Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sixx:A.M.'s soundtrack to the book "THE HEROIN DIARIES - A YEAR IN THE LIFE OF A SHATTERED ROCKSTAR"
SIXX:A.M. is a new band featuring NIKKI SIXX (bassist) DJ ASHBA (electric guitar) and JAMES MICHAELS (vocalist). Their debut album THE HEROIN DIARIES is a soundtrack to a book written by musician / producer / designer / writer / etc, NIKKI SIXX - made most (in)famous as bassist in the American rock band MOTLEY CRUE, that came into fame in the early 80's, and very quickly...
Published on 25 Oct 2007 by Ms. N. Burzio

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Not so good. They've done better records.
Published 14 days ago by Lindroth Patrik


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sixx:A.M.'s soundtrack to the book "THE HEROIN DIARIES - A YEAR IN THE LIFE OF A SHATTERED ROCKSTAR", 25 Oct 2007
By 
Ms. N. Burzio "Missikitty246" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
SIXX:A.M. is a new band featuring NIKKI SIXX (bassist) DJ ASHBA (electric guitar) and JAMES MICHAELS (vocalist). Their debut album THE HEROIN DIARIES is a soundtrack to a book written by musician / producer / designer / writer / etc, NIKKI SIXX - made most (in)famous as bassist in the American rock band MOTLEY CRUE, that came into fame in the early 80's, and very quickly took the title of the worlds most notorious and decadent rock band.

The theme of the book "HEROIN DIARIES - A YEAR IN THE LIFE OF A SHATTERED ROCKSTAR" is based on diaries written by NIKKI SIXX in the early height of his career, and drug addiction, in 1986. The book is a frightening account of the terrible effect drugs, alcohol and decadence had on him, also addressing the continuous struggle he faced dealing with, from a troubled and difficult childhood and adolescence. It holds detailed accounts from him, and those around him (family, friends, co-workers, managers, lovers, etc.) on his experiences of what he was like under the power of drug addiction, and what it feels like to be involved with such a gripping and damaging disease. (It also is a book much more unsettling, shocking and filled with rock 'n' roll debauchery, than the 2001 Bestselling publication The Dirt; Confessions of the World's Most Notorious Rock Band - written by MOTLEY CRUE.)

The album follows the book through the chapters, and continues through, each song addressing a different issue or struggle he faced in that time. The album features some incredible sad, touching and moving songs, taking you on his hard journey through addiction.

There are 13 tracks;

Track 1. X-MAS IN HELL - (Previously mentioned) A spoken track, with an insane and demented musical arrangement 'theme song' setting the scene - and heaviness - for the rest of the album.

Track 2. VAN NUYS - A slow-paced song, reflecting on his frustrations with his personal feelings and struggles with a fast moving life that seemed to go nowhere.

Track 3. LIFE IS BEAUTIFUL - A top 5 on the Billboard Rock Chart - Loud, Heavy and mind-blowing song with an incredibly catchy melody.

Track 4. PRAY FOR ME - A hectic rock track with insane melodic sounding riffs.

Track 5. TOMORROW - A slower track - still heavy with a mysterious acoustic guitar sound, lyrics telling you, you can't out run tomorrow, it will always come back around.

Track 6. ACCIDENTS CAN HAPPEN - A ballad, loud and soothing, lyrics reflecting how accidents can happen and you shouldn't give up, sometime it just takes a little time.

Track 7. INTERMISSION - Self-explanatory - a musical track ending with a small voice over saying where we have gotten in the album so far, but there's more.

Track 8. DEAD MAN'S BALLET - Very much a musical opera-sounding track, changing pace allot, like a circus - insane sounding melodies and vocal arrangements.

Track 9. HEART FAILURE - An odd song, allot of the songs are clearly songs to a story, and this is one of them, the intro and the ending - and middle have interruptions you can't really understand - there's more going on than just this one track,.. But a rocking track, once again with insane riffs.

Track 10. GIRL WITH GOLDEN EYES - A ballad, ending a bit differently paced than the beginning, a love song highlighting a love hate relationship with a beautiful pair of golden eyes, but knowing there bad for you and getting away from a damaging relationship.

11. COURTESY CALL - An aggressive song with eerie calming verses, and a loud rock chorus.

Track 12. PERMISSION - A ballad with beautiful lyrics, freeing and empowering musical arrangement, to quote the chorus "ALL OF MY DEVILS ARE FREE AT LAST AND ALL MY SECRETS REVEALED. AND YOUR PERMISSION IS ALL THAT I NEED TO HEAL..."

13. LIFE AFTER DEATH - The end song, finishing like the album began, with a rock-circus sounding theme, with a voice over, reading lyrics from the end of the book.

Personally - I LOVE the album, it's the first decent rock album to come out in a long time that isn't afraid to experiment intensely with diverse sounds and genres that older rock sounds were rich with - you can't find that fearlessness in a modern day rock album. However it is a soundtrack, and I would love to hear something from this amazing new band which lyrics aren't bound to the rules of a soundtrack -or theme of the book. I would like to see some more diverse work from them. The album ROCKS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 30 Aug 2007
By 
Mr. Matthew Ellis "Matt" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Nikki really has come up with a fantstic, current sounding but classic metal album featuring a top class band. These songs are from the heart about a dark place Nikki has been but put together in a very creative way that is consistent with Nikki's great pedigree as a song writer. It just gets in your head and won't let go. It haunts you. Killer production and performance. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sixx out of sixx, 7 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. Bc Moore (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
if you're a die-hard crue fan and understand how excessively they have lived their lives over the years, this is right up your street.. This work enables the listener to step into nikki's shoes and see life through the eye's of an addict... Apart from the obvious, the album is nothing short of an absolute masterpiece.. top quality musicianship from nikki and his new asociates and guaranteed audio satisfaction..enjoy..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WONDERFULL, 10 Sep 2007
By 
Steve Barlow "steve-zippy" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Nikki has really excelled himself !! This album is wonderfully crafted with excelent songs. Every lyric tells the story with astounding sincerity and extreme honesty. Nikki himself holds the story together by acting as the narrator. This is way above any Crue album in terms of musicallity and sheer musicianship - not the that any of the crue's albums were anything other than faboulous. Far exceeds all expectations and will grows with each play. Buy it and listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning Soundtrack for "The Heroin Diaries"!, 30 Sep 2007
By 
Mr. C. J. Balmer "Billyos Sixx" (Notts. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well, I had high expectations for this pre-release and I wasn't disappointed a bit. This album is fantastic!!!

Nikki et al. provides us with dark and brooding Rock n' Roll poetry - 13 excellent tracks and no filler! While some of it is quite Musically diverse, reminding me of Danny Elfman, Brides of Destruction and Oasis (yep, I said it - Oasis) to name but three this is a great piece of work. I would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, if you ever lost hope with metal, this will bring you back., 18 Oct 2007
By 
Mr. Shaun G. Swain ""If Little Red Riding... (Maidstone, Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I havent listened to metal for a few years because i got so sick of all the bands around now a days.
But i loved Motley Crew and decided to buy both the book and the soundtrack of "The Herion Diaries" and i loved it.
The book is so freaking good and touchingly horrific and the soundtrack kicks arse as well.
From the kick off on "X-Mas In Hell" its all go and it doesnt stop.
This IS awsome!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, great price, 16 Dec 2007
By 
Nicki Sixx famous as bassist with Motley Crue. This is Rock/Metal but with a cutting edge that some of Crue's material lacked. I liked Crue but some of their lyrics were bland unlike this album where there is true emotion in every track.
Favourite track "Pray for Me" heavier than most with great guitar work.
Buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AWESOME!, 11 Aug 2009
By 
This review is from: The Heroin Diaries (Audio CD)
This album is a masterpiece, it really does give you an insight into what Nikki Sixx went through with his addiction. I bought this along with the book, it really does help, as it gives you a deeper understanding of what went on. Totally addictive listening, awesome riffs, catchy tunes and some gutsy lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!!!, 21 July 2008
By 
M. Williams "Charmian" (sutton in ashfield, Nottinghamshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Heroin Diaries (Audio CD)
I have had no interest in rock music for the last 10 or so years. Mainly because todays bands are so dreadful. However, being a huge Crue fan, thought I would see what this album had to offer. I have to say I was blown away. It (((ROCKS!!!))) My faith in rock music has been well and truly restored. Sixx AM, I salute you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest, Brutal and Beautiful, 4 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Heroin Diaries (Audio CD)
A beautiful album, on the depressing side but a very truthful dramatic portrayal of addiction and the struggle to overcome it. It is highly relatable to many situations, with beautiful lyrics entwined with raw emotion. You don't have to have injected, snorted or popped pills to be able to relate to this album either, and although it is dark there is throughout the album an overall message of hope.
A very moving piece, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Heroin Diaries
The Heroin Diaries by Nikki Sixx (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews