Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most fantastic escapism
For over 30 years Thunderbirds have brought magic to generations of children and adults.My children (7 and 3)are as enthusiastic about the characters and adventures of the Thunderbirds as I was when they were first transmitted - their current favourites being Parker and Brains. This DVD set enables me to keep a record of the most fantastic series ever transmitted on tv.
Published on 19 Nov 2000

versus
62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Hood looks like a boiled egg with the top of his head severed!
Oh dear! The very best series in the world given a superb HD transfer - but savagely cropped leaving the Hood looking like a boiled egg with the top cut off. Absolutely criminal and stupid! Anyone who says they don't care should be forced back to the early days of VHS when we had to endure pan and scan 4:3 versions of widescreen movies. When our TV's were so small there...
Published 19 months ago by Alabaster Russmore


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 65 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Hood looks like a boiled egg with the top of his head severed!, 23 Nov 2012
Oh dear! The very best series in the world given a superb HD transfer - but savagely cropped leaving the Hood looking like a boiled egg with the top cut off. Absolutely criminal and stupid! Anyone who says they don't care should be forced back to the early days of VHS when we had to endure pan and scan 4:3 versions of widescreen movies. When our TV's were so small there was very little option. Right now there is no excuse for savage cropping of original aspect ratios - particularly when most people have 40" plasmas or LCD's. Really - right now I'd suggest picking up the DVD set until they get this right. Unless you're happy to have just two thirds of the original image? It's a shame because the quality of that two thirds is superb. Whoever was responsible for this debacle - some kid probably who has no appreciation of the original - should be marched out of the building with his P45.

Crapola. Disgusting. Disrespectful. avoid!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most fantastic escapism, 19 Nov 2000
By A Customer
For over 30 years Thunderbirds have brought magic to generations of children and adults.My children (7 and 3)are as enthusiastic about the characters and adventures of the Thunderbirds as I was when they were first transmitted - their current favourites being Parker and Brains. This DVD set enables me to keep a record of the most fantastic series ever transmitted on tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


104 of 112 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful image, but still butchered., 27 Jan 2010
I don't own this set myself. However a friend does and after watching a few episodes, I have to agree that the blu-ray image is quite remarkable. It is still, however, a cropped and butchered image. This show was made in 4:3, broadcast in 4:3 and meant to be seen in 4:3. People will quite happily criticise widescreen movies that have been cropped into academy ratio. Why, therefore, should we be willing to accept the cropping of 4:3 material. I'm guessing that it would be very difficult to gauge the number of lost sales this set has suffered from based on it's incorrect ratio. But I'm guessing it's more than a few. If the publishers were to release a blu-ray version of Thunderbirds, in it's original ratio then I'd quite happily lay down my cash. However until that happens I'm quite content to stick with my DVD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I find it strange that to some people their tecnology is more important than artistic vision, 6 Jan 2010
By 
J. M. Booth (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Imagine if a curator at the National gallery thought that by cropping Constables The Hay-Wain at the top and bottom it would be improved. Well cropping a 4:3 moving image and blowing up what is left up to 16:9 is actually the same thing. Butchery. The film director choose the best compositions for each scene within the aspect ratio they were working with. Change the aspect ratio and you change the composition. God knows how that is an improvement. It also shows the arrogance of the people that believe that they are improving things over what the original director did. Are the people who like their screens filled asking for 2.35:1 films to be cropped at the sides so there are no black bars at the top and bottom? Surely if people want to fill their screens with a 4:3 image they just have to read the manual that came with the Blu-ray player to locate the zoom button.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


143 of 155 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Why dont Art Gallerys crop artworks that dont meet some marketing aesthetic?, 13 Oct 2008
How could they crop the 4:3 image to 16:9? Taking an artwork and chopping off bits for no good reason? Whoever was responsible for that decision should be fired. Its as bad as pan-n-scanning widescreen material. And whoever put this package together is so out of touch, that the character in the background of the cover, who is positioned in a mysterious pose in the top right, is actually Kirano the Tracy family's chef!? Maybe the clueless person putting the design together confused this with the character who should be there - the villian "The Hood" ???

This title needs to be rereleased on blu-ray in proper pillar-boxed 4:3, with redone hidef supplements and corrected cover art. Cmon this is a classic art work not the Teletubbies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy the Blu-ray edition, 14 April 2013
By 
John Maltby (Clunes, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The BD set looked very tempting, but a note of caution entered when I read those reviews that revealed the transfer had cropped the original 4:3 aspect ratio to widescreen (thus losing around one third of the picture!). Some reviewers have stated that they either did not notice the cropping (how is this possible?), or that it was done well enough not to matter; other reviewers considered the cropping to be sacrilege to the original material. (One reviewer even suggested that, as film crews had been used to make the TV series, it was common practice to concentrate on a widescreen aspect at the vertical centre of the frame, so that material above and below was not relevant to each shot (but was still OK for 4:3 TV presentation). Sorry, but this is nonsense for this series, see below).

I really did want the BDs and I almost succumbed, but I thought I had better check it out more thoroughly first. I already have volume 1 of Thunderbirds on DVD (purchased when it was first released, before the current DVD remaster). Having viewed it again, prior to my purchase, and also having watched the BD title sequence on YouTube, it is blindingly obvious that the original 4:3 aspect ratio is critically important to a full appreciation of the series (the cropped title sequence looks cramped - you would surely suspect that something is wrong, even if you did not know anything about the original series presentation). Many shots in each episode make full use of the 4:3 frame, so much so that it is difficult to imagine how a cropped 16:9 version could be in any way be acceptable. Indeed, some shots are so tightly framed that any cropping must look like incompetent camera work, at best.

So, I bought the remastered DVD set instead. And it is absolutely great. The quality is excellent, even making one wonder why one would pay around three times the price for the BDs, even if they were not cropped.

Amazon have a bad habit of transferring reviews between BD and DVD. Since I would not wish this review to appear against the DVD (because of the one star), I shall attempt to repost it against the DVD version (where it would get 5 stars if it were not for the non-special packaging - so it gets 4).

Edit: OK, I should have known! When trying to post the review against the DVD product, I get the message:

"Oops! Only one review per customer per product set is allowed."

Oh, come on Amazon, don't you realise that DVDs and BDs are different products!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remember The 1960's Screenings?!?, 10 Dec 2000
This series was great during it's first screenings in the 1960's - though most of us saw it in boring old black and white back then. Then with the widespread use of colour televisions during the early 1970's its true "VIDECOLOR" glory was revealed. Thunderbird 2 captured the imagination of everyone, while the Mole was the vehicle to watch out for. Now the children of the 21st century can watch digitally re-mastered editions of the show in DVD. Whatever your age, you will surely appreciate that good entertainment lasts forever...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For Thunderbird fans only, 17 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The picture is a solid 5 as is the sound. Now why is this only a three star set. The ill conceived cropping that was placed on this series. I'm not an over the top purist but they should have provided the original visuals ala the original Star Trek.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another wasted opportunity - what is wrong with these people?, 16 Feb 2012
I can't be bothered to say too much about this travesty. This is one of the greatest classic shows from the 1960s and there is therefore no excuse for such an appalling lack of understanding. Yes it's a stunning picture, but overwhelmingly, people who buy this stuff now, don't want its original broadcast ratio cropped. Offer both 4.3 and 16.9 if you must, but don't just butcher the original composition in favour of a ratio that nobody wants as you're wasting your time, money and effort.

I can't wait until Network DVD get a hold of this title along with the likes of Captain Scarlet and Joe 90 etc, as they seem to be the only distributor that understands their relevant audiences, both in terms of film transfer, extras, and appropriate artwork and packaging. What ITV have done here is a complete mystery to me. If you don't understand your audiences - as clearly the person or persons responsible for this release don't - then pass responsibility on to someone that does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 111 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Watch out, they've cropped off the top and bottom..., 18 Sep 2008
By 
Marc Martin (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It seems that not even the THUNDERBIRDS can save themselves from ITV DVD's video department. ITV had the perfect opportunity to release a vastly improved version compared to the previous Carlton DVD releases, but instead ruined it by taking the original 4:3 aspect ratio image and cropping off the top and bottom of the picture to make it 16:9, plus using the horrible 5.1 audio mix from the old DVD set, which adds some extra-loud explosions and other sound effects that were never heard in the original series.

If they had simply produced a high quality HDTV version of the original episodes (4:3 aspect ratio image with black bars on the sides, plus the original mono audio), then this set would be worth recommending. Unfortunately, this release seems targeted at people who don't care about such things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews