough here in film clips and background material to fill the eighty seven minutes. I got to hear for the first time about the original ending to the Hitchcock film "Suspicion" and why it was changed, I would have went with the original ending. I would recommend this dvd to one and all, without reservation. Mrs. M Walsh. "Maw"A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Insight!, 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cary Grant's A Class Apart (DVD)
I would definitely recommend this for any fans of Cary Grant, or fans of this era of film.

It is a well put together and thought provoking documentary about this star's life. It has wonderful insights into the highs and lows of his career, where it began and where it was coming to an end, with touches of information about his personal life. It does come across like a wonderful tribute to this wonderful actor and it is much more interesting than reading an internet page on his bio.

It really brings this actors story to life, and is well worth a purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cary the classiest, 19 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cary Grant's A Class Apart (DVD)
This is a fine compilation of film extracts together with the life of one of the best loved of the Hollywood greats. It was good to be reminded of just why his films were so well received and why his fans just loved to see them. Not only was he handsome, he was also very talented. It was a surprise to see the variety of films he made and to enjoy again the fun and the drama - and the brilliant acting. In addition the commentary spoken by Helen Mirren was so beautifully given - this is how a commentary should be given!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The First Interview with Cary Grant's Last Wife - Barbara Harris, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cary Grant's A Class Apart (DVD)
This is actually a really good documentary on Cary Grant. For the first time you see an interview with Grant's last wife, Barbara Harris, as well as his third wife, Betsy Drake. Although there are interviews with Dyan Cannon, she has written an autobiography about her life with Grant. There is some footage of his relationship with his first wife, Virginia Cherill, but there is no moving images of his relationship with his second wife, Barbara Hutton. Despite this, it is still a good documentary because you get a real sense of Grant's life and career. Of particular note is the fact by the time Grant made 'The Philadelphia Story' he had depth in his acting. With the exception of 'My Favourite Wife', I think most (if not all) of Grant's films before 'The Philadelphia Story' are disposable. It also mentions that 'Notorious' was his best black and white film to date. All of his black and white films after 'Notorious' are insignificant. His best colour film, indeed his best film, is 'North by Northwest'. 'Suspicion' may have introduced the idea of Grant as an antagonist, but it was done better in 'Charade' where he was a bit of a shape shifter. He was right to turn down 'Roman Holiday' and 'Sabrina' with Audrey Hepburn in order to act with her in 'Charade'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous..biog!, 9 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cary Grant's A Class Apart (DVD)
Delightful narration and photo feast of the now immortal CG. Son of Bristol UK.. Yet so much more than we knew at the time..complex, funny, self effacing man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great story about one of the worlds legendary actors, 24 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cary Grant's A Class Apart (DVD)
Great story about one of the worlds legendary actors. It is a pity that there is not more detail on certain aspects of his life - particularly that of his clothes which sets him apart from many others and, where that inspiration came from which was a brief encounter with the nouveau rich on his maiden voyage from the UK to the USA. This was a very ordinary man that made himself extraordinary and part of that should ideally have been covered in this documentary. Overall though quite fascinating
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining Biography, 10 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cary Grant's A Class Apart (DVD)
This is a worth while addition to the printed word, is produced in an interesting format, and contains interviews with his 3 surviving wives and other people involved in his incredible life.
John Bentley. Liverpool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars cary grants a class apart, 3 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cary Grant's A Class Apart (DVD)
sorry i have not got to do my review but my dad ha sbeen in hospital so please forgive me your dvd so very good one to watch so thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 30 Mar. 2015
By 
J. Holbrook - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cary Grant's A Class Apart (DVD)
Good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cary Grant's A Class Apart
Cary Grant's A Class Apart by Robert Trachtenberg (DVD)
£3.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews