Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual Highlander Sequel Boxset (Sequels 2,3,4)
This unusual boxset (released in the Netherlands) is for anyone in the UK or on Region 2 who is interested in the Highlander movies - but has abandoned the idea of collecting them due to the poor treatment given to their DVD releases in the UK. I discovered this boxset after I was disappointed with the standard, and indeed old prints of the sequel movies I ordered first...
Published on 9 Mar 2008 by PIM

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is the first 3 Highlander films. But be sure to read the technical details!
The highlander box set arrived within good time, but one of the discs was unplayable, and the first Highlander film has Dutch subtitles hardcoded that can't be turned off, or even switched to english!.
Published 9 months ago by Martin Mathew Morgan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual Highlander Sequel Boxset (Sequels 2,3,4), 9 Mar 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highlander Trilogy: Highlander / The Quickening / The Sorcerer (DVD)
This unusual boxset (released in the Netherlands) is for anyone in the UK or on Region 2 who is interested in the Highlander movies - but has abandoned the idea of collecting them due to the poor treatment given to their DVD releases in the UK. I discovered this boxset after I was disappointed with the standard, and indeed old prints of the sequel movies I ordered first from other Amazon sellers. But check out this boxset, for the versions here are much better.

Firstly, you have the RENEGADE VERSION (The Directors Cut) of Highlander 2, which has rarely been seen in the UK unless you have a Multi-Region Player that plays Region 1 discs. This version of Highlander 2 erases the frankly horrific memory of the pre-existing theatrical cut which was shown in cinemas.

The Director has now restored the movie to its full-length version, complete with re-cut dialogue - removing the suggestion that the immortals are from another planet - and added new effects and extra scenes making it a much better film. The reworked opening segment now has the style and appearance of a Dune movie, had one been made at that time, and this makes you actually look forward to the movie you are about to see; curious about the other changes that have been made to the picture. The immortal soldiers are now cast as warriors from the distant past exiled to the future, and the insertion of new special effects helps to communicate this idea. Though it still doesn't work as a sequel, and is hardly worthy to the original, it will make you sleep better (if you care about these things) with a feeling that a great injustice has been corrected. The DVD also has a featurette with interviews with the Director Russell Mulcahy and the producers; explaining how the film was seized by the insurance company financing the film when it went over budget, chopped to ribbons without the consent of the producers, the director or its star Christopher Lambert, and released as an 80 minute abomination that none of the production team wanted anything to do with.

The Highlander 3 presentation is quite good (again much better than the atrocious quality of the present UK DVD edition) and looks fine, though it is presented here under its US title Highlander 3: The Final Dimension. But that is a minor quibble. You will need to switch off the Dutch subtitles before playing, but otherwise this is a good disc. The presentation of Highlander Endgame is also fine, you may need to switch off the subtitles again to watch this - but that's no big deal is it really?

All in all a worthwhile purchase. At the very least, its the best presentation of these movies available in the UK right now, and is easily good enough until someone chooses to give the movies a proper DVD Special Edition release in this country. It'll certainly satisfactory your desire for immortal beheading at any time in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is the first 3 Highlander films. But be sure to read the technical details!, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The highlander box set arrived within good time, but one of the discs was unplayable, and the first Highlander film has Dutch subtitles hardcoded that can't be turned off, or even switched to english!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highlander Movies, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highlander Trilogy: Highlander / The Quickening / The Sorcerer (DVD)
I ordered this for my Son's birthday and it arrived on time with no damage, He loved it not really much you can say about DVD's as its a personal thing but the Highlander films are amazing and if anyone out there has not watched them then they are missing out on a classic, obviously with this type of Trilogy there are some that are better than others but still well worth the watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incorrect Listing..., 12 Mar 2010
This review is from: Highlander Trilogy: Highlander / The Quickening / The Sorcerer (DVD)
Warning to all customers...
Please be aware that the discription to this product is incorrect, I ordered this product because I wanted Highlander 2, 3, and 4 as it is discribed, what I got was Highlander 1, 2, and 3. Most dissapointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Foreign Discs, 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highlander Trilogy: Highlander / The Quickening / The Sorcerer (DVD)
These are foreign discs with foreign sub titles that can't be removed. Not impressed. The videos themselves are fine.
I have seen them on TV before and knew what I was getting. Sound track is English. Hate the sub titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Ok but get a better copy this one is poor, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Always enjoyed these films but the quality is poor and English subtitles are distracting but cant be turned off. If you want to see the films and enjoy them buy another version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Only one star, 19 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highlander Trilogy: Highlander / The Quickening / The Sorcerer (DVD)
Only give it one star because it has German subtitles all through which is very distracting. This was not mentioned before I bought it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars subtitles, 10 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highlander Trilogy: Highlander / The Quickening / The Sorcerer (DVD)
Subtitles made the viewing very disappointing and these are hard wired in so there is no turning it off :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars First 3 in the franchise that goes on and on, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highlander Trilogy: Highlander / The Quickening / The Sorcerer (DVD)
Although I would have got around to watching it I saw the first Highlander movie because my fave band, Queen, did most of the music for the first film. But I was transfixed by it & have seen it about 30 to 40 times now. The less said about The Quickening, the 2nd movie, the better. Nothing at all works in it for me & I have seen it only twice (I watched it a 2nd time just to be sure it was as bad as I thought it was.) The Sorcerer is literally a re-run of the first film but works well I think. Over all worth the cost & a good introduction to the world of immortals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Hard coded Dutch subtitles spoiled this, 20 Nov 2013
By 
Disgruntled again (Edinburgh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Highlander Trilogy: Highlander / The Quickening / The Sorcerer (DVD)
Please note that the listing for this box set doesn't mention that the first film (at least) has Dutch subtitles that CAN'T be turned off. Didn't bother checking the other 2. I got it as a gift for my nephew, and he wasn't happy at all, so we returned it. Still waiting for any refund, 10 days after Amazon confirmed they had it back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Highlander Trilogy: Highlander  / The Quickening / The Sorcerer
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews