Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars39
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 August 2015
Excellent. Loved it first time round and always wished they'd made a second series.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2016
Party Animal - which ran for one series, was an excellent TV show, Produced by the acme of TV production, Tony Garnett. Patrick Baladi excelled as the sleazy politician who got things all his own way and there were a roster of attractive, young actresses to keep the audience guessing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
Fantastic! What a shame there was only one series.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
Politically savvy, witty and funny, Matt Smith gives a great performance.It is an established fact that if you lie down with politicians you will get up with scandal, corruption and possibly fleas. But you will have a good time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2009
Our entire family love this show.

With the change in govt. in the UK, now would be a great time for a second series w. lots of interesting possibilities for our favorite characters....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2009
My wife and i loved this series on one of the none mainstream channels and bought it for our daughter-in-law who missed it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2010
I bought this dvd as a result of wanting to watch a more serious political drama. I love 'The Thick of It' but that is comedy, however much it is based upon reality. Party Animals does have some comedic moments but in terms of it being a gripping drama it isn't, bit it is still highly watchable, hence the four stars, not five. Watching one of the central characters descend slowly into alcohol dependency is a reminder of the stresses and strains that our MP's can suffer with the destruction of their own home life due to long working hours.
I still recommend it most highly and cannot understand why I missed it when it was first broadcast.
Matt Smith is also eminently watchable
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2015
I loved this when it was first aired on TV. Having watched it again on DVD, I really don't understand why a second series was never made. Full of interesting, flawed characters. Now that people are taking more of an interest in politics, surely it's time for a revisit.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
This is a very well made, enjoyable, intelligent and absorbing series about young people who work behind the scenes for MP's, about MP's themselves and lobbying firms. It paints a grubby picture of ambitious, ruthless scheming youngsters who are unprincipled, anything goes with regard to them getting on and pleasing their political masters, they will sleep with anyone to advance themselves and stab anyone in the back they regard as obstacles to their careers or in order to advance it or the MP's they work for. Briefing against their political opponents, hatching schemes to undermine them, perpetrating all manner of intrigue and digging up sleaze are seen as essential requirements of the job.

It would be easy to dismiss this series as an exercise in bashing politicians and slagging off those who work for them that bears no relation to what it is like in British politics which is far cleaner than what is portrayed in "Party Animals" but the revelations of the last three decades has severely damaged the faith of so many people in politics and politicians leading to public cynicism and apathy and it suggests that what is shown in this series may not be far from the truth.

The performances are great, the locations look real and it is entertaining and perceptive and even allowing for the inevitable exaggerations for dramatic purposes it should be seen by every politician and those who work on their behalf. If they were honest they will see something of themselves in this portrayal of political life in Britain and it will hopefully lead to them questioning what they do, how they do it and why the public feel the way they do so that the standard of political life in Westminster can improve.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2014
I watched this when it aired on TV and enjoyed it. Was quite taken with the new young actor, Matt Smith - I remember thinking that he was very charismatic at the time. Of course Matt is now well known as the 11th Doctor and he brought all of his charisma to that role too. He plays Danny, a slightly idealistic assistant of a Labour MP (played by someone who he meets again in Doctor Who!) and his elder brother (Andrew Buchan) is a lobbyist required to woo an equivalent assistant of a Tory MP (Shelley Conn). Unfortunately Danny also suffers unrequited live for the ultra-ambitious Kirsty (Andrea Riseborough) who uses the poor lad appallingly whilst she shags his brother. There are a number of slightly stereotypical characters fleshing out the story but the 'soapy' feel to the drama suggests that life in Westminster is founded on a mixture of melodrama and bathos. There are a few twists & turns but no major jeopardy and, to be honest, Danny was the only character I cared about. Still it was very enjoyable and worth catching if you missed on TV. Be warned though, Matt has a Northern accent which just sounds wrong!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)