Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cease to Begin
Band of Horses are your typical Sub Pop style band in every positive sense of the phrase. They are a slightly folky, jangly, almost quirky band that offer up some great song writing and a short, snappy album for our delight. I love the two opening tracks and will skip back to the start to play them again before continuing with the rest of the album. This has an...
Published on 11 Sept. 2010 by Spider Monkey

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
10 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars NOT amazing
First of all, this is poor and not a patch on the Band of Horses debut. To hear on release that this was the band's shot at the big time was of course a worry, and several months after purchase I remain ambivalent to the charms of this overblown and over-produced offering. There are some great tracks, worthy siblings of album no.1, but sadly too much of Cease to Begin is...
Published on 27 Jun. 2008 by Dougal

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cease to Begin, 11 Sept. 2010
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cease To Begin (Audio CD)
Band of Horses are your typical Sub Pop style band in every positive sense of the phrase. They are a slightly folky, jangly, almost quirky band that offer up some great song writing and a short, snappy album for our delight. I love the two opening tracks and will skip back to the start to play them again before continuing with the rest of the album. This has an excellent booklet (something that is sadly getting lost with the prevalence of downloads) and this has some small postcards with various photos. The band have been compared to My Morning Jacket and they are certainly reminiscent of that band in places, but they also reminded me of the excellent Death Cab for Cutie in places as well and if you like either band then you may well enjoy this album too. If you enjoy other bands of the Sub Pop stable then give this CD a try and if you also enjoy good song writing and short, punchy albums then this is worthy of your consideration.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Band of Horses, Great songs and a superb vocalist., 14 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cease to Begin [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Simple, well crafted and arranged songs throughout this album, and an absolutely amazing vocalist like few others (especially these days!). The band appeal to people of all ages like no other band i know of. A fantastic cover to this album also, which looks even better on the LP format i've now got. The Manic Street Preachers have openly said there fans of these guys. Hopefully the rest of the world will wake up to them soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant band & cd, 21 Aug. 2009
By 
B. Cowden "In The Bunker" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cease To Begin (Audio CD)
Great second cd from a great band, i have both their albums & have recommended them to a few friends who have praised them too.
Not a lot of people have heard of them, but i would watch out for them in the future. Brilliant!!!
You have to buy this for 'Is There A Ghost' track alone, absolutely wonderful track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Surprise For An Accidental Witness, 31 Jan. 2009
By 
The Wolf (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Cease To Begin (Audio CD)
One of the most wonderful things about music is that if you miss something first
time around it'll still be there somewhere, poised to pounce, just around a corner.

Everything you never heard waiting for an accidental witness
and so many corners to turn in a lifetime.

For The Wolf, Band Of Horses' second album 'Cease To Begin',
is a very fine example.
As it happens a very, very fine example indeed.

The ten songs in this collection are spun into sparkling reality by
Mr Bridwell and his able cohorts with skillfully subdued aplomb.

Mr Bridwell's plaintive and strangely affecting voice is the
solid raison d'etre for my enthusiasm.
It is a truly beguiling instrument.

The songs are all good.
Melodically strong, uncluttered, sympathetically and efficiently performed.

'Is There A Ghost' is a strong opening track.
It's wistful opening subject evolving into a powerful two chord thrashing coda.

'No One's Gonna Love You' is another cracking tune.
The quietly jangling guitar and unobtrusive organ frame the vocal perfectly.

'Detlef Schrempf' is simply stunning. Bridwell's haunting voice
again soaring out above the relative simplicity of the song's construction.
The chorus is heartrendingly beautiful.

The hokey humour of 'The General Specific' makes for a lightweight
and amusing barn dancing interlude before the transitional bars of 'Lamb On The Lam'
launch us into the magnificent emotional mayhem of 'Islands On The Coast'.

Country flavours emerge again in 'Marry Song'. The vocal harmonies are delightful.

'Windows Blues' is another classy melodic highlight and worthy closing track.

There really isn't an ounce of fat or gristle on this great little album.
It's all good, lean prime beef and The Wolf, for one, is very happy to
have found his way to the feast.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars will pay for quality music, 21 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cease to Begin [VINYL] (Vinyl)
great band, this is probably their best album, downloaded it a few years ago but vinyl is the way to go with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 21 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cease To Begin (Audio CD)
I bought this album after seeing them at greenman festival in Brecon Wales with the backdrop of the welsh mountains and what an awesome setting to first hear this band. The album is great and the cd and download feature through amazon cloud brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic Band, 13 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cease To Begin (Audio CD)
I only heard short samples of songs on CD so I thought I would take a chance on buying it turns out it was a fab CD so I have now listed them to my favourite bands and I'm hoping to buy more of their music .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 30 Nov. 2012
By 
Mr. D. C. Thomas "Palomino" (Stoke on Trent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cease To Begin (Audio CD)
Great album it is a must own album definatley there best album and 7 of the tracks were played live on the current uk tour dates which goes to prove the band think it is there strongest album to date
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this album, 4 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cease to Begin [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Love this album, got the cd a few years ago thought I'd get the vinyl sounds even better, very haunting 1st track -is there a ghost! Definitely recommend this band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 15 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cease To Begin (MP3 Download)
love this,, great !! Fantastic!! Amazing I need 14 more words to complete this review, this is the first album of there's I have bought and I love it. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cease To Begin
Cease To Begin by Band of Horses (Audio CD - 2007)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Everything All The Time
Everything All The Time by Band of Horses (Audio CD - 2009)
4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (28)   

Acoustic At The Ryman
Acoustic At The Ryman by Band of Horses (Audio CD - 2014)
4.3 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (13)   

Infinite Arms
Infinite Arms by Band of Horses (Audio CD - 2010)
4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (40)