Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised
My son bought this for himself after seeing the film. Usually I would steer away from games of films as they disappoint! BUT this game definately didn't do that! I personally wasn't impressed by the film and therefore would say the game is 100% better than it! The control were easy to master and game play was interesting and moved at a good pace. Would definately...
Published on 26 Jan 2008 by M. Service

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent game for the younger fans
Developed by Shiny Entertainment, this Sega published movie tie-in attempts to envelop you in the world of the highly successful books. But can the game escape the usual brush movie tie-ins are tarred with?

Unmistakeably, this title is aimed at the book's younger readers - which will delight in being able to play through this action adventure as Lyra,...
Published on 14 Feb 2008 by Mr. A. Boyd


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasantly surprised, 26 Jan 2008
By 
M. Service (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Golden Compass (Wii) (Video Game)
My son bought this for himself after seeing the film. Usually I would steer away from games of films as they disappoint! BUT this game definately didn't do that! I personally wasn't impressed by the film and therefore would say the game is 100% better than it! The control were easy to master and game play was interesting and moved at a good pace. Would definately recommend purchasing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent game for the younger fans, 14 Feb 2008
By 
Mr. A. Boyd (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Golden Compass (Wii) (Video Game)
Developed by Shiny Entertainment, this Sega published movie tie-in attempts to envelop you in the world of the highly successful books. But can the game escape the usual brush movie tie-ins are tarred with?

Unmistakeably, this title is aimed at the book's younger readers - which will delight in being able to play through this action adventure as Lyra, controlling her daemon Pan (the physical representation of a person's soul which all people have in this fantasy world), and also by fighting as the armoured bear Iorek.

Shiny Entertainment (think Earthworm Jim) have singled out their target audience for this title as kids, and so older readers of the books need to be aware the game will not challenge them in the slightest. The game starts right in the middle of the action, centred up in the Arctic where players will learn the basic controls. The game is a simple to follow, linear affair, with objectives clearly stated and gameplay restricted to going somewhere and doing what you are told to.

And yet the storyline of the game flits back and forth - the next chapter being a flashback to the beginning of the story, set in Lyra's version of Oxford. Lyra's sections of the title are largely about platforming - navigating the roofs of Jordan College or the precipices of the North by jumping, with aid from her demon which can take four animal forms - the hawk, for example, allows Lyra to glide from platform to platform, while another allows Lyra to examine her surroundings from a first-person perspective to hunt for clues. However, only the youngest gamers will actually be stuck on this title for very long, as the game's level of difficulty is very easy. Iorek's sections by contrast are all about beating the living daylights out of your enemies, of which you can happily obliterate very easily by simple button-mashing.

Mini-games ensue when Lyra must pass enemies by lying to them. These are more fun, and entail Lyra deceiving NPCs by a series of quick fire-questions, and are a welcome break from the often relentless platforming. Another concept is her control of the alethiometer, the magical 'Golden Compass' of the game's title, a sort of truth-telling device which answers Lyra's questions through a series of symbols - which you must collect during the game to gradually aid in your deciphering.

Graphically, its disappointing that the Wii version can be compared more to the PS2 incarnation of the game than any other. Some of the visuals in the Arctic have the potential to be stunning, but are instead stunted by last-generation graphics. Film clips from the movie, spliced in rather randomly throughout your progress through the game, only show how beautiful this game could have been if more time were spent on it.

On the audio side of things, the game does impress. The title boasts the full might of the film's orchestral score, which has been made to fit the game surprisingly well. Add to this the original voices of Lyra and her daemon from the film, and the result is generally very pleasing for the ears - with the aforementioned pair bantering together as you trot around the levels.

To sum up, this title will appeal to the book and film's younger generation of fans. It's strange, because the game contains references to the wider world of the books which will probably be missed by this audience, but the title just doesn't get challenging enough to warrant the interest of the more discerning gamer. Older fans of the source material may find pleasure in the title, but need to be warned they will not be stretched at all throughout the game's duration.

N-Europe.com (c) 2008
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 26 Feb 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Golden Compass (Wii) (Video Game)
I bought this game from Amazon and it was really cheap so I didn't expect much from the game. However, it turned out to be great fun and it used alot of the features of the Wii.

It is definetly a game for hardcore gamers, but I think it would be ideal for someone aged from 5-11, because the game requires you to use your head at some parts.

It also has quite a few cut-scenes of clips from the movie (starring Nicole Kidman and Daniel Craig).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as People say it is!, 25 Dec 2007
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Golden Compass (Wii) (Video Game)
I got this game free with my Wii and a few people said it was a rubbish game. Well I've been playing it non stop for a couple of days and its fun! It doesn't take itself too seriously and follows the films plot carefully. It uses the Wii's controllers well and is addictive!!!! I would say to people buy it and give it a chance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good game, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Golden Compass (Wii) (Video Game)
this is a good game and i spent lots of time on it. i loved it and i gave to my friend now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good deal, 3 Dec 2012
By 
Vander "Bob.v" (nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Golden Compass (Wii) (Video Game)
quick post ,dvd excellent ,at a very good price ----many thanks mmm mm mmm mmm mm m mm mm mm
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of different action, 13 May 2012
By 
Keith Farrar - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Golden Compass (Wii) (Video Game)
There are many different challenges with this game. They range from fighting, skills with the controls and mental challenges. I bought it for my 8 year old daughter, but I seem to play it mostly. When I get to a point where I can't get further she has the skills with the controls to get me through. I am usually better with the mental skills.
All in all it is very enjoyable, even though sometimes frustrating. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good adventure Game, 30 Mar 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Golden Compass (Wii) (Video Game)
Very good game to play if you like adventure, mistery, fights, finding objects & many more. I am still playing this game. This game has very good quality graphics. A must play wii game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Golden Compass Wii game, 28 April 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Golden Compass (Wii) (Video Game)
This is an awesome game, so many levels and lots to do, puzzles to solve, things to collect. The graphics were very good too. I enjoyed this so much and its for all ages (I'm in my late 30's!!) I was only sad when it was finished as I wanted to play more! I hope they make more of the Golden Compass series....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bad game...but a lot of fun!!, 18 Feb 2008
By 
Dr. Rajeev Banhatti (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Golden Compass (Wii) (Video Game)
By most people's standards, the Golden Compass on Wii would be described as a horrible game, but personally I think it's not all that bad. (Granted, i got it for a budget price...)

Firstly, the graphics are awful, like a blurry 1st-generation ps2 game, and there is absoloutely no excuse for that. The environments are acceptable at some points in the game, but it is the expressionless and blocky characters which make the game frustrating to look at.

The gameplay won't win any awards either, since most of the time, you are just fetching items, jumping on platforms, or playing shallow 2d minigames. Thankfully, the wii's motion sensing controls do make some of the gameplay bareable, and pumelling through hordes of witches and wolves can actually be really satisfying. Also, you can play as either a polar bear or a young girl, and each character has their own distinct type of gameplay. (Lyra=puzzles, Iorek=fighting)

Some things which save the game are the story and the music. Obviously, the story had to be good, for the book to be turned into a film and then into a videogame. The game tells the story mostly through cutscenes, some of which are taken from the movie itself, which is a nice feature. The orchestrated music is also a nice touch - i was humming the music for days! Also, there is voice acting from the real actors throughout the adventure, so at least you can hear some nice cheesy dialogue while you attack stuff.

In conclusion, the game is conventionally a bad one, but I hadn't read the book or the film, so I really enjoyed playing out Lyra's "epic tale". It's not for everyone, but if you love action adventure games, and you find this game cheap, you might as well give it a try!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Golden Compass (Wii)
Golden Compass (Wii) by Sega (Nintendo Wii)
16.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews