Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Calm Down Dear - it's only a game !
This is just a little bit of fun on a rainy afternoon, it's not for serious sports fans. The other reviews slate this beyond belief, giving it less than an hours play. It's light and easy enough for Granny to play, but enough fun for the kids to give it some welly !

The main thing is the all the games are set in calm atmostphere, so if like me you cringe at the...
Published on 23 Mar 2008 by Amazon Customer

versus
32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Play with friends only..
A poor game that only just scrapes 2 stars if played with friends. I wouldn't bother if playing alone.

The games :

Darts - Controls takes some getting use to, but with some perseverance can be mastered. I would suggest trying high score firstly just to get used to controls before going onto other variations (301, 501, cricket)

Air Hockey -...
Published on 3 Mar 2008 by Jastan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Play with friends only.., 3 Mar 2008
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Game Party (Wii) (Video Game)
A poor game that only just scrapes 2 stars if played with friends. I wouldn't bother if playing alone.

The games :

Darts - Controls takes some getting use to, but with some perseverance can be mastered. I would suggest trying high score firstly just to get used to controls before going onto other variations (301, 501, cricket)

Air Hockey - Very fiddly controls make it almost impossible to beat the CPU player, again best played against a friend, even then the amount of silly own goals conceded can become frustrating..

Hoops - Basketball shoot with fiddly control system (done better on Party Carnival), basically the more hoops you shoot, the more tickets you win.

Skii Ball - Roll the ball to try and hit the highest scores (Again control system and feel of game is better on Party Carnival).

Ping Cup - Bit of a weird one. The idea is to through a ping pong ball into one of 10 of your opponants cups?! At first was virtually impossible (after trying to follow on screen instructions), eventually with trial and error I can now hit a few cups, but have yet to complete a game (I normally quit out after about 1/2 hour).

Shuffleboard - A bit like curling on a table. Probably the best game here (again played with a friend as CPU player will beat you). The controls are fairly easy to master after a few minutes and can be quite fun.

Trivia - Oh dear... All questions have strong American slant (unless you are really into US sports and TV then avoid), plus scoring system not well documented in instructions.. Poor. Obviously the developers couldn't be bothered to change the questions for the UK release!

Borrow it if you must and try challenging a friend to Shuffleboard or Darts. Other than that avoid..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What is the value of a game you play once or twice?, 28 Feb 2008
By 
M. A. Lely "Michiel" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Game Party (Wii) (Video Game)
Game Party is below par, far below par.

The game is simplistic and the only plus is that a few of these mini games are quite fun playing with 2 - 4 players.

On the downside the games are very limited and there are other games out there with more games that are fun to play together. Besides the controls arent always as smooth as you would like them to. The games that come with the Wii are far superior.

Not sure what the value is, but I would not buy it even if it went at a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Avoid this game...and buy something else..., 9 Feb 2008
By 
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Game Party (Wii) (Video Game)
I have to agree with the other comment on this game. I've played a review copy of this game and it is awful. There are far better games for the Wii and if you want a party game get WarioWare Smooth Moves instead, and if you've pre-ordered cancel it. It's criminal games like this sell over great games like Zak and Wiki and Mario Galaxy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Shovelware - Avoid, 18 Feb 2008
By 
G. Chester "gjc" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Game Party (Wii) (Video Game)
And thats it.

Trivia is too American to be playable by non US people, Shuffle board is a pretty US Centric game, not sure it's too well known outside the US, although it's not too hard to pick up. The games are fun for a few minutes, but nothing here is going to hold your interest for more than an hour at the most (and thats about how long it takes to play each game once). The unlockables are unlocked in a few replays of each game and they don't add anything to the game. Different colours of bats / balls or scenes and different people to play with, none of which seem to change the game mechanics, just the visuals. They've tried to give the game characters the appeal of Mii's but as they can't use Mii's its just not the same.

Controls are so so, there not unresponsive all the time, but sometimes they are, depends on the minigame. It's worse value than Wiiplay in terms of the variety and mix, at least Wiiplay you know it's only purpose is to make the controller pack a bit more reasonable. This has no such luck.

Avoid, buy Zack and Wiki or Endless Ocean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please don't make me play this again.., 23 April 2008
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Game Party (Wii) (Video Game)
Quite simply one of the worst collection of games I have ever had the misfortune to play, Darts with a flawed control system, throwing ping-pong balls down a table into cups, american trivia, 'shuffleboard' oh god don't get me started... If this CD wasn't packaged in the Wii bundle I would have not only demanded a full refund but also sued for pain and suffering.

The only game worth spending a little over 2 minutes playing is the air-hockey which does actually work quite well, but sadly didn't stop me adding this CD to the ever growing collection of games that are no where near as good as Wii Sports..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish!, 7 July 2008
By 
txacoli (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Game Party (Wii) (Video Game)
What a waste of money! I agree with all the negative comments above - this game is the worst Wii game I have. I can't believe that they would allow a load of American questions on the trivia bit when this is coming to an English market - that has to be one of the most ridiculous decisions ever made. The games are boring and there wasn't one I enjoyed that much. I did try to play it again with friends to see if I liked it any more in a group, but I didn't. Don't buy this - you will regret it. Mine's going on an auction site as soon as I get round to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Calm Down Dear - it's only a game !, 23 Mar 2008
This review is from: Game Party (Wii) (Video Game)
This is just a little bit of fun on a rainy afternoon, it's not for serious sports fans. The other reviews slate this beyond belief, giving it less than an hours play. It's light and easy enough for Granny to play, but enough fun for the kids to give it some welly !

The main thing is the all the games are set in calm atmostphere, so if like me you cringe at the constant squeals and irritating soundtrack of Super Mario Charged Football this sequence of team and individual sports has a soothing easy going feel to it.

You earn tickets to unlock new games - however you only earn tickets in single player mode and this really is a family or group sort of thing.

We started with darts, loads of options from 301 through to 701 or cricket style challenge. Easy enough to master the throwing motion. Unlockable game is baseball darts - we've not got there yet.

Hoop Shoot - quite easy to master and a good 10 minute challenge.

Ping Cup, the only infuriating game, throw the ping pong into one of the cups, hmmm we just couldn't get this right.

Shuffleboard, we spent hours on this and it was highly addictive, curling is unlockable.

Skill ball, it's okay feels a bit like bowling on wii sports, once you master it it's simple fun.

Table Hockey - love this simple object of the game, made a little but harder with the slipperyness of the surface.

Only thing we haven't played is trivia, didn't have time after 2 hours.

For under £20 it's a good afternoons entertainment, not recommended for hardcore gamers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money, 22 Feb 2008
By 
L. Jay "LJay" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Game Party (Wii) (Video Game)
I too made the unfortunate choice of purchasing this game. The graphics and games are poor with little to no enjoyment factor. I couldn't believe how limited the 7 games were. 5 mins is all you need to suss this out as being pretty bad!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of time and money!, 8 May 2008
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Game Party (Wii) (Video Game)
If your not American, then there is no point getting this game...
Really...
I didnt know any of the Trivia questions (all American based) and the only slightly dicent game is the basketball thing (and thats only average) and the rest are dreadful.
You can just go on miniclip.com, can play better games for free.
Not worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars stick with wii sports, 30 April 2008
By 
dmc "cka" (manchester UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Game Party (Wii) (Video Game)
this game is rubbish. it is very hard to control, the quiz is about a lot of american sports, most of the games are boring and you have no real control over what you are doing and why!! you can tell it is american, they call the treble on the darts game triple!!! nothing wrong with it being american though apart from the quiz..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Game Party (Wii)
Game Party (Wii) by Midway Games Ltd (Nintendo Wii)
£7.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews