Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impish Hepburn in some of her best movies
Some of her best films are collected together here. The only one I am less enchanted with is Sabrina (4:3, B&W, Mono), but my wife likes it.

Breakfast at Tiffanys (16:9, Colour, 5.1), Roman Holiday (4:3, B&W, Mono), Paris When it Sizzles (16:9, Colour, Mono) are all wonderful and bear watching time and time again, and Funny Face (16:9, Colour, 5.1) always...
Published on 23 July 2009 by R. F. Stevens

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Alas, it failed the test of time.
Great movies in their time. But time marches on. Audrey is still amazingly pretty and can put up a good show.
But the scripts are slow, dated and require a great deal of suspending of disbelief. I watched a couple of the
films but they didn't please and I couldn't be bothered with the rest. Please remember this is a personal opinion.
You might like it a lot.
Published 14 months ago by wacrompton


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Impish Hepburn in some of her best movies, 23 July 2009
By 
R. F. Stevens "richard23491" (Ickenham UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Audrey Hepburn 5 Film Collection [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
Some of her best films are collected together here. The only one I am less enchanted with is Sabrina (4:3, B&W, Mono), but my wife likes it.

Breakfast at Tiffanys (16:9, Colour, 5.1), Roman Holiday (4:3, B&W, Mono), Paris When it Sizzles (16:9, Colour, Mono) are all wonderful and bear watching time and time again, and Funny Face (16:9, Colour, 5.1) always seems fresh after not having seen it for a while.

I'd have preferred the collection to have included Two For The Road, or How To Steal A Million, or Charade, instead of Sabrina.
The extra features on Roman Holiday (Collectors Edition included in this set) and Funny Face are worth a quick look.

The technical quality is generally very good, and you tend not to notice the black and white pictures and mono sound on some of them after a few minutes of her cinematic magic.

It is worth shopping around for a realistic price, as this set often can be found for less than a score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good choice, 24 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Audrey Hepburn 5 Film Collection [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
Even if you have seen the films contained in this selection, they are all so worth seeing again. Audrey Hepburn had a certain 'je ne sais quoi' which is difficult to define, something maybe to do with the expressive eyes, the elfin appeal, the smooth, golden voice or just the freshness with which she took on the various roles. I think my favourite is 'Breakfast at Tiffany's' with 'Sabrina' and 'Roman Holiday' coming a very close behind. These are films you can see over and over again and enjoy each time as much as you did the first time round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars five stars for a wonderfull actress, 15 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Audrey Hepburn 5 Film Collection [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
Five films staring the Wonderfull Audrey Hepburn.
including the imortal BREAKFAST AT TIFFANYS and her first staring roll in Roman Holiday
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audrey-we love you, 6 Oct. 2011
By 
P. D. French - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Audrey Hepburn 5 Film Collection [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
I never thought I'd purchase a collection like this, yet Miss HEpburn shines on all 5 films. I have to admit, I have now developed quite a crush. All 5 films are beautifully made and the main woman cannot do anything else but make you wish you knew her. Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Isn't she lovely, 8 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Audrey Hepburn 5 Film Collection [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
I simply adore Audrey Hepburn and I am very happy with this fine collection of films! It arrived in time and was well packed. Can't wait to get started!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this collection, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Audrey Hepburn 5 Film Collection [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
Audrey Hepburn was an exceptionel actress with a wonderful charme. Lovely to se some of her early and best works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic collection, 21 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Audrey Hepburn 5 Film Collection [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
A gorgeous introduction to Audrey Hepburn, with all 5 films film bursting with charm and all watchable many times over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audrey Hepburn, 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Audrey Hepburn 5 Film Collection [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
I bought this Audrey Hepburn 5 film collection DVD 1961 box set for my daughters for christmas, and she loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful value Audrey classics., 26 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Audrey Hepburn 5 Film Collection [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
I had seen Roman Holiday and Sabrina on Love Film and wanted copies on dvd so when I saw this set of Hepburn films I wanted it. I already had Breakfast at Tiffany's but at this price it was cheaper to buy the set than the four dvd's on their own.
Roman Holiday and Sabrina are really good films, Audrey at her best, Paris when it Sizzles and Funny face I didn't like so much but they are still worth having and Breakfast at Tiffany's is arguably Hepburns biggest film.
I would maybe like My fair lady and How to steal a million in the set instead of Funnny face and Paris when it sizzles, but that's personal preference.
Delivered quickly, boxed nicely, although I was expecting all the dvd's to come in special cases to match the box set and they are all different editions but I don't mind at all. Worth your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Present for an Audrey Fan, 7 Jan. 2013
By 
E. Alexander - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Audrey Hepburn 5 Film Collection [DVD] [1961] (DVD)
I bought this boxset as a Christmas present for a friend who absolutely loves Audrey Hepburn, the 50's etc. She was really please with it and she's pregnant so this will provide hours of entertainment while she's at home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Audrey Hepburn 5 Film Collection [DVD] [1961]
£13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews