Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is the Force still Strong With this One?
This is the game that combines the two Lego Star Wars games on both the original Xbox and the PS2. It has the original cinema trilogy of A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi. It also contains the three prequels - Phantom Menace, Attack of the Clones and Revenge of the Sith.
I have both of the original games and bought the complete saga to see...
Published on 8 Feb 2008 by Mr. S. W. Steel

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars False Advertising
I bought this as a gift for someone, I specifically wanted it as pictured. When it arrived I was very excited... until I opened it to wrap it. They have sent the CLASSICS version. I did not order the classics version, nowhere on this page does it specify that this is the classics version. I am EXTREMELY disappointed. I bought from this page to avoid getting the classics...
Published 20 months ago by Miss Eloise P. Harby


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is the Force still Strong With this One?, 8 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. S. W. Steel "stephensteel" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars: The Complete Saga (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is the game that combines the two Lego Star Wars games on both the original Xbox and the PS2. It has the original cinema trilogy of A New Hope, The Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi. It also contains the three prequels - Phantom Menace, Attack of the Clones and Revenge of the Sith.
I have both of the original games and bought the complete saga to see what it was like on a current generation console. And the review i am giving is split into two parts. One is for the those people who have NEVER played the last generation console games, and one is for those who HAVE played them.
For those of you out there who have never played the games before there is a simple recommendation - Buy it Now! It is fantastic! It has all the plots of the entire Star Wars movie franchise, and even better, it includes a vast array of the characters that appear in them - all of which are playable! So you can play as Han Solo, Anakin, Darth Vader, R2D2, Luke Skywalker, The Emperor and a very special hidden character............. (well worth finding). All the space ships are here too - most importantly, the Millenium falcon, The X-Wing, Tie Fighters, and loads more. Again all these are playable and can be unlocked by playing through each level.
At it's heart this game is a simple platformer with some shoot 'em ups thrown in for good measure. But scratch the surface and you find a really big game with lots and lots of extras to unlock. Some of the unlockables are essential in completing the game - super lightsabers, fast force, lego stud multipliers, invincibility and many more.
The graphics are simple, yet effective. They do the job really well and move from a cut scene to in-game action seamlessly. All the characters are well presented and instantly recognisable with their own abilities too. So, R2D2 can connect with computers on the Death Star, Darth Vader can open areas covered with the Dark Side of the Force, C3PO can talk to the moisture evaporaters on Tatooine, and best of all you can fly around with Boba and Jango Fett with their rocket packs!
The music is perfect too. Directly lifted from the films, it cannot be faulted in any way - it is genuinely like being in the film.
In terms of playability it is a piece of cake to pick up and play. Anyone from the age of 6 and upwards will be able to get into this very quickly.
In terms of longevity, this will be down to you. To get 100% completion will take a long time, and you will have to play through levels many times to get all the hidden minikits, red power bricks and new, blue minikits. If you just want to play through all the stories, then the game is ultimately a little bit too easy and too short, but i would recommend trying to get all the characters, minikits and ships.
Another excellent part of the game is the co-operative mode. Two players can play through the levels together and help each other. It is really good fun to do this.
In terms of violence, well, there isn't really any. Lego characters get broken and that is about the extent of it. It is all handled very well, with the main focus being on fun, not blood and guts. The humour throughout is brilliant - every level has cut scenes that poke fun at the films, but in a well-meaning, 'in the spirit of' way. I particularly like the scene where the imperial spy in A New Hope is hiding in the celebratory ceremony after the destruction of the Death Star. And these little asides show a real care and commitment to maintaining the Star Wars Legacy.
So, if you are young or old, then this is a game for you! It is fun, easy going and not too taxing.

If you have neither of the original games, then this would get 5 out of 5.

HOWEVER, for those of you have played the individual versions previously, it is a different review. Basically the developers have combined the two original versions and put in a few extra levels and a few extra collectables. Plus on this, the Xbox 360 version there is a huge raft of 42 achievements to be completed. It isn't particularly lazy, but neither have they tried to expand on what was a great game. The extra collectables come in the form of the blue minikits where you have to play through an entire level and collect ten of them in a time limit. There is also the Lego City from the first original trilogy game, and a new called New Town which is basically an improved version of Lego City. The graphics are not any better than the original games, and if anything i found a fault that i didn't particularly like - when there is a cut scene starting the whole thing pauses! This didn't happen on the older consoles, and although minor, i found it really niggling that an older console played this better than a brand new Xbox 360!
There are more hidden characters and obviously on the 360, there are the achievements to collect. But be warned, if you are trying to get all the achievements, you will need to be on Xbox live as one level has to be played through online.

If you have played through the original versions then in my opinion this game is only worth three stars. It is still fun, but there is not enough new features and levels to justify buying it. It is basically a combining of the first two games with a few extra bits bolted on it. If this game had been priced much more cheaply, then i would have probably been more happy with it, but i think it was overpriced for what you actually got in terms of new content.

Having said that, i had a blast completing it to 100% again, and still have a big, cheesy grin on my face! Roll on Lego Indiana Jones and Lego Batman!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An example of perfect video game design., 12 Mar 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars: The Complete Saga (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Lego Star Wars: The Complete Saga is one of the best games ever made. There are three reasons for this, firstly it is very fun. The gameplay is perfectly designed so that the levels can be finished by a young child without too much frustration. However, they have also been designed to incorporate so much depth, so many opportunities to go back and find things you missed before, that the older gamer has plenty to see here too.
Secondly, Lego Star Wars looks wonderful through its simplicity. The game does not overreach itself and looks fantastic as a cute, cartoony game that still manages to be absorbing. Graphic power isn't important but presentation is, this game succeeds.
Thirdly, this is one of the most authentic, entertaining Star Wars games ever made. A delightfully charming, tongue-in-cheek approach to the series is taken and it works perfectly.

This game should be played by everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius + Genius = Lego Star Wars, 28 Jan 2008
By 
Mr. A. Sands "Sandsman" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars: The Complete Saga (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Whoever originally created the concept of combining lego & star wars should be given a knighthood (if they were british). Lego is easily one of the most popular "toys" that kids play with, and more predominantly, is popular with those in their 20-30's who would have definitely played with it when they were young. Star Wars is something which captivates children and really draws them in, and overall has universal appeal.

This game draws perfectly on these synergies, in that it appeals to kids who are playing with lego & watching star wars for the first time, and adults who used to play lego and loved the star wars films. This cross-market appeal has to be why this, or particularly it's parent games of Lego star wars 1 & 2 (LSW), has been so successful.

With respect to the game itself, where to begin? The graphics really shine, and despite being relatively simple, are very colourful and match the gameplay extremely well. The game is also full of humour, and although it faithfully recreates many scenes from the films, it also adds it's own twist on them, usually by using just the actions/reactions of the mute lego characters. This works brilliantly and goes to show that hiring voice actors, good or bad, is not always neccessary if superb animation can tell the story itself.

With regards to the value fo the item, I played the original LSW and bought the LSW 2 before eventually trading it in, but I still felt inclined to purchase this, mainly because it marries the two film trilogies together, and adds a few new features/levels here and there. Quite a few of the flying/shooting levels from the first LSW have been redesigned in the LSW 2 mould, and now play much better.
It also incorporates an online mode, which works relatively well, mainly due to the game's simplicity.

Overall, a fun, colourful game for all ages, and worth buying even if you own one of the originals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little too addictive, 12 Jan 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars: The Complete Saga (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having had enough of playing FPS for the moment I thought a bit of silliness was in order. This game is well crafted and follows the story lines of films very well. Works for both kids and adults, being quite addictive for both. The graphics are not what I would expect from a next gen console but they suit the game.

The game play is very simple and you get the chance to go back through levels and find secret areas (good luck) and complete things by the clock.

Overall - If you want hours of game play (I'm on about 20 only 3/4 through the game) and the occasional laugh then this game is for you... Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Search your feelings...you know it to be true, 15 Sep 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars: The Complete Saga (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
If you like Star Wars, you'll love this.
If you don't like Star Wars, you'll still probably love this.
And if you have any of the other Lego type games ie Batman or Indiana Jones.... this is the trump card!!!
The Complete Saga is two games in one and then some, it combines the two previous Star Wars Lego games onto one disc and chucks in a few extra minigames for good measure.

This is NOT hours of fun!

It is weeks and months of fun. If you follow the films you will love this humourous take on the whole thing. In my opinion it is the best of the Lego games I have mentioned in this review and something you will not throw away because you can keep going back to it and (depending on your level of OCD) improve scores and collect extras.

To summarise... MONEY WELL SPENT, enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Game, Full Of Fun & Entertainment, 7 Aug 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars: The Complete Saga (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
LEGO Star Wars has always been a fun game. From the first, all the way to this final installment. Of course, some of you may be thinking that it's just the first two installments on one disc, but no it is not. Lucasarts have added a few other things which make the game even more fun.

First of all, graphics. The surroundings look much better and it feels a bit less LEGO like but still, it has the brilliant LEGO feel, so do not worry.

Second of all, new characters. A few new characters enter the game which gives a lot more fun for Free Play and one unlockable one is Indiana Jones! He's quite a good character to get with his whip and gun.

Third of all, new levels. Not a lot of new ones, but enough to give 6 Chapters per Episode. All the new levels are fun as well and add more to the story. It's actually worth buying the game for those extra Chapters.

With more unlockables and more entertainment, this is a great game to round off a fantastic trilogy of excellent games. I would advise this game to anybody...it really is fabulous family fun. I'd also advise for any fans of this game to buy any future LEGO games that will be released. I'm sure they'll be just as good.

Buy/Don't Buy: BUY (Worth every penny)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars perfect description, 2 July 2014
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars: The Complete Saga (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
As described thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this Game, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars: The Complete Saga (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Me and my four year old son both love this game. Really good multiplayer, and playable for both of us- interesting enough for me and not too difficult for him most of the time.

There is no voice acting in the game, although depends on preference.

Has all six episodes of Star Wars and includes all characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars About Time And All, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars: The Complete Saga (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Im glad they managed to squeeze them all into one Box as I was getting a bit ácked off, opening different boxes all the time to play the different games... It was becoming like Christmas Day every day, but without having to remove the wrappin Papers.... You know, I just realised it says write 20 words for a Review, Why, cant they trust the Manurfacturers to tell the Truth about their Products...... at the best of times I cant even Spell Twenty words, alone say it. Anyway, Great fun for Mums and Dads to play, just like me.....the hard bit is having to fight with my son to get one of the Controllers out of his hands, when Im wearing Boxing Gloves... You try it sometime....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, 3 Jan 2014
By 
C. PERRY "warwickpez" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Star Wars: The Complete Saga (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Yet another instalment of the Lego games. Really impressive game play and will provide hours of fun for the whole family. Definitely recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

LEGO Star Wars: The Complete Saga (Xbox 360)
14.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews