Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars19
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
16
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.96+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 May 2009
This is a great example of Ealing Studios finest. A British prisoner of war assumes the identity of a dead soldier having himself escaped from a Concentration camp. He has to write letters home (to the wife of the dead man) because the Germans were suspicious of his lack of correspondence to his family. Inevitably his true identity is exposed, and he attempts to escape from the camp. When he is eventually returned back to good old Blighty, the lady with whom he has corresponded is waiting for her husband to appear from the crowd, but our hero (michael Redgrave) has to tell her the truth. With Jack Warner, Basil Radford and Mervyn Johns, it's a great cast for a very British story.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 June 2009
A good sentimental war film

This is a war film that would appeal to the ladies.It is set in a prisoner of war camp nad has plenty of flash backs about a selection of the characters lives and their loved ones at home.

A great ensemble of British character actors such Jimmy Hanley Jack Warner and Michael Redgrave.

Made in 1946 so I am such the audiences were well aware of the circumstances of the characters so although abit of a propaganda film the war was actually over.

Good strong story about each of the characters and I would defy anyone not to feel moved by the sentiment of the story.

Micheal Redgrave plays a Czech concentration camp prisoner who takes the identity of a dead British officer. Luckily for him he speak accent less English and also faultless German. He has to keep his identity hidden from the German sand writes to his assumed characters wife who is surprised to hear form him as they were estranged.

the ending is particularly moving as Gordon Jackson goes home as a blinded young soldier to his fiance. Jack Warner and is oppo Dai go back to see dia daughter who he has never met and the mother died in childbirth.

I wont give away the ending but it is very moving.

A great British film and deserves five stars.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2009
This film tells the story of a man who has to change his identity in order to hide amongst POW's in a camp. The film also follows past stroies of fellow inmates and it follows them through when the men are released.
There is a great sense of all the prisoners pulling together and getting on with it.
It is also a super love story, I have watched it again and again.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
This superlative British film, made in 1946 and directed by the excellent Basil Dearden is the story of English prisoners in a German POW camp. The wild card in the pack is a Czech officer, Captain Karel Hasek (Michael Redgrave) who has previously escaped from the Gestapo and now assumes the identity of a dead British officer. To keep up the pretence, he writes to the dead officer's wife, (Rachel Kempson) purporting to be her husband, much to her surprise since their relationship had become estranged and now a romance develops between them.

This all sounds fairly fanciful but the sheer weight of the acting carries it off wonderfully well and there's a very strong supporting cast, including Jack Warner, Jimmy Handley and Mervyn Johns, all of whom provide the basis for interesting and believable sub-plots.

It really is the last couple of minutes which, with a minimum of dialogue but with Douglas Slocombe's brilliant cinematography and Alan Rawsthorne's evocative music, brings this momentous film to a terrific conclusion.

Worth five stars of anybody's money.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2013
This is a heart-rending and poignant film, based on a true story and with the superb Michael Redgrave in the lead role.

Watching a film like this makes you realise the misery suffered by not just those held captive in prison camps all over Europe but also of the people left behind in England, and for that matter other countries.

My father was Czech and one of the few who flew for the RAF during World War II so here is something particularly touching about this story. I challenge the hardest man not to had a tear in his eye at the ending of this film.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2012
I remembered this film from a TV showing years ago, and was delighted to find it released on DVD. (Sir) Michael Redgrave and Rachel Kempson give an excellent performance, naturally enough, and the cast of supporting actors is strong, including Mervyn Johns, Gordon Jackson, Basil Radford and Jimmy Hanley. This combination of wartime romance and deception by a desperate fugitive was an inspired idea and the film works incredibly well. Highly recommended.Bride Flight [2008] [Dutch Import]
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
A marvellous POW picture from the Ealing Stable. Great cast of British stars playing their roles too perfection, and I particularly enjoyed the flashbacks to life before the war, how the family, friends of the prisoners were also coping with the war. Like all the great POW films the touches of humour that interplayed with the trials and tribulations of life within the camp were deftly handled. I am amazed that this was the first time I had seen the film and if you have not seen it and are a fan of the genre, do not miss the chance!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2009
All I can say is, it is one of the best British war films ever made! You won't be disappointed.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2014
Always enjoyable, these films are entertaining and great to watch. Also for those of a certain age, will bring back good memories of when films didn't need bad language, loads of sex and blood everywhere to make a film worth watching. Margrete
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2011
A great story excellently acted.It was the first film I saw on my fathers home cinema and it cetainly stood the teat of time
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.