Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More emotionally powerful and moving than words can possibly say
Water is far too powerful and moving to be called a mere film; this is a brave cinematic triumph that illuminates a tragic issue that few in the West know the first thing about - namely, the historical plight of widows in Hindu society. It also has much to say about modern Hindu culture as well, though, as the mistreatment of widows is still a problem in India today -...
Published on 1 Dec 2006 by Daniel Jolley

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Water
Did not rate this film at all very slow going and took awhile to get into, but having said that postage was very quick
Published 2 months ago by haylinglady


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't Miss This Movie!!!, 5 Aug 2007
By 
AG Stephenson "andrewjoychris" (Newhaven England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is the third in Deepa Mehta's elemental series (Fire, Earth are also gripping) which focuses on the plight of woman at certain periods of 20th-century Indian history.

Her work is monumental and an historic achievement - I would class her as one of the top five directors in the world.

This is a film that rails against the institutional bigotry that you find in all religions and the corruption that it can cause to social relationships. One small moment half way through the film captures this perfectly: A widow, who is now an untouchable, is gathering water from a pond and looks towards some women who are preparing for a wedding. "Be careful," says the man standing next to her, very gently and caringly, "Don't let your shadow fall on the bride or she will be cursed." He means her no harm, he is being thoughtful.

Deepa Mehta makes her points, not by showing violence or by shouting or by noise, but by showing the beauty of nature, by simply exploring the everyday lives of ordinary people caught in heartbreaking circumstances. It doesn't sound like much, does it? But you will be amazed at how absolutely gripping this movie is - from the very first frame to the very very last. Full marks too for all the cast, particularly Lisa Ray, holding done a very demanding role, to the astonishing little girl Sarala - and perhaps most of all to the understated and yet commanding Seema Biswas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent pairing of form and content., 20 Sep 2007
By 
Uneken Dan (Jerez, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Water [DVD] (DVD)
Ms. Mehta has a message. In this film this message is brought to us in overwhelming imagery, splendid acting and a heart-rending musical score. The filming was an epic in itself and perhaps therefore, working against so much resistance, the best was brought out in all aspects of film making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Watch, 21 April 2008
This review is from: Water [DVD] (DVD)
On the surface this appeared to be a simple form, but it has immense depth, politically, culturally and historically and did a great job in highlighting the complexity of all three in operation. The acting was of a very high standard and although I'm new to Indian films of this nature - i am hooked. I enjoyed it so much i watched it twice in two days and bought a second film of the triolgy - 'Earth' - which i highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
By 
L. C. Atherton (Isle of Wight, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water [DVD] (DVD)
A bitter sweet story and taught me something I never knew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Water, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water [DVD] (DVD)
Did not rate this film at all very slow going and took awhile to get into, but having said that postage was very quick
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 21 Feb 2014
This review is from: Water [DVD] (DVD)
Emotional punch! Truly moving to tears... a must see for someone that cares about what happens to others. In its deep sadness it offers hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moving story and visually stunning, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water [DVD] (DVD)
For me this is a masterpiece of a movie. The concerning story left me totally moved and in tears. Despite the sad story the movie is visually captured in a fairytale. A strong contrast between beauty of India and society and harsh reality of customs and rites.

The movie tells the heartbreaking reality of the widows in India and their outcast status in society. It especially highlights the situation of a child widow who's life is finished by these harsh rites before it even began. And the struggle between indoctrinated believes and justice and democracy.

The movie has subtitles.

A must-see movie and highly recommendable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water [DVD] (DVD)
II really enjoyed this DVD It is part of a 3 DVD set and I wish I could afford the Fire one It seems to be alot more expensive and I dont know why
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Emotional and moving, 12 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water [DVD] (DVD)
I have watched this movie several times now and each time it reveals a nuance that I have missed. To be praised for the cinematography but even more important are the issues it brings to light around how widows are viewed, treated and exploited in India. I don't often cry at films but even having seen this several times, I still find myself weeping at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Water [DVD] (DVD)
An Amazing film with great acting.Beautiful scenery. Keeps you watching in awe.
One point Would make is that there are two discs. the first disc is in hindu with subtitles in english which yes I did watch first in so much rush to see the film. Enjoyed it though.

But DISC TWO has the English Version on which I am now sitting watching. Much easier for English to watch but I must admit the subtitled one does make you take in the surroundings in a different way.

Highly say a Must watch of maybe both discs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Water [DVD]
Water [DVD] by Deepa Mehta (DVD - 2007)
5.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews