Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big perhaps, but not so bad
A film with a mixed heritage - one liners harking back to '80's horror movies, with a 90's feel, Big Bad Wolf isn't too bad of a film.

It's pretty generic story wise, but it's a fun little flick that I enjoyed - nice to see a film that has hints of older films, but isn't actually trying to remake them.

The werewolf make up wasn't the worst I've seen...
Published on 30 April 2010 by Azz McMahon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars IT'S JUST A DOG
In the opening scene we get to see Derek's dad (Andrew Bowen) get his leg ripped off by a werewolf. Seven years later, mom (Sarah Aldrich) has remarried to Mitchell (Richard Tyson). Derek is pledging a fraternity, one that has him take his biker chick friend Samantha (Kimberly J. Brown) to the proverbial cabin in the woods with two movie typical college couples...
Published 2 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Big perhaps, but not so bad, 30 April 2010
By 
Azz McMahon (NSW, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Big Bad Wolf [DVD] (DVD)
A film with a mixed heritage - one liners harking back to '80's horror movies, with a 90's feel, Big Bad Wolf isn't too bad of a film.

It's pretty generic story wise, but it's a fun little flick that I enjoyed - nice to see a film that has hints of older films, but isn't actually trying to remake them.

The werewolf make up wasn't the worst I've seen - and there are a few nice gore effects as well.

Kimberley J Brown is the best thing about the film - as free spirited, fiery mechanic Sam, she is absolutely gorgeous (then maybe I'm a guy that likes outsider, tattooed women that are intelligent) - and lifts up the film.

The werewolf is also fun in it's own way.

The release itself doesn't have anything in the way of extras, but worth a watch if you like 80's or 90's style horror. If you don't, then avoid like the plague.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Horror as it used to be!, 30 April 2012
By 
This review is from: Big Bad Wolf [DVD] (DVD)
If you're a purist and like films to be technically tight and well thought through, then 'Big Bad Wolf' certainly isn't for you! - If like me on the other hand you sometimes just wanna put your tongue firmly in your cheek and be entertained for a couple of hours, you'll just love this.

As a kid I'd watch this kind of film and having watched through nostalgic specs at the weekend have concluded that this surely must have been made in the eighties! Of course, it wasn't but the everything from the far fethced gore, to the cheesy script and slightly iffy acting harks back to the good 'ol days.

There are some hilarious lines in the script, the best being the Stepfather's response when he finds out that he has been tricked into 'providing' some DNA....if you watch it, you'll know what I mean - it's the line when he's standing by the tree in the park. Basically, he's saying....'just in case you haven't fully understood, I'll explained what happen 10 minutes ago for you, dear viewer, so that you're absolutely clear about things'. Genius!

The werewolf is a beauty too; rubbery costume, high sex drive, some cracking quotes etc...

If you want to watch a solid and at times unintentionally hilarious horror flick, with plenty of gore, look no further.

A reluctant classic which smacks of an A-Level student living out how cool it would be to make your own horror film. Well done chap, you delivered a corker!

Enjoy

AJM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars IT'S JUST A DOG, 7 Jun 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
In the opening scene we get to see Derek's dad (Andrew Bowen) get his leg ripped off by a werewolf. Seven years later, mom (Sarah Aldrich) has remarried to Mitchell (Richard Tyson). Derek is pledging a fraternity, one that has him take his biker chick friend Samantha (Kimberly J. Brown) to the proverbial cabin in the woods with two movie typical college couples.

We already know it is a werewolf coming at us, no need to guess or a spinner. What we do find out is that this werewolf speaks, spouting out those "Freddie-esque" one liners. The film is linear with no twists. Derek (Trevor Duke-Moretz) was a very straight character and outside of some moments by Samantha, the characters were drab. Her relationship with Derek is, "I care about you more than any man I ever slept with."

The film has some good scenes such as the opening sequence when the guide announced, "We are being hunted." Unfortunately they didn't stretch out the good scenes.

Parental Guide: F-bomb, sex, nudity (Shannon Malone, Robin Sydney)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ITS A KEEPER FOR ME, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Bad Wolf [DVD] (DVD)
I HONESTLY CAN UNDERSTAND WHY SOME PEOPLE DON'T/WON'T LIKE THIS FILM, ITS NOT THE BEST MADE OR ACTED FILM,HOWEVER,IT IS IN MY OPINION HIGHLY WATCHABLE AND IN PARTS QUITE FUNNY,READ MY OTHER REVIEWS/COMMENTS ON OTHER FILMS IF YOU AGREE WITH ME ON THEM YOU MAY WELL ENJOY THIS FILM FOR WHAT IT IS - A GOOD B MOVIE.I AM ADDING THIS ONE TO MY COLLECTION.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great addition to the werewolf genre, 27 Feb 2008
This review is from: Big Bad Wolf [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great film - The synopsis provided by Amazon sums it up pretty well,definitely worth watching - a welcome addition to the werewolf genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Much better than expected, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Big Bad Wolf [DVD] (DVD)
Much better than expected! I didnt think this would be as well done as it was after seeing the case. Film is a very nice take on the werewolf genre! Lots of gore,dark comedy and Teens being chased around the woods! Reccommend to watch with friends
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "..GREAT FUN..", 24 April 2012
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Big Bad Wolf [DVD] (DVD)
I am a big horror fan and love all parts of the genre especially your low budget films, I was surprised to find that Big bad wolf was really enjoyable and didn't feel that low budget at all, the effects were pretty cool and there is some decent gore, nudity, blood and guts! Which is what you want from a film like this. The cast and the story were ok and pretty usual for a film like this. If you really love horror especially werewolf films then I think you will love this movie, and at this mega cheap price it's a gem and you are losing nothing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Tag, you're it! Ha ha ha!", 31 Jan 2011
This review is from: Big Bad Wolf [DVD] (DVD)
This movie features a wise-cracking werewolf. That's all you need to know, surely..?

Still want more details? Alright then, the story goes like this: Derek and his friends head off to a cabin in the woods to party. The cabin is owned by Derek's stepfather, who is unaware that his keys have been stolen. So, the rowdy kids are secretly partying at the cabin, during a full moon, when suddenly the director introduces us to the villain of the piece. The shark-jumping lycanthrope massacres the teens, leaving only Derek, and the tough tomboy love interest alive. From this point on the movie goes all Columbo, with our heroes trying to discover the identity of the killer, and destroy him.

It's not difficult to see how the film could have worked, had the writer and director not wussed out and included all the silly stuff. Here's what I think was running through their minds: Making a serious horror story is tough and risky, especially on a small budget; what if the audience just laughs? It'd be safer if we pretend it was supposed to be a comedy from the beginning, in which case our cheap monster costume won't be anything to be ashamed of. Yeah, that's the ticket!

Before I continue, allow me to pre-empt one possible objection. It will be said that I've gone into this movie with the wrong mindset, and that criticizing a talking werewolf movie for being dumb and light-hearted is like criticizing a Jackie Chan movie for the poor acting. This objection is mistaken though, because my beef isn't with big, dumb, trashy horror flicks in general (I love Bloodsucking Freaks, for example); I just take issue with movies that don't work as comedy, but might have otherwise worked as horror. This is a case of the "comedy" coming at the EXPENSE of everything else, and ruining the film as a whole.

You want an example of how the guys behind this movie dropped the ball? Fine.

*MAJOR SPOILERS AHEAD*

It turns out that the werewolf is the stepfather. At the end of the film Derek and Sam (the love interest that I mentioned before) manage to set the creature on fire, and it appears to be dead. Suddenly, the beast springs back for one last attack, shouting "tag, you're it! Ha ha ha!", and bites Derek. The monster may now be dead, but our hero has inherited the curse. He vows not to become like his stepfather. The end.

My point is this: I think that this scene could have worked, and could have been quite moving, were it not for that awful line "tag, you're it! Ha ha ha!" and all the other stupid "comedy" touches that the director burdened the film with. What could -and indeed SHOULD- have been a fairly decent tale of family dysfunction, the burdens of adulthood and the dark side of human nature has instead been ruined by the director's insistence on appealing to the Fangoria crowd at every opportunity.

*END OF SPOILERS*

It's not funny; it's not scary; it's mostly just annoying. Admittedly, it's not in the same league of terrible-ness as Killjoy or Leprechaun, but unlike those wretched abominations, this film actually had the potential to be good. Let this be a lesson to all aspiring horror movie directors: please, just take a moment to think before you resort to adding wise-cracking monsters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars big bad funny wolf, 1 Sep 2010
By 
Barry (Stoke-on-Trent. Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Big Bad Wolf [DVD] (DVD)
This film is a fantastic adaption of the werewolf movie ,YES HE TALKS,The acting is quite good ,I dont understand why the negative reviews ,pick it up you will have an howling good time ,its cheap enough ,I have watched it at least 5 times ,so its a film you can watch over and over BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Howlingly Big and Bad!, 24 Aug 2008
This review is from: Big Bad Wolf [DVD] (DVD)
Little Red Riding Hood herself would say 'What terrible awful storyline and acting you have!' This is not even close to adding to the werewolf genre of films. Utterly disappointed and ripped off - how they can even say David Naughton (AN AMERICAN WEREWOLF IN LONDON) appeared as co-star, as he appears for about 15 seconds and is as wooden as Jenny Agutters' front door, is a joke. And spooky character actor Clint Howard did nothing on-screen apart from starting his truck and driving away - no doubt glad to be away from this big bad beast of a movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Big Bad Wolf [DVD]
Big Bad Wolf [DVD] by Lance W Dreesen (DVD - 2008)
5.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews