Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
32
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is only "some" of the Bee Gees hits, representing the best songs they recorded from 1975 to 1979. Big Hits before 1975 are ignored. There are nine #1 songs, half a dozen other top ten hits and some popular covered versions. Only four can truly be considered disco songs. A nice blend of dance numbers, ballads, B-Sides, "R & B" and occasional great album cuts; this is a wonderful collection. The only single to be ignored is the funky, "Boogie Child" (?), but all is forgiven. "Warm Ride" makes it debut here and is a remarkable song.

Special treats include the first released Bee Gees version of "(Our Love) Don't Throw It All Away" and the country flavored "Rest Your Love On Me", a Top 40 country hit.

This was the Bee Gees third #1 album in a row and is a great five year feat.

The new remixed versions of "Stayin' Alive", "Night Fever", "How Deep Is Your Love" and "If I Can't Have You" make this the ultimate collection of classic songs from the late seventies. The Bee Gees really did influence dance music during this period.

P.S. To the Amazon Editor: "Too Much Heaven" and "Love You Inside Out" were top singles and 'not bland'. Go wash your mouth out.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
This is a great collection of hits from the period 1975-1980 with some good album tracks and other curios thrown in for good measure. All the big disco classics are there including two No. 1 hits 'Night Fever' and 'Tragedy' as well as 'Jive Talkin', 'Stayin' Alive', 'You Should Be Dancing' and a clutch of gorgeous ballads - 'How Deep Is Your Love', 'Too Much Heaven' and the much-ignored but supremely crafted 'Spirits (Having Flown)'. Definitely an album to add to your collection.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2009
There are two CDs. The first contains the oruginal recordings which are excellent.

The second CD contains remixes have an added, pounding beat, which is out of character with the original tracks. Anyone who wants this style of backing will probably find it done better elsewhere.

However - the first of the two CDs makes it a worthwhile purchase.

John Porter
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2010
Playing this C.D. I am sure you won't be able to stop dancing as it really is a compilation of songs generating the feel good factor so supplying an electriying musical buzz of positivity to the listener ... Add this musical delight to your collections and enjoy a boogie! For those of you who remember the sensational movie "Saturday Night Fever", here are all the songs sung by the Bee Gees recorded for it including of course the classic "How deep is your love" !
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2015
I owned the original on vinyl when it first came out and it was brilliant to hear it again especially as a special edition. I loved the updated versions of their songs. I love this album, if you love the Bee Gees....buy it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2011
I purchased two CD's Barry Mannilow and the BeeGees to replace 2 L.P.'s that I could no longer use.
I am more than happy with both they are just as described and excellent service I would recommend
Amazon to anybody. Many thanks p.eastmead
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2008
This is the authentic Bee Gees compilation, mind out ! only contains thmes from their better four seventies albums: Main Course, Children of the World, Saturday Night Fever y Spirits Having Flown. Also includes singles B sides like If I cant have you or Rest your love on me, one unreleased theme and some SNFever remixes. I can still recall when I got the original album in 1979, I was 12 years old or so, it was a double vinyl with a triple cover and their faces printed over every side cooky, really great, now the CD ain't so "romantic" but we've got the bonus tracks.
Maybe you can say: "bee gees are a girls band" not a bit of it! get the album: Here At Last, Bee Gees Live and you'll see...
My prefer kind of music is rock or progressive rock, bands like King Crimosn or AC/DC but Bee Gees ARE THE BEE GEES, songs like How deep is your love, Night Fever, Nights on Broadway, More than A Woman, simply unsurpassable.
New generations might have this album... Bee Gees forever! Robin, Barry and Maurice (Andy) wherever you were.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 4 October 2007
To coincide with the re-release of the `Saturday Night Fever' film, the Bee Gees' 'Greatest' (from October 1979) gets its own makeover. The original 20-song compilation has been supplemented with eight bonus tracks, one of which has never seen the light of day until now. But what, if anything, do these extras bring to the table? In all honesty, not a great deal.

The previously unreleased 'Warm Ride' is a Barry led vehicle that was surprisingly left out of the film. It's certainly good enough to have been included and why it's remained hidden in the vaults is something that could have been answered within the inlay. (One falsetto song too many, perhaps.) All you get on that is the usual line-up of musicians: there should have been a commentary on each song as I'm sure many fans would be interested to know the background behind the tracks. Details aside, it still makes worthwhile listening.

As for the half dozen remixes the only question is why? 'How Deep Is Your Love' isn't that different, 'Night Fever' is OK, 'Stayin Alive', whilst having Barry's count-in, isn't (the extended promo version is far superior, what with the added brass) and the second remix version of 'If I Can't Have You' is nothing more than a near seven-minute techno mess. These songs were and will always be '70s disco and don't need to be given a modern mix. If the thinking behind it was to make the songs more accessible to current trends, I'm sorry, it doesn't work, though no doubt a few of these remixes will go down well with the clubbers at Manumission. If there had to be additional tracks surely to include demos and outtakes of these would have been more appreciated and appropriate. Having said that, 'Greatest', covering the mid '70s period, is still worth having because the songs are still great and fortunately this two CD set won't cost much: neither will the `special edition' which includes a double DVD 30th Anniversary issue of the 'SNF' film.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
Have this on vinyl but there are a few jumps so decided to get it on CD to add to my digitised collection. Arrived promptly, well packaged and as expected.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
The cd was a gift for my husband. He loves the Bee Gees!! the disc runs ok.Just a couple of bumps, Just a shame the case was cracked abit on arrival.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)