Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A hidden gem
This is a great action game.

You play the role of an agent wearing an adaptive suit that "learns" as you use abilities, running, jumping, shooting, driving etc. and increases your ability as you do so. (A little like Grand Theft Auto). So initially you're little more than a fairly athletic man, but with a few power-ups you become super-human able to leap tall...
Published on 13 Jan 2009 by Peter Piper

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun while it lasts... it doesn't last long
This is an entertaining enough game but lacks any real depth. Once the 21 bosses have been wiped out, an achievement that should have been more challenging, there is little reason to return to the game. The final 'twist' is poor too and makes little sense. A good bargain bin title.
Published on 6 Feb 2008 by Doc


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A hidden gem, 13 Jan 2009
By 
Peter Piper - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crackdown (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a great action game.

You play the role of an agent wearing an adaptive suit that "learns" as you use abilities, running, jumping, shooting, driving etc. and increases your ability as you do so. (A little like Grand Theft Auto). So initially you're little more than a fairly athletic man, but with a few power-ups you become super-human able to leap tall buildings with a bound and pick up cars to throw at criminals. And each kill powers you up a little more.

I found it a very empowering game. I felt like Neo from the Matrix while jumping huge distances and heights, and sorting out the bad guys. As my abilities grew, it was great fun discovering what I could do. The graphics are excellent with long draw distances and a pleasing cell-shaded look to them that works very well.

Granted, it's a fairly mindless action game, but it's great fun and with a second player online, it gets even better.

The quality of this game belies it's cheap price and ready availability. Buy it for under £10 and enjoy! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun while it lasts... it doesn't last long, 6 Feb 2008
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crackdown (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is an entertaining enough game but lacks any real depth. Once the 21 bosses have been wiped out, an achievement that should have been more challenging, there is little reason to return to the game. The final 'twist' is poor too and makes little sense. A good bargain bin title.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do what you want, 14 Oct 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crackdown (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is like the old arcades: much fun but little story. You're thrown in the middle of a warzone, armed with a submachinegun and a pistol. Your enemies are many and well armed but you're constantly evolving while wasting those punks and, if feeling lonely, sharing the thrill with a friend.

One of the best games of the 360 without a doubt... o_O
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Nov 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crackdown (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I started playing this game with high expectations and i was not disapointed. Set in a large city with very little boundaries, this game initially reminded of GTA with the abilty to jump into a variety of vehicle's and cruise around the city. You start of a normal cop with limited abilities and you are tasked with cleaning the streets up by taking out gangs. As you play along you strength, agilty (speed and jumping, weapon efficiency (including explosion upgrades)and Vehicle handling start to improve as you collect orbs. Where this game sticks out is that there is almost no limit to how far you can progress abilities. Once i had finshed i was jumping from skyscraper to skyscraper and blowing up whole streets, GREAT FUN!

Also the agency Vehicle's change depending on your ability and are alot of fun. The multiplayer is alot of fun too, i had the game for a while when my friend bought it and asked for my help. So i jumped straight into his city again with no boundaries i could be anywhere else on the map i wanted to be. The best part was that my characters abilitie's were almost maxed so while he struggled to jump a wall and shoot enemies with his gun, his jaw dropped when i leaped over a building and destroyed half the gang with a few well placed explosives.

Graphics are good not great but gameplay more than makes up for this.
I would highly recomend this for anyone looking for fun game to play
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not So Classic, 18 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crackdown (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Crackdown features an amusing premise that /could/ make for a good game, but an extremely lazy approach to mission structure renders it little more than a sandbox novelty rather than something you will be desperate to play to completion. Diversions are largely pointless, and everything really just serves as a means to improve your stats; while it can be fun to throw cars around and leap between buildings, this just isn't rewarding enough without a more focused storyline to follow. Instead you will simply find yourself systematically fighting gangs and gang leaders with an unfortunate lack of any real variety.

It could be a great game series, but instead it's mostly overrated, and it doesn't sound like the second game is much better. I really do hope a third comes out as it's a concept that could really stand out, but as it is now it really doesn't.

The main thing that makes the game amusing is the narrator that provides snippets of information, tutorial remarks, and other dry humour at various points, but it's only a small highlight of an otherwise unremarkable game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars okay game, 17 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crackdown (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
i haven't completed this game yet because i got a bit bored and games i was more interested in came out but it is one you can use to waste a bit of time. But in terms of the kind of game it is like then I would recommend you at least give it a try as this is the first game to have a cop based gta esc game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 7 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crackdown (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I absolutely loved this game, it kept me entertained for hours, it came within the 3 - 5 day promise and I was very pleased when it arrived two days after the order. It came with no scratches and no cracks in the game case. There was enough to do as there are lots of bosses and you constantly are under attack from rebels so it is very action packed, the graphics are not glitchy and I have had no freezing or lag problems with this game. I hope you found this review helpful, James :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars almost impossible to play, 20 Aug 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Crackdown (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
By far the worst game I have ever played, the controls are unresponsive, the weapon mechanic is crap; you have to wait for the reticule to zoom in or you will miss, the jumping and running are almost uncontrollable and the game relies on spawning unlimited enemies to beat you, that's it the AI is moronic even for an old game. Its not worth the space it takes up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fun game, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crackdown (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Crackdown is just an all around fun game and a good original concept that will have you playing for a while yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, Fun and Quirky, but runs a little short in areas., 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Crackdown (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The main reason we play video games, or at least in my experience is to have fun. Some games can be immersive and have amazing storytelling. Others have great gameplay which is incredibly fun and addictive to play.

This game has awesome gameplay. It has a Grand Theft Auto type deal, but it's a lot more wacky and ridiculous.
You play as an Agent, someone who has been genetically modified to fight crime, so you can jump higher, run faster and hit harder than the average human. These skills are all improved through practice in them or collecting orbs. As well as these you can also get better at Explosives, Guns and Driving. Upgrading these will make your explosions bigger, your guns do more damage and you get better cars. As your strength increases you'll be able to hit enemies or enemy vehicles so hard they'll fly across the street. You can practically jump a skyscraper when you get your agility to the highest level. This adds longetivity to the game and you will find yourself practicing each skill to get it to the next level.

The missions and things that you do are comprised of taking out key gang members in the three different groups that span the city. Killing these gang members make your ultimate goal easier, killing the kingpin of that particular gang.

The story isn't that great and you don't feel particularly immersed, you don't really get to care about the characters. That's the only reason this game isn't a five star for me. But the great gameplay mechanics make up for this.

I'd definitely recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Crackdown (Xbox 360)
Crackdown (Xbox 360) by Microsoft (Xbox 360)
£2.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews