Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ancient Greeks in New York.
I am a huge fan of the monumental account by the Greek classical author and accomplished soldier Xenophon, that told the story of 10,000 Greek mercenary soldiers who were led by Cyrus the younger in an attempt to depose his brother Artaxerxes the second, who held the throne of the vast Persian empire. This culminated in the battle of Cunaxa in 401 BC, which took place in...
Published on 28 Nov 2010 by Bob Salter

versus
48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unecessary tampering with a classic
"The Warriors" is an excellent film. I absolutely love the concept of the story, and I believe it has been executed very well. The fight scenes are put together with aplomb and there are even some impressive performances by the lead actors which, for a relatively low-budget 70s film, is a bit of a rarity.

However, Walter Hill has done what seems to be the norm...
Published on 3 Feb 2010 by Mr. T. Pooley


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unecessary tampering with a classic, 3 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. T. Pooley (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Warriors - Ultimate Director's Cut Edition (1979) [DVD] (DVD)
"The Warriors" is an excellent film. I absolutely love the concept of the story, and I believe it has been executed very well. The fight scenes are put together with aplomb and there are even some impressive performances by the lead actors which, for a relatively low-budget 70s film, is a bit of a rarity.

However, Walter Hill has done what seems to be the norm with film studios these days and alter the original cut. I'm fine with this if the main draw of a new version is previously unseen footage or new bonus commentaries; however in the case of "The Warriors" the main addition is a series of animated, comic-book style stills that separate the scenes and supposedly add to the narrative. The idea is that it makes the film less of a realistic documentary and more of the stylised fantasy it was originally intended to be. This sounds all well and good on paper, though in reality it just feels out of place and a bit cheap. Worse still, there is no way to view the film minus these animations. I appreciate that this new cut is likely to divide opinion, but for me it ruined the pace of the film and really harms the enjoyment of what still is, a very good piece of cinema. If you can track down the original release on dvd, then I would recommend that instead. If you can't, then buy this version anyway and grit your teeth during the animated stills, because I don't believe that a director's unnecessary tampering should prevent you from watching what is ultimately, a very good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy The Director's cut, buy the original DVD!, 5 April 2008
By 
Robert (St. Neots, Cambs, ENGLAND United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
As others have said, the comic strip introductions to several scenes really messed the film up. As soon as I saw this cut, I rushed out the next day and changed it for the original DVD of the film. Buy the "Paramount Originals" UK DVD with theatrical poster if you can get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ancient Greeks in New York., 28 Nov 2010
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Warriors - Ultimate Director's Cut Edition (1979) [DVD] (DVD)
I am a huge fan of the monumental account by the Greek classical author and accomplished soldier Xenophon, that told the story of 10,000 Greek mercenary soldiers who were led by Cyrus the younger in an attempt to depose his brother Artaxerxes the second, who held the throne of the vast Persian empire. This culminated in the battle of Cunaxa in 401 BC, which took place in far off Mesopatamia, in what is now known as Iraq. Despite winning the battle Cyrus their paymaster was killed and so they marched back towards far off Greece, which took them across many miles of hostile terrain, where they fought many rearguard action against the Persians and skirmishes with the peoples of varied regions. It was a long and exhausting journey, and perhaps the greatest military story ever told. Even today it resonates down the years and strongly influenced Walter Hill's 1979 film "The Warriors".

In the film, nine members of a gang called "The Warriors" attend a meeting by gang leader Cyrus, who tries to unite all the gangs of New York. "Do you dig it". Matters are then complicated when Cyrus is shot and "The Warriors" are blamed. The gang have to make their way back to home turf on Coney Island, but the word is out, and they are hunted by a whole host of weird and wonderful gangs, which resemble the strange peoples that Xenophon and the 10,000 encountered. One lot looked as if they were off of the "Clockwork Orange" set! The film follows the story quite closely as the gangs leader Cleon, Clearchus in the Persian expedition, is killed early on, leaving Swan, yes Xenophon, to lead the gang back home. Other Greek elements are included with a group of deadly female Amazons/sirens tempting our heroes. The most memorable moment in the book is also reenacted when the gang reach the sea. "The Sea, the sea" to famously quote Xenephon himself.

First released in 1979 to moderate success, the film has since attained cult status. Although the film is supposedly set in the future, it is firmly rooted in the New York of the period. The Afro hairstyles, the clothing and the old pre mobile phone boxes do tend to date it. Therefore I found the comic strip inclusions in the style of "Sin City" quite refreshing. It is purely personal taste of course, but I honestly feel it has breathed new life into the film. The film contains an introduction by director Walter Hill, who interestingly says he is against introductions as a film should speak for itself. He does find time to tell us that the film is more or less the vision that he had in mind. I tend to remember Hill as the extremely competent director of the westerns "Geronimo, an American Legend" and "The Long Riders". Tony Scott has announced this year that he will be remaking the film, so lets hope he makes a good job of it! Surprisingly few director's cut films actually improve on the original, but this one manages to succeed. Whilst I don't think this film is the classic some people believe it to be, it does showcase how a good director with vision can make the most of limited resources. Please, please, will someone out there film the story of the 10,000, which is crying out to be told, and not make a botched job of it. Perhaps I am asking too much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A short but necessary history lesson..., 13 Nov 2006
Here's a few notes to clear up some misconceptions that many seem to have.

The flick was NOT ever intended to be an accurate portrayal of New York gang life, although there were some realistic elements. At the time it was generally accepted that it took place in the future, although nothing in the movie supports this. At best it can be considered an urban fable that takes place in a sort-of-imaginary world. You know, like Pulp Fiction (do you really think 90's LA gangsters dressed like that??).

Second, the film itself was not accused of inciting violence. Problem was, it was a VERY popular film with gang members, who would show up in force. Two rival gangs would show up at the same theater, and... you can figure the rest out yourself. One guy was killed on the first weekend the movie was playing in New York; after that, the distributor hired off-duty police for security at every theater across the country that showed the flick. In many places in US, this served more as advertising hype than anything else...

Finally, it was widely known back in the day that The Warriors was based on the ancient Greek nonfiction tale Anabasis, written around 370 BC by the Spartan general Xenophon (it's also published under the title The Persian Expedition). In this classic tale, a battalion of 10,000 Spartan mercenaries join the Persian emperor Cyrus for a war in Asia Minor (i.e. Turkey). Cyrus's army is defeated, the Spartan leaders are captured, and the remaining force must make their way across country, fighting various hostile tribes along the way, experiencing their own internal power struggles, until they reach the safety of the sea. I'm shocked that no reviewer seemed to be familiar with this; in the 70s almost nobody talked about the movie without mentioning it.

Great flick, by the way, and it holds up extremely well over time. I'm sure the remake will suck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 58 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OH DEAR!!, 19 Oct 2005
I am and have been for many years now a HUGE fan of walter hill's classic gang movie the warriors so waited with baited breath for the ultimate directors cut to drop through my letterbox.What a mistake,this like star wars and so many other films directors choose to revisit and tinker with is now a sorry mess.The way it dips in and out of comic book style with its cgi style pans!!You will not believe until you see it how much the 7 extra comic book scenes really mess up the film.I could go on all day about the true mess that the film has become but it does have some saving graces which will see it stay in my collection and that is the excellent 4 making of featurettes,these are truly informing and offer a kind of no bullsh*t look behind the scenes of this cult film.Quite why all the warriors could contribute i do not know[marcelino sanchez is excused god rest his soul] but what is there is informing and quite humourous in places.So would be buyers keep your original copy and buy this only for the extras as the film should have been left unmolested and walter hill should know better!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warriors....come out to play!, 20 Jan 2010
By 
I. R. Kerr (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warriors - Ultimate Director's Cut Edition (1979) [DVD] (DVD)
A classic gang movie that I never tire of watching.
This version has some of the cartoon inserts that I wish had been left out but director Walter Hill does talk about the ideas that led to the movie being made and comic books were one of his main points of reference, alongside ancient Greek history.
That grumble aside I was well pleased with this package, the plot of the movie is pretty simple a gang The Warriors are framed for the murder of Cyrus, who was trying to get New York gangs to unite, "can you dig it?". The Warriors leader Cleon is attacked and presumably killed after Cyrus dies and the rest of the gang escape and try to and fight their way from the Bronx to the safety of their home base at Coney Island. Swan (Michael Beck) takes over the gang, to the annoyance of Ajax (James Remar), their first opposition The Orphans are pretty tame but pretty soon the other New York gangs vie to try to capture or kill the Warriors.
There are lots of memorable set pieces including the fight with the skate wearing Punks in the subway, the honeytraps with The Lizzies and an undercover policewoman and the fight with the Baseball Furies in Riverside Park. The acting is pretty good throughout with some great performances by the lead Warriors, Deborah Van Valkenburgh as Mercy and David Patrick Kelly as the real villain of the piece Luther, leader of The Rogues.
There's 4 short but entertaining documentaries which include interviews with director Walter Hill, most of the leading cast and several crew members that look into the origins of the movie, the production, costumes, music and the fights themselves. A brief look at the story that inspired this tale, Anabasis by Xenophon, where a group of Greek mercenaries led by Cyrus found themselves stranded in Persian territory after Cyrus is killed and have to fight their way considerably more than the 27 miles the Warriors covered back to the safety of the sea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hit Our School Like A Meteorite, 17 Jan 2014
By 
This review is from: Warriors - Ultimate Director's Cut Edition (1979) [DVD] (DVD)
You don't hear much of Mr. Hill these days, which is a shame as he was a very able director. Hill's films were on a large canvas and it was the individual performances which stood out. An interesting narrative device is the local radio station which serves and hinders - can you dig it?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, 30 Sep 2008
When I heard about a gangs movie from 1979 I was not impressed, in fact, I was kind of not interested because I thought either it was already too old to be worth my time or just another violent film that would disgust me. I was wrong, of course there are fights, and swearing, they are gang members but it is so much more than that. The characters are well done, excellent dialogues, the gangs are fantastic and the story develops at an adequate pace. I think it is a film that anyone can watch in 2008 and still feel interested by the things it is showing, there have been many changes in the world, but society is still a jungle and there are the brave ones and the cowards with guns and the need to survive another night. I think they should not make a new movie of The Warriors, instead, they could start to put it on TV and maybe show it again on cinemas.
I do recommend it now, it is very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish, 22 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warriors - Ultimate Director's Cut Edition (1979) [DVD] (DVD)
Any of you warriors lovers out there are thinking of buying this.DONT i repeat DONT.I purchased this & is now in the bin.Who ever it was that has put cartoon pictures in with this film has absolutely ruined it.Gonna by the original copy because this is a disgrace performance to a fantastic film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stylish and energetic, 17 Jan 2011
By 
Ian Williams "ianw" (Sunderland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Warriors - Ultimate Director's Cut Edition (1979) [DVD] (DVD)
Please sir, can I have the original cut back?

The Ultimate Director's Cut is no different from the original except for the intrusive addition of a few comic-book style illustrations of Ancient Greek soldiers trapped in hostile territory heading for the safety of the sea and again comic book illustrations when the film cuts to a new scene. They don't add anything but do distract. The Greek references attempt to add a layer of pretention and are unneccessary as the movie works perfectly well without them.

I'm sure you know the story but here it is anyway. A charismatic gang leader gets together the major gangs of New York City in an attempt to get them to work together to take over the city. The leader of another gang shoots him and opportunistically accuses our heroes, The Warriors from Coney Island, of the murder. Just then the police move in, everything is in chaos and The Warriors, whose leader is killed, have to make their way home with every gang's hands raised against them -though they don't find this out until later in the movie, they just think they're having a hard time. Worth noting is an encounter with girl gang The Lizzies which, from their body language, is surely a misspelling of 'lezzies'.

Set over the course of one night, until, depleted, they finally arrive back at Coney Island at dawn, this is a superbly photographed spectacle which manages to be both dark and full of colour. The Warriors themselves are a diverse bunch of individuals all with clear individual characters who managed to earn your sympathy if not your affection -they are a street gang after all.

The opening credits are, I'd argue, among the best ever filmed as, to a pounding rock score, The Warriors and other gangs begin to make their different ways to the meeting place. The Warriors use the subway and there is some brilliant fast cutting from the pov of the train hurtling along the tracks with the movement of the gangs, and the interplay of The Warriors which sets the scene to perfection.

This is a kinetic action movie which is gripping even between the set-pieces. The violence itself is almost stylised -and this is a stylish film- but relatively bloodless. It's the subject matter which made it contentious at the time. Despite having seen it before a couple of times, I was surprised when I realised the ending was approaching as the time had simply flown by. The movie absorbed my attention totally from beginning to end. Thirty-one years since its release and it remains as powerful and fresh as it ever was.

Also included is an hour long informative documentary made specially for the DVD featuring the director Walter Hill, the Director of Photography and other major technical staff, plus several of the key actors several of whom are unrecogniseable from the their younger selves and include Michael Beck (Swan, the hero), James Remar (Ajax, the thug), David Patrick Kelly (Luther the villain) and Deborah Van Valkenburgh (Mercy,the love interest).

This film is utterly brilliant and absolutely essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews