Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Phenomenal
This, without a doubt in mind, is absolutely THE No.1 best Game soundtrack of all time, ever. Not only is it written by, I believe, one of the great contemporary classical composers of our time Martin O'Donnell, but it's a stunning piece of work at the core.

With a 60 Piece orchestra and 24 Voice choir, Martin O'Donnell at the reins and Michael Salvatori by...
Published on 18 Dec 2007 by Mr. Andrew P. Ribbons

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
Look, the game of Halo 3 is great. No one can dispute that. It has everything anyone would want.

This OST box set? Not so much.

There are three principal problems with this:
Firstly is the quality - some tracks sound great, and others sound like they've been massively over-compressed. What I'm saying is that the listening is uneven...
Published 22 days ago by M Sockel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Phenomenal, 18 Dec 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo 3 OST (Audio CD)
This, without a doubt in mind, is absolutely THE No.1 best Game soundtrack of all time, ever. Not only is it written by, I believe, one of the great contemporary classical composers of our time Martin O'Donnell, but it's a stunning piece of work at the core.

With a 60 Piece orchestra and 24 Voice choir, Martin O'Donnell at the reins and Michael Salvatori by his side, this is one of the must have Soundtracks of the Gaming Industry. The swelling, orchestral, deep-felt, moving and epic soundtrack you get from this is just unbelievably self-sufficient, I can quite happily listen to it standalone as music.

Throughout the series, the Musical Score has always stood out as one of the defining and most characteristic aspects of the Halo Trilogy. Halo 3's soundtracks is a collection of reworked Halo and Halo 2 Music, with just as much new composition as well. This culminates as the ultimate collective of Halo's Music, and you'd be a fool to miss out on this gem because it is bliss on the ear.

Martin never ceases to amaze me with his skill in creating music to fit the situation, never has any game felt so etherial and powerful to me, in all time. Well done Bungie's Audio team, you deserve the success of this Soundtrack Album! Thank you for bringing it to us in such a short time.

A wonderful addition to any Halo fan's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!, 27 Nov 2007
This review is from: Halo 3 OST (Audio CD)
My god,

When I listen to the music on this CD I am able to finally appreciate it in all it's glory.
Unlike in the game you get the full track with no background noise.
Anyway, this music track is absolutely awsome. The music is beautifully played and the quality is amazing.

They've done it again!.

This is a MUST BUY for hardcore Halo Universe fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of all, 4 Nov 2010
By 
Fons Jena "1302" (Flanders,Western-Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo 3 OST (Audio CD)
I prefered this soundtrack above all others (except Halo Reach, which is arriving next week so don't know if it's better than this one). It just sounds even more powerful and has the ability to give me goosebumps. Hard to say because if you would make a 'best of' album, you would probably have songs from all soundtracks. If these soundtracks weren't meant for a video game they would have been more popular in the music world.
Like I say with the other Halo soundtrack reviews: if you're a fan than get this one. All of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 3 Dec 2007
By 
J. Packer (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Halo 3 OST (Audio CD)
This CD is a version of the actual in game Halo 3 music however is longer, clearer and modified superbly. It is moving, thrilling, compelling and an absolute must have. It consists of two cds of varying genres from all-out classical drama to relax tranquill melodies to heart pumping, adrenaline buzzing epicness. This CD is GENIUS!! You will NOT be disappointed!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 3 July 2014
This review is from: Halo 3 (Audio CD)
Look, the game of Halo 3 is great. No one can dispute that. It has everything anyone would want.

This OST box set? Not so much.

There are three principal problems with this:
Firstly is the quality - some tracks sound great, and others sound like they've been massively over-compressed. What I'm saying is that the listening is uneven.

Secondly, it is not a smoothe listen. If you take OST's like Deus Ex or God of War (again, I'm comparing the OST, not the games), these are immersive pieces that suck you in. H3... individually, the tracks are ok, some of them are even great, but there is no rhythm to the tracks. There are not motifs, no recurring themes. One tracks stops and another - of a totally different texture and tempo - begins. There is no bridging between the tracks.
Is the music epic? Yeah, kinda. It is moving? Also, yes... but the whole never gels together.

Finally, we have to talk about originality. Maybe it is just my old ears, but I swore that I could elements of the Spider Man OST in this, and a bit of Superman Returns. I know, there are only so many chords to be arranged so many ways... but I just found it a bit obvious.

The stand out tracks are "Tsavo Highway (To Kill a Demon)" and "The Ark (Behold a Pale Horse)"... but the rest of it? Nah, not for me.

Great game, disappointing OST release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic album for any Halo fan to who enjoys the music aswell as gameplay I would recommend this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One Of the Best, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo 3 OST (Audio CD)
I have every Halo soundrack, and Halo 3 OST is one of the best.
The way the emotions come through in the music is just so powerful.
I would strongly suggest this soundtrack to anyone who likes Halo or just gaming in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 28 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo 3 OST (Audio CD)
excellent he likes the game likes the music so loved this good christmas present, arrived in plenty of time well packaged
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Third time lucky, 7 Jan 2008
By 
Johnmcl7 "John" (Inverness, Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Halo 3 OST (Audio CD)
While I've always enjoyed the Halo music, I don't think they've quite managed to get the CD releases quite right. The Halo 1 soundtrack had a couple of great suites joining together some of the main themes but as an album it didn't flow very well. I thought they made a mess of the Halo 2 vol 1 release in trying to mix standard tracks with the strong orchestral music of Halo. Vol. 2 was much better however as it 'complimented' Vol. 1 it was missing some of the strong titles and was a bit bland in sections.

Halo 3 is pretty much spot on though, two CDs of pure Halo music which flows well together with the music used for the Halo trailers added as bonus tracks at the end(although the 'believe' 117 monument music is missing I think). Halo 3 contains various remixes or reworkings of some of the themes from both the previous Halo games making this the definitive Halo soundtrack by far. While there is something of a stigma of listening to 'video game music', the Halo music has been a consistently strong aspect of the series and the approach to its production is head and shoulders above most other games.

A couple of slight criticisms I have are that it would have been good to see a couple more 'suites' as bonus tracks at the end mixing together some of the main themes in the game. There are a couple of tracks which do this slightly and it works extremely, I would like to see more of it. Also, and admittedly this is more a criticism of the game rather than the soundtrack CD while it's good to see some of the Halo 1 and 2 music revisited I was a little disappointed there wasn't more of the strong piano theme which was present in the trailers.

I can't say either of those have hampered my enjoyment of this soundtrack though and I think for ten pounds (or less as I think it is now) this is excellent value for money and would highly recommend it to anyone who has enjoyed the music while playing through the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Halo 3 OST (Audio CD)
Bungie's music has always been great and will continue on to be just as great as the last one thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Halo 3 OST
Halo 3 OST by Martin O'Donnell (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews